Menu

City Guide

Durham DURHAM

Durham is a city full of charm and literary temperament. It is also a treasure place for ancient monks to come to pilgrimage. Built in the 11th century, Durham Cathedral and Castle, the city's prosperity, the 19th century, the establishment of Durham University, after Oxford, Cambridge, England's third oldest university. Duran Cathedral attracts many tourists because it is one of the scenes of the movie "Harry Potter". Since 2009, the biennial, the largest festival in the UK has made it even more lively!

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
History
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

History

According to legend, in the 995 Anglo-Saxon period, a group of monks from Lindisfarne came to Durham with the sacred bones of St. Cuthbert, a missionary who was sacred. However, in the middle of the road, the pedestrians used up their strength, but they were unable to move the coffin. They tried their best to pray for it until St. Bede suddenly remembered that St. Cuthbert had told one of the monks that his coffin had to be taken to a place called Dun Holm. In ancient English, Dun means hill, holme refers to the island in Norwegian, and Dun Holm refers to the hill on the island.

When the monk remembered the incident, the coffin could move again. Under the guidance of a milkmaid, the group came to the river of River Wear. Then, the wood and stone created the predecessor of Durham Cathedral. Since then, St. Cuthbert has been sleeping here, and the city has developed from the center of the cathedral, and many believers will also come here for pilgrimage.

In addition to religious factors, there is a river along the coast of Durham in the northeast of England, with hills in the center, which are defensive, especially for the chaos between Scotland and England. In 1832, Durham University was founded, with Oxford University and Cambridge University being the three oldest universities in the UK, and Durham Castle was given to the university as a college. At the beginning of the 19th century, Durham had a population of about 8,000. With the establishment of universities and railways, the city flourished. By the beginning of the 20th century, about 16,000 people had lived there.

In recent years, many visitors have come to the scene because of the film "Harry Potter" to the cathedral. In 2009, Durham also hosted the Lumiere festival, the largest festival in the UK, inviting artists from all over the world to participate in the city's architecture, streets, public spaces and even streets, using sound, light, shadow and installation art, on a large scale. Transform the city center.

Attractions

Durham Cathedral Durham Cathedral

Durham Cathedral Durham Cathedral

The construction of the Durham Cathedral began in 1093 and was rebuilt in the 12th century. It has been completed in 40 years and is regarded as the world's greatest representative of Norman architecture and one of the masterpieces of European churches. The central hall of the church is completely covered by stone ribs, and the interior of the stone vaults and the walls are unified, breaking the traditional flat wooden roof form that has always been flat. The cathedral is also the source of the city of Durham.In 1987, Durham Cathedral was listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Opening hours Monday to Saturday 9:00 – 17:30 | Sunday 12:00 – 17:00
Ticket Some areas and exhibitions need to buy tickets

Durham University Botanic Garden

The botanical garden began in 1925 and was originally set up as an experimental garden, allowing Durham University to be used for research and teaching; in 1970, it was relocated to its current location.Covering an area of 10 hectares,It is also open to the public. Entering, it will subvert your imagination of the botanical garden, as if you are hiding in a paradise in the classical city, rich in flowers, frigid plants, bamboo forests and pastures.

Opening hours March to October 10:00 – 17:00 | November to February 10:00 – 16:00 (open daily, except for Christmas holidays)
Ticket Adult £15|Retirement £10|Student £6|Children £6
Check opening hours and fare details,Please point me

Durham University Botanic Garden
Durham Castle Durham Castle

Durham Castle Durham Castle

It was originally an Anglo-Saxon fortress, and the Confucius William the Conqueror Norman built a fortress on the site. As the times passed, the castle no longer emphasized defense functions and is now used by the college of Durham University.In 1987, Durham Castle was listed as a World Heritage Site by UNESCO.

Opening hours On weekdays 13:15, 14:15, 15:15, 16:15, there may be a change in the time of the Durham University holiday.
Ticket fare Adult £5|Respect for the elderly £4|Children £4
Check opening hours and fare details,Please point me 

Activities

Durham Festival Lumiere Festival 2019

In 2009, the Lumiere festival, the largest festival in the UK, was held here, inviting artists from all over the world to participate in the transformation of buildings, streets, public spaces and even streets in the city, using sound, light, shadow and installation art. city center.

As its reputation has become louder and louder, the Durham Festival of Lights has been noticed every two years. In 2017, there were more than 240,000 visitors in four days!

Activity time: 2019/11/14 — 11/17/

Cuisines

Fish & Chips: Bells Fish & Chips

The store is located in the city centre, with restaurants and take-away shops. The menu has a choice of fried fish and grilled fish, and the salad is very refreshing, and you can also choose the traditional way of eating French fries.

address 11 Market Place, Durham, DH1 3NE, UK
time Monday to Saturday 11:15 – 20:30 | Sunday 12:00 – 15:30 (external store with different opening hours)

Durham Durham: Bells

Transport

train

From Durant to Newcastle, the largest city in the northeast of England, the journey takes about 15 minutes.The train is a floating fare. It is recommended to go to the official website of the British National Railway.National RailInquire.

Tips & Tricks

In-depth tour: Beamish Museum

Located in County Durham, about 1 hour by bus from Durham.I want to experience the northeast of England, which has passed through time and space and returned to 200 years ago. It is right to be here!

Founded in 1970, the Bimis Museum is an open-air museum. The museum is divided into three eras, 1820, 1900, and 1940. From the early mine pits, steam trains, bread shops to photo studios, you can truly feel. Even the people on the street are many "old people" dressed up by the staff.

address Regional Resource Centre, Beamish DH9 0RG
fare Adult £19.50|Respect for the elderly and students £14.50 | Children £11.50 
time 10:00 – 17:00 daily
Check opening hours and fare details,Please point me

Beamish Open Air Museum

Next stop recommendation

選單

城市導覽

杜倫DURHAM

杜倫是充滿韻味與文學氣質的城市,它也是古代修士會前來朝聖的寶地。建於11世紀的杜倫大教堂與城堡,帶動城市的繁榮;19世紀,杜倫大學成立,是繼牛津、劍橋後,英格蘭第三古老且同採學院制的大學。杜倫大教堂因為是電影「哈利波特」場景之一,吸引許多遊客前來;自2009年起,每兩年一度、英國最大的燈節活動,使它更增色彩!

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
歷史
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

歷史

相傳,在995年盎格魯薩克遜時期,有一群來自林迪斯法恩(Lindisfarne)的修士,帶著被封為聖人的傳教士聖庫思伯特(St Cuthbert)的聖骨來到杜倫,但到了半路,一行人用盡了力氣,卻無法再移動靈柩分毫。他們為此想盡辦法、努力祈禱,直到聖比德(St Bede)突然想起,聖庫思伯特曾經告訴其中一名修士,他的靈柩必須被帶到一個叫做Dun Holm的地方。在古英文中,Dun意為山丘(hill),holme在挪威語中指的是島(island),Dun Holm 指的是在島上的山丘。

當該修士想起這件事後,靈柩竟然又可以移動了,在一名擠奶女工的指引下,一行人來到威爾河(River Wear)河邊。接著,此以木頭與石頭打造了杜倫大教堂(Durham Cathedral)的前身。從此,聖庫思伯特於此長眠, 城市以大教堂為中心開始發展,許多教徒也會來此朝聖。

除了宗教因素,位於英格蘭東北部的杜倫沿岸有河,中心有山丘,具防禦特性,尤其對於蘇格蘭與英格蘭之間的紛亂來說。1832年,杜倫大學成立,與牛津大學、劍橋大學為英格蘭歷史最悠久的三所大學。19世紀初,杜倫人口約8千人,隨著大學與鐵路的建立,帶動城市的繁榮,至20世紀初期,已有約1萬6千人在此生活。

近年,因為電影「哈利波特」至大教堂取景,使許多遊客慕名而來。2009年,杜倫舉辦英國最大的燈節活動 Lumiere,廣邀世界各地的藝術家參與。

景點

杜倫大教堂 Durham Cathedral

杜倫大教堂 Durham Cathedral

杜倫大教堂的建造工程始於1093年,在12世紀時被改建,共歷經40年才完成,被譽為世上最偉大的諾曼建築代表,也是歐洲教堂中的傑作之一。教堂中廳由石肋拱完全地覆蓋,內部的石砌拱頂與牆面的統一,打破一直以來平坦的傳統木屋頂形式。大教堂也是杜倫建城的源頭。1987年,杜倫大教堂被聯合國教科文組織列入世界遺產。

開放時間 週一至週六 9:00 – 17:30|週日 中午12:00 – 17:00
門票 部分區域與展覽,需購買門票

杜倫大學植物園 Durham University Botanic Garden

這座植物園始於1925年,原設置作為實驗花園,讓杜倫大學作為研究、教學使用;1970年,遷址至現在的地點,佔地達10公頃,亦對外開放。入內,將會顛覆你對植物園的想像,好像藏身在古典城市內的世外桃源,有豐富的花卉、寒帶植物、竹林和牧場等。

開放時間 3月至10月 10:00 – 17:00|11月至2月 10:00 – 16:00(每日開放,除聖誕假期之外)
門票 成人 £15|敬老 £10|學生 £6|兒童 £6
查詢開放時間與票價詳情,請點我

杜倫大學植物園 Durham University Botanic Garden
杜倫城堡 Durham Castle

杜倫城堡 Durham Castle

這裡原是盎格魯薩克遜人的要塞,征服者威廉一世(William the Conqueror )諾曼人在原址建立了堡壘。隨著時代過去,城堡不再強調防禦功能,現為杜倫大學的學院使用。1987年,杜倫城堡被聯合國教科文組織列入世界遺產。

開放時間 平日 13:15, 14:15, 15:15, 16:15,如遇杜倫大學放假時段,可能會有異動。
門票票價 成人 £5|敬老 £4|兒童 £4
查詢開放時間與票價詳情,請點我 

活動

杜倫燈節 Lumiere Durham 2019

2009年,全英國最大的燈節活動 Lumiere 在此舉行,邀請世界各地的藝術家參與,將城市內的建築、街道等公共空間,利用聲、光、影與裝置藝術,大規模地點綴,耀眼奪目。

隨著其名聲越來越響亮,每兩年一次的杜倫燈節可說是萬眾矚目,在2017年時,在4天內共湧入超過24萬名訪客!

活動時間:2019/11/14 — 11/17/

美食

炸魚薯條:Bells Fish & Chips

店面就座落在市中心,有餐廳與外帶店。菜單有炸魚、烤魚可以選擇,搭配沙拉十分清爽,亦可挑選薯條的傳統吃法。

地址 11 Market Place, Durham, DH1 3NE, UK
時間 週一至週六 11:15 – 20:30|週日 中午 12:00 – 15:30(另設有外帶店,營業時間不同)

杜倫Durham:Bells

交通

火車

從杜倫往返英格蘭東北部最大城市紐卡斯爾(Newcastle),搭乘火車車程約為15分鐘。火車為浮動票價,建議先至英國國鐵官網National Rail查詢。

筆記

深度旅遊:比米什博物館 Beamish Museum

位於德罕郡(County Durham),距離杜倫市區搭乘巴士的車程約1小時。想要體驗穿越時空、回到2百年前的英格蘭東北部,來到這裡準沒錯!

比米什博物館創始於1970年,為露天博物館,館內主要分為三個年代,1820年、1900年、1940年。從早期的礦坑、蒸汽火車、麵包坊到照相館,都可以真實地感受。就連街上的人們,許多都是由工作人員裝扮的「古人」。

地址 Regional Resource Centre, Beamish DH9 0RG
票價 成人 £19.50|敬老與學生 £14.50 |兒童 £11.50 
時間 每日 10:00 – 17:00
查詢開放時間與票價詳情,請點我

Beamish露天博物館

下一站推薦