Belfast Belfast: The Duke of York in the Cathedral Quarter

Music, beer, and laughter are the excitement of Belfast in Northern Ireland.

Belfast | Culture tour, experience the music, art and passion of the bar

By Let's go JOIN ME

In this article, we will walk into the "Cathedral Quater", a favorite nightlife base for young people in Belfast, and explore the unique bars. In addition, you have to make a pilgrimage to the largest open-air pub in the area, drink beer, eat roast chicken in this old building, and hear traditional Irish music. 

▍Bar combines art Duke of York

The church district once declined. In recent years, because of the combination of bars, old buildings and art, it has turned into one of Belfast ’s landmarks and the best place for nightlife. Its successCredit for the recoveryEntrepreneur Willie Jack, his bar of Duke of York, is best known in the region.WillieWhiskey itself(Whiskey)Experts, attach great importance to the quality of the wine,he stillCombining murals, installation art and other elements makes the Commercial Court in it colorful.

Duke of York was originally an old bar, but unexpectedly flew in 1972 and was forced to rebuild after being bombed. During the construction, Willie deliberately restored the appearance of the bar in the 1950s, and decorated it with many story-rich collections, which is very nostalgic. The Cavern Club, a bar in Liverpool, England, is where the Beatles started. There is a similar story in Belfast. In 1998, Snow Partrol made its first trial in Duke of York. At that time, there were only 30 audiences on the scene, and now their fans are all over the world. The members of the orchestra are mostly from Northern Ireland, and their works deeply affect their hometown.

address 7-11 Commercial Ct, Belfast BT1 2NB

▍Luxurious and elegant style Harp Bar

Willie Jack's investment bar has an excellent vision, and it has four bars, all of which are highly popular. Another "work" he is proud of is Harp Bar. Willie revealed in an interview that he believes that Belfast lacks a bar suitable for mature people, so he aimed to create a new style bar near York of Duke, and the result was very popular.

In the 70s and 80s, Harp Bar took the punk rock style. After Jack took over, he transformed it in two directions: one was to lock the 30-80 year old ethnic group, and the other was to create the best live music environment. The bar reopened in 2013. The store is two floors high and offers home-brewed beer and more types of whiskey. The decoration is luxurious and elegant. The sofa on the second floor is mainly red velvet with an elegant small round table. Singers, the atmosphere is great!

address 35 Hill St, Belfast BT1 2LB

▍The largest open-air tavern and great value grilled chicken The Dirty Onion

When the weather is good, Commercial Court and Hill Street are crowded, everyone is drinking and chatting outdoors, and it’s super lively. If you also like the atmosphere of the Beer Garden, you can't miss The Dirty Onion!

The Dirty Onion building has a history of more than three hundred years. In 2013, the bar opened here, and the refurbished building still retains its original features. The bar-protected old building also promotes traditional music and works with local music schools to listen to Irish music every day. The Dirty Onion is alsoBelfastThe largest open-air tavern. Above the bar is the restaurant Yardbird. Friends highly recommend its grilled chicken. We think the taste is acceptable. However, the lunch set price is close to the people, each serving only 5.95 pounds, including 1/4 roast chicken and a side dish. The lunch package is available daily from 12 noon to 5 pm.

address 3 Hill St, Belfast BT1 2LA

▍Traditional architecture, retro atmosphere Kelly's Cellars 

It started in 1720 and has a long history. The most talked about is that its appearance and decoration have not changed over time, and it is considered to beBelfastOne of the most traditional Irish pubs. The staff here are also proud to speak Irish. According to local friends, it is often a lot of people here, and many young people like to come to Kelly's Cellars. After 8:30 on Tuesdays, Wednesdays, Thursdays and Saturdays, there is traditional Irish music (time may be adjusted according to the situation).

address 30-32 Bank St, Belfast BT1 1HL

▍Super on the ground! Want to have a drink after work The John Hewitt

There is no TV, no radio, some are chattering. The "boss" behind it is the charity BURC (The Belfast Unemployed Resource Centre) established in 1985. BURC aims to help the unemployed. In the past, it relied on government subsidies to operate, but one of the heads of institutions hopes to make money in a more active way, thereby providing more benefits and help to the people of Belfast Education and training, promotion of local music, literature and art, etc., the bar was born in 1999. At the beginning, because of insufficient funds, I chose to open in the not-so-popular Cathedral Quarter. Today it is a highly respected traditional Irish pub!

The name of the bar is to commemorate the founder of the lost institution, John Hewitt, a poet and art historian who has invested in many Belfast political activities and voiced civil rights. His spirit continues to this day. The original intention of The John Hewitt was to "be very local", to eat local food, to use the local staff, to support local music, literature and art. Today, the style and attitude of the bar remains the same. The paintings displayed on the wall and sold are works by local artists, and often have traditional Irish performances. Many senior staff have served since the opening.

address 51 Donegall St, Belfast BT1 2FH

▍Famous and famous, celebrities also love The Crown Liquor Saloon

Known as the most famous bar in Belfast! Built in 1885, the Victorian building has a very special look, with colorful tiles and lots of beautiful glass lamps inside. In March of this year, when Prince Harry and Princess Meuggen of England visited Northern Ireland, they also went to the bar to eat, which is very popular. The history of the era has made it a first-class monument in the UK. The process of repairing £500,000 in 2007 was also filmed as a documentary by the BBC.

address 46 Great Victoria St, Belfast BT2 7BA

We recommend everyone to go to the bar, because it is a social place that locals love, and can experience Irish culture and style directly. Many people say that they must drink Guinness or whiskey in Ireland. Local friends tell us that Guinness is their pride, but many young people only drink light beer. Therefore, regardless of fame and popularity, it is most important to choose a bar style that you like! Traveling on the road is always unforgettable.

Related attractions:Belfast

© Figure / text copyright
Let's go JOIN ME British road trip

Recommended Articles

Related audio and video

You may like it...

選單

貝爾法斯特|愛爾蘭6家經典酒吧體驗,音樂、藝術、熱情!

分享在 facebook
分享在 google
分享在 twitter
分享在 email
分享在 whatsapp

音樂、啤酒、笑聲,位在北愛爾蘭的貝爾法斯特(Belfast)就是這般熱鬧!透過在地朋友的介紹,我們來到貝爾法斯特當地年輕人最愛的夜生活據點Cathedral Quater,一探各具特色的酒吧。還要推薦當地最大的露天酒館,在這棟老建築裡喝著啤酒、吃著烤雞,還能聽到傳統的愛爾蘭音樂,真是放鬆! 

Cathedral Quarter曾一度沒落,近年因為酒吧、老建築與藝術的結合,使之翻身成為貝爾法斯特的地標之一,也是夜生活的最佳去處。❐ 推薦閱讀:在地人推薦|貝爾法斯特3日旅遊攻略

酒吧結合藝術 Duke of York

Cathedral Quarter的復甦得歸功於企業家Willie Jack,他經營的酒吧Duke of York在這個區域中最知名。他本身就是威士忌(Whiskey)的專家,非常重視酒的品質,他還結合壁畫、裝置藝術等元素,讓Commmercial Court變得多采多姿。Duke of York本就是一家老酒吧,不料在1972年時飛來橫禍,遭炸毀後被迫重建。在修建時,Willie刻意地還原酒吧在1950年代的模樣,還以許多富含故事的收藏品作為裝飾,十分懷舊

編按:威士忌常見的寫法是Whisky,在愛爾蘭為Whiskey

英格蘭利物浦的酒吧The Cavern Club,是樂團披頭四(The Beatles)發跡的地方。在貝爾法斯特也有類似的故事。1998年,雪警樂團Snow Partrol在Duke of York初試啼聲,當時現場觀眾僅30位觀眾,如今他們的歌迷已遍佈全球。樂團成員多來自北愛爾蘭,他們的作品也深深影響著家鄉。❐ 推薦閱讀:利物浦|搖滾之都!海上傳奇與披頭四故事

地址 7-11 Commercial Ct, Belfast BT1 2NB

豪華雅緻風格 Harp Bar

Willie Jack投資酒吧的眼光極佳,旗下擁有四間酒吧,各個都是高人氣。另一間他引以為傲的「作品」是Harp Bar。Willie曾在受訪時透露,他認為貝爾法斯特缺少適合熟齡族群的酒吧,他便以此為目標,在York of Duke附近再打造全新風格的酒吧,結果大受歡迎。

70至80年代的Harp Bar走龐克搖滾風,由Jack接手後,他以兩大方向來改造它,一是鎖定30至80歲的族群,二是打造最佳live music的環境。酒吧在2013年重新開幕,全店兩層樓高,提供自釀啤酒與更多種類的威士忌,裝潢為豪華雅緻路線,二樓的沙發以紅色絨布為主,搭配典雅的小圓桌,現場還有駐唱歌手,氣氛極佳!

地址 35 Hill St, Belfast BT1 2LB

天氣好的時候,Commercial Court 和 Hill Street人潮,大家在戶外喝酒、聊天,超級熱鬧。如果你也喜歡露天酒館(Beer Garden)的氛圍,就不能錯過The Dirty Onion!

最大的露天酒館和超值烤雞 The Dirty Onion

The Dirty Onion的建築有超過3百年歷史。2013年,酒吧在此開幕,經過重新裝潢的建築,仍保有原本的特色。酒吧保護老建築也推崇傳統音樂,與當地音樂學校合作,在此每天都聽得到愛爾蘭音樂表演。The Dirty Onion也是貝爾法斯特大的露天酒館。酒吧樓上是餐廳Yardbird,朋友非常推薦它的烤雞,我們覺得口味尚可。不過,午間套餐價位親民,每份只要5.95英鎊,包含1/4的烤雞和一份配菜。午間套餐每日中午12點至下午5點提供。

地址 3 Hill St, Belfast BT1 2LA

傳統建築、復古氛圍 Kelly’s Cellars 

始於1720年,歷史悠久。最為人津津樂道的是,它外觀與裝潢未隨著時間而改變,被認定是貝爾法斯特最傳統的愛爾蘭酒吧之一。這裡的員工也以會講愛爾蘭語自豪。根據在地朋友描述,這裡經常是人聲鼎沸,許多年輕人都喜歡來Kelly’s Cellars聚會。每週二、三、四和六晚間8點半過後,有傳統愛爾蘭音樂演奏(時間可能依現場狀況調整)。

地址 30-32 Bank St, Belfast BT1 1HL

超在地!下班想去喝一杯 The John Hewitt

沒有電視、沒有廣播,有的是聊天的喧鬧聲。它幕後「老闆」是成立於1985年的慈善機構BURC(The Belfast Unemployed Resource Centre)。BURC旨在幫助失業者,過去仰賴政府的補助金營運,但機構負責人之一希望以更積極的方式賺錢,藉此提供貝爾法斯特人民更多的福利與幫助,比方說:服務業的教育訓練、推廣在地音樂、文學與藝術等,酒吧因而在1999年誕生。初期,因為經費不足,選擇在當時還不太熱鬧的Cathedral Quarter開業。如今則是備受推崇的傳統愛爾蘭酒吧!

酒吧的名字是為紀念已逝的機構創辦人John Hewitt,他是詩人、藝術史學家,投入許多貝爾法斯特的政治活動,也為民權發聲。他的精神延續至今。The John Hewitt成立的初衷就是要「很在地」,吃在地食物,用在地的員工,支持在地音樂、文學與藝術。時至今日,酒吧的風格與態度依舊。牆上展示並販售的畫作,皆為當地藝術家的作品,也經常有傳統愛爾蘭演奏表演,許多資深員工更是自開幕起服務至今。

地址 51 Donegall St, Belfast BT1 2FH

遠近馳名,名人也愛 The Crown Liquor Saloon

號稱貝爾法斯特最有名的酒吧!建於1885年的維多利亞式建築,外觀非常特別,佈滿彩色磁磚,內部還有許多美麗的玻璃燈。今年3月份,英國哈里王子和王妃梅根前往北愛爾蘭訪問時,也特地到酒吧用餐,可見它的超人氣。時代久遠的歷史,使它成為英國一級登錄古蹟,2007年耗資50萬英鎊整修時的過程也被BBC拍攝為紀錄片。

地址 46 Great Victoria St, Belfast BT2 7BA

我們推薦大家到酒吧走走,因為那是當地人都愛的社交場所,能很直接地體驗愛爾蘭文化與風情。許多人說在愛爾蘭必喝健力士或威士忌,來自當地的朋友告訴我們,健力士是他們的驕傲,可許多年輕人只喝淡啤酒。所以,不論名氣、人氣,挑選一家自己喜歡的酒吧風格才最重要!道地的旅行,總是讓人難以忘懷。

© 圖/文版權
走起 — JOIN ME 英國公路旅行

推薦影音

更多文章

Leave a comment

推薦行程