Menu

City Guide

Cambridge

Since the beginning of the 13th century, the University of Cambridge was established, giving Cambridge a new atmosphere. Today, Cambridge University still dominates the world. The difference is that the town of that year has become a popular tourist city. However, even if it is full of people, there is always a sense of tranquility here.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
History
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

History

As early as the Bronze Age, Cambridge had already had human footprints. In the 1st century, the Romans camped in Cambridge; in the 5th century, as the Romans left, the Roman military camp faced an abandoned fate.

Until 1066, King William I ordered the castle to be built here. Cambridge's economy and population gradually prospered. Because of the convenience of the River Cam, the river extended to Kings Lynn in the north. The seaside has made the waterway transport developed, and Cambridge has become an economic center in the region.

In 1209, Cambridge University was established in the town. With the increasing number of students, Cambridge became a student-oriented university city. In the 16th century, Cambridge University established more colleges, including the prestigious Christs College and Trinity College founded by Henry VIII.

After the 20th century, Cambridge's status became more and more unshakable. In 1951, the town was upgraded to the city. Today, in addition to the education industry, Cambridge is also actively developing the technology, science and tourism industries.

Attractions

King's College

King's College was founded in 1441 by the King Henry VI of England. Among them, the King's College Chapel is considered to be one of the most beautiful and majestic chapels in the Cambridge University School. Glass decoration, stone walls and wood carvings are amazing. At the same time, the chapel is also very important. ) Architectural examples. In addition, King's College has many famous alumni, British economist John Maynard Keynes and Chinese poet Xu Zhimo have studied at King's College.

Chapel opening hours(study period) Monday to Friday 9:30-15:30|Saturday 9:30-15:15|Sunday 13:15-14:30 | (outside the semester) Monday to Sunday 9:30-16:30, Please refer to the official website announcement time
Ticket fare Adult £10|Student/Child £6

Cambridge, Cambridge: King's College, Cambridge.
Cambridge, Cambridge: Trinity College

Trinity College Trinity College

Trinity College, founded in the later years of Henry VIII, is among the colleges of Cambridge University and is one of the most powerful and famous.

One of the most famous alumni in the academy is Newton who discovers the law of universal gravitation (Newton), at the entrance of the college, there is from Lincolnshire, Newton’s hometown (LincolnshireThe transplanted apple tree, this tree is not the apple tree "deity" of Newton at that time, but its "offspring"!

 

Cors Clock

The Eucharist was unveiled in 2008 by physicist Stephen Hawking; the clock was inspired by the inventor of John Taylor, alumnus of the University of Cambridge, Christopher, Cambridge. He thinks the ordinary clock design makes people Feeling boring, so he designed a grasshopper with a grasshopper. When the pointer reaches the 59th second, the grasshopper will open his mouth and swallow the time, in order to remind the world of time. Once the time goes byIt can no longer be recovered.

Activities

Cambridge Comedy Festival, photo source http://www.cambridgecomedyfestival.com/

Comedy Festival Cambridge Comedy Festival

The Cambridge Comedy Festival began in 2007, and many great comedians will perform here. Although the scale is not the biggest, the performance is still exciting.is calledEdinburghA smaller version of the International Fringe Festival.
Photo source:
Cambridge Comedy FestivalOfficial website

Activity time
July each year
More event information Please checkCambridge Comedy FestivalOfficial website

Folk Folk Festival Cambridge Folk Festival

Founded in 1965, it is an annual folk art (music) festival, one of the important events in Cambridge, attracting thousands of people every year. The event is rich in content, with performances from outstanding musicians from the UK, Ireland and other places. It also combines contemporary art. In recent years, young singers have been invited to join the lineup to provide a stage for the new generation of musicians.
Photo source:Cambridge Folk FestivalOfficial website

Event Location Cherry Hinton Hall Park
Activity time 2019/8/1-8/4
Tickets must be purchased, please go to the fareOfficial websiteInquire

Fireworks & Bonfire Night

Every year in November, many cities in the UK host fireworks and bonfire nights, including Cambridge. The beginning of Bonfire is to commemorate a gunpowder plot that took place in 1605. Today, it is more like a large-scale event, firing fireworks in many places, lighting up the UK's November night sky.
Photo source:Cambridge Live official website

location Midsummer Common, Cambridge
time 2019/11
Free admission

 

Cuisines

Centennial Cafe Fitzbillies

There are a variety of restaurants on Bridge Street, such as French, Italian and American cuisine. The Fitzbillies Café specializes in light food, cakes and afternoon tea and is popular in Cambridge. Fitzbillies has two stores, the founding store opened in 1920 at Trumpington Street in the city center, and the branch is on Bridge Street. The picture is a Mexican roll, fresh and delicious; in addition, its star product is the traditional bread roll "Chelsea Buns".

address"Foundation Store" 52 Trumpington St, Cambridge, CB2 1RG|"Bridge Street Branch" 36 Bridge St, Cambridge CB2 1UW
Opening hours Monday to Friday 8:00-18:00|Saturday 9:00-18:30|Sunday 10:00-18:30 (time may change, please refer to the official website)

Cambridge Centennial Cafe - tomato and red sauce wrap at Fitzbillies. Photo by Serina

The birthplace of DNA, The Eagle Bar

The Eagle Bar is located near King's College and opened in 1667. It was named "Eagle and Child" and later renamed "The Eagle". It is full of stories, documenting the bit of World War II; on a Saturday afternoon in 1956, British biologist Francis Crick and American molecular biologist James Watson cracked DNA together.

address 8 Benet Street, Cambridge CB2 3QN
Opening hours Sunday to Wednesday 11:00-23:00|Thursday to Saturday 11:00-00:00

Transport

train

Take a train from London, you canLondonDepart from London King's Cross and get off at Cambridge Station. The train ride takes about 50 minutes. From Cambridge Railway Station to the city centre, the walk takes about 20 minutes.

AV: Cambridge Travel

Every time I go to Cambridge, I feel very relaxed, even in the case of work; it is always very lively, because there are endless crowds, but when you take a boat trip to Kanghe, you can enjoy the peace, it’s good!

Tips & Tricks

Punting in Cambridge!

The Kang River, a boat trip, is a signature event in Cambridge. There are many boat rental services on site, and it takes about 40 minutes to take a trip. It is a great experience to have a clear guide and to explore the beauty of the campus.

cost Tourists share a car (12 seats) for about £20/person | private charter (6 seats) for about £90/boat. The fee is for reference only, please refer to the on-site price

Bridge of Sighs

The Bridge of Sighs was built in 1831 and is a famous landmark. As for why it is called a bridge of sighs? There are two arguments. One is that the bridge leads to the examination room. During the exam, the bridge will hear the students sigh and get the name. The other is to be in the 16th century in Venice. The first sigh bridge built to pay tribute. Cambridge's Bridge of Sighs is not open to the public, but visitors can see its beauty when they travel by boat.

Next stop recommendation

Recommended trip

城市導覽

劍橋Cambridge

自13世紀初,劍橋大學(University of Cambridge)成立,賦予劍橋全新的氣息。今天,劍橋大學依然稱霸世界,不同的是,當年的小鎮已變身為熱門的觀光城市。不過,即使充滿人潮,這裡始終保有一種寧靜之美。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
歷史
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

歷史

早在青銅器時代,劍橋就已經有人類的足跡。在1世紀時,羅馬人(the Romans)於劍橋扎軍營;5世紀,隨著羅馬人離開,羅馬軍營面臨被遺棄的命運。

直到西元1066年,國王威廉一世(William I)下令在此蓋城堡,劍橋的經濟、人口逐漸地繁榮興盛;也因為康河(River Cam)的便利,河川一直延伸到北方的金斯林(Kings Lynn)海邊,使之水路運輸發達,劍橋因此成為此區域的經濟重鎮。

西元1209年,劍橋大學在小鎮成立,隨著學生的數量愈來愈多,劍橋成為以學生為主的大學城。16世紀,劍橋大學設立了更多學院,包含知名的基督學院(Christs College)、亨利八世成立的三一學院(Trinity College)等。

20世紀後,劍橋的地位越來越不可動搖,於1951年由鎮升格為市。現今,除教育產業外,劍橋也積極發展科技、科學及觀光產業。

景點

國王學院 King’s College

國王學院建於1441年,由英格蘭國王亨利六世(Henry VI)設立。其中,國王學院禮拜堂在劍橋大學眾學院中,被認為最漂亮、雄偉的禮拜堂之一,玻璃裝飾、石牆、木雕,都讓人驚艷;同時,禮拜堂也是很重要的後哥德式(late gothic)建築範例。此外,國王學院有許多著名校友,英國經濟學家凱因斯(John Maynard Keynes)以及中國詩人徐志摩都曾在國王學院就讀。

禮拜堂開放時間(學期間)週一至週五 9:30-15:30|週六9:30-15:15|週日13:15-14:30 |(學期外)週一至週日 9:30-16:30,請以官網公布時間為準
門票票價 成人£10|學生/兒童£6

劍橋Cambridge:劍橋大學國王學院(King's College)。
劍橋Cambridge:三一學院(Trinity College)

三一學院 Trinity College

亨利八世晚年成立的三一學院,是劍橋大學的各學院中,號稱財力最雄厚、名聲最響亮之一。

在學院中,最有名的校友之一是發現萬有引力定律的牛頓(Newton),學院門口,有從牛頓家鄉林肯郡(Lincolnshire)移植來的蘋果樹,這顆樹不是當時砸中牛頓的蘋果樹「本尊」,而是它的「後代」喔!

 

聖體鐘 Corpus Clock

聖體鐘於2008年由物理學家史蒂芬霍金揭幕;此時鐘是由劍橋大學基督聖體學院(Corpus Christi College, Cambridge)校友約翰泰勒(John Taylor)發明家的創意,他覺得普通時鐘設計令人感到枯燥,因此他設計的聖體鍾上面有隻螞蚱(grasshopper),當指針走到第59秒時,螞蚱就會把嘴巴張開,並吞下時間,想藉此提醒世人時光的可貴,時間一旦流逝就無法再追回。

活動

劍橋喜劇節,照片來源 http://www.cambridgecomedyfestival.com/

喜劇節 Cambridge Comedy Festival

劍橋喜劇節始於2007年,許多厲害的喜劇演員會在此演出,雖然規模不算最大,但表演依舊精彩可期,被稱為愛丁堡國際藝穗節的縮小版。
照片來源:
劍橋喜劇節官網

活動時間
每年7月
更多活動資訊 請查詢劍橋喜劇節官網

民俗藝術節 Cambridge Folk Festival

創立於1965年,為每年舉辦的民俗藝術(音樂)節,是劍橋重要活動之一,每年吸引成千上萬民眾參加。活動內容豐富,有來自英國、愛爾蘭等各地優秀音樂人的演出,亦結合當代藝術,近年更廣邀年輕歌手加入陣容,提供新生代音樂人表演舞台。
照片來源:Cambridge Folk Festival官網

活動地點 Cherry Hinton Hall Park
活動時間 2019/8/1-8/4
須購票,票價請至官網查詢

煙火節 Fireworks&Bonfire Night

每年11月份,英國許多城市會舉辦煙火節/營火之夜(fireworks and bonfire night),也包含劍橋,Bonfire的開始是為紀念發生在1605年一起火藥陰謀。時至今日,它更像是一場大型活動,在許多地方施放煙火,點亮英國11月的夜空。
照片來源:Cambridge Live官網

地點 Midsummer Common, Cambridge
時間 2019/11
免費入場

 

美食

百年咖啡廳 Fitzbillies

在橋街(Bridge Street)上有許多樣化的餐廳,如:法式、義式和美式料理。Fitzbillies咖啡廳的餐點以輕食、蛋糕和下午茶為主,在劍橋頗受歡迎。Fitzbillies有兩家店,創始店於1920年開幕位在市中心的Trumpington Street,分店在橋街。圖片中是墨西哥捲,清爽好吃;另外,它的明星商品為傳統麵包捲「Chelsea Buns」。

地址「創始店」52 Trumpington St, Cambridge, CB2 1RG|「橋街分店」36 Bridge St, Cambridge CB2 1UW
營業時間 週一至週五8:00-18:00|週六 9:00-18:30|週日10:00-18:30(時間可能變動,請以官網為準)

劍橋百年咖啡廳 - tomato and red sauce wrap at Fitzbillies。Photo by Serina

DNA的「發源地」,The Eagle酒吧

The Eagle酒吧位在國王學院附近, 1667年就已經開始營業,當時的名字叫做「Eagle and Child」,後來才改名為「The Eagle」。這裡充滿故事,記載著二戰的點滴;在1956年的某個週六下午,英國生物學家Francis Crick和美國分子生物學家James Watson在這裡共同破解了DNA。

地址 8 Benet Street, Cambridge CB2 3QN
營業時間 週日至週三 11:00-23:00|週四至週六11:00-00:00

交通

火車

從倫敦搭火車前往,可以自倫敦國王十字車站(London King’s Cross)出發,至劍橋站(Cambridge Station)下車,火車車程約50分鐘。從劍橋火車站到市中心,步行時間約20分鐘。

影音:劍橋旅行

每次到劍橋都覺得很放鬆,即便是在工作的情況下;它永遠都很熱鬧,因為有絡繹不絕的人潮,但搭撐篙船游康河時,又能享受那片寧靜,真好!

筆記

Punting in Cambridge! 搭撐篙船遊康河

乘船遊康河,是劍橋的招牌活動。現場有許多船隻出租服務,搭乘一趟的時間約40分鐘,有清楚的導覽解說,又能一探校園美景,是很棒的體驗。

費用 遊客共乘(12人座)約£20/人|私人包船(6人座)約£90鎊/船。費用僅供參考,請以現場售價為準

嘆息橋 Bridge of Sighs

嘆息橋建於1831年,是著名的地標。至於為什麼稱它為嘆息橋?有兩個說法,一說是這座橋通往考場,每到考試期間,橋上就會聽見學生此起彼落的嘆息,而得名;另一說,是為了向16世紀在威尼斯(Venice)建造的第一座嘆息橋致敬。劍橋的嘆息橋不對外開放,但遊客在乘船遊康河時,可以看見它的美麗身影。

下一站推薦

推薦行程