Northumberland: Howick Hall Gardens

Strolling in Earl's hometown and tasting his favorite Earl Grey tea is a pleasant and romantic treat.

Home of Earl Grey Tea | Traditional Earl Grey Tea Experience at Gray House

By JOIN ME

Earl Grey Tea has a citrus fragrance and is an indispensable role in English afternoon tea. There are many sources for its origin. It is generally believed that the name of Earl Grey tea was taken from Charles Grey (2nd Earl Grey). He is from northeast England. His hometown, Howick Hall Gardens, is now open to the public. Visitors can explore the look of the earl's house and taste traditional earl tea.

Former British Prime Minister, in love with Earl Grey Tea

Since the 14th century, the Grey family (Grey Family) Howick, a small town in Northumberland, North England (Howick, Northumberland), Has a considerable reputation in the local area, and Horwick Hall was built in 1782. The family is best known as the second generation of Earl Grey, who was the prime minister of the United Kingdom and successfully promoted the abolition of slavery during his tenure (Slavery Abolition Act 1833), Admired by the world. Newcastle, North East EnglandNewcastle) Grey Memorial Column in City Center (Grey's Monument), In honor of this generation of great men.

▍ Gorgeous ballroom with traditional Earl Grey tea

Howick Hall has been restored many times, and the fifth generation of the Gray family has extended its garden. The Horwick Hall garden is currently open to the public from February to November every year. Many people like to set foot here. Earl Grey Tea House) for afternoon tea. The tea house is now run by the second generation of former employees of Horvik Hall. The decoration is gorgeous and presents the old banquet hall of the Earl's House. There are many paintings on the wall, which are the two chapters in the Bible and Horvik's scenery.

How did Earl Grey Tea come about? There are many sayings on the market. According to the official information from Horwick Hall, a Chinese official brought black tea as a souvenir when he came to visit the earl. The official found that Horwick's water source contains hard water, and he was worried that it would affect the taste of the tea. It is added with bergamot essential oil to make the tea more flavorful. Its flavor is unique and loved by Earl Grey.

Others said that a Chinese official sent a batch of tea and bergamot to the earl as a gift. During the shipping process, the tea was stained with bergamot; another said that a British diplomat saved a Chinese official's child during a visit to China, in return for his life-saving grace, gave the formula of this unique tea to a British diplomat, who in turn gave the formula to Earl Grey.

Although the above statement has not been confirmed by strong historical data, it is certain that Earl Grey is a lover of Earl Grey tea, and it is also likely to be the source of promoting Earl Grey tea to the world.

▍Who is the driving force behind the popularity of Earl Grey Tea?

However, if the above statement is true, then how did Earl Grey tea, which was only known to Earl Grey's family, spread to the people? It is said that when the Earl was the Prime Minister in London, his lady (Lady Grey) used the same recipe to entertain the wives of other politicians. Increasingly, more and more people liked the recipe and asked if they could sell this tea for them . At that time, Twinnings sniffed business opportunities and began selling "Earl Grey Tea." However, according to Howick Hall, Earl Grey did not register a trademark and therefore did not receive any benefit.

With the changes of the times, Earl Grey now enjoys a high reputation in the world and has become one of the indicators of British tea. Since the 1960s, the Gray family has moved away from Horvik. After the mansion was opened to the public, the public had a better understanding of the beloved Earl Grey tea, and the beautiful gardens were also popular. It has a good 4.5 star rating on the Tripadvisor, but few foreign tourists know about this secret place. .

Next time if you come to England, you might as well walk around and enjoy the beautiful 65-acre garden and taste the earl's favourite tea.

Attractions Information
Howick Hall Garden
Open season February to November
Tickets required Adults £ 8.80 | Elderly £ 7.70
Details please go toOfficial websiteInquire

Nearby attractions:Newcastle Upon Tyne

© Figure / text copyright
JOIN ME Let's Go UK

Recommended Articles

Related audio and video

You may like it...

諾森伯蘭 Northumberland:霍維克堂花園(Howick Hall Gardens)

漫步在伯爵的故鄉,品嚐他最愛的伯爵茶,是愜意又浪漫的享受。

北英格蘭|伯爵茶的故鄉,傳統體驗就在格雷宅邸

By JOIN ME

格雷伯爵茶(Earl Grey Tea)帶著柑橘清香,是英式下午茶中不可或缺的角色。它的由來有多種說法,普遍認為伯爵茶的名字,取自格雷伯爵二世查爾斯格雷(Charles Grey, 2nd Earl Grey)。他來自英格蘭東北部,老家霍維克堂花園(Howick Hall Gardens)現在對外開放,旅客可以一探伯爵家的模樣,還能品嚐傳統的伯爵茶喝法。

▍英國前首相,愛上伯爵茶

14世紀起,格雷家族(Grey Family)即住在北英格蘭諾森伯蘭郡的霍維克小鎮(Howick, Northumberland),在當地有相當的聲望,霍維克堂則是建於1782年。家族中,最為人所知的是第二代格雷伯爵,他曾任英國首相,於任內成功推動廢奴法案(Slavery Abolition Act 1833),受世人景仰。英格蘭東北部大城紐卡斯爾(Newcastle)市中心設有格雷紀念柱(Grey’s Monument),就是為紀念這一代偉人。

▍ 華麗宴會廳,品嚐傳統伯爵茶

霍維克堂經多次修復工程,格雷家第五代再拓建了花園,霍維克堂花園目前每年2月至11月對外開放,許多民眾喜歡到此踏青,於格雷伯爵茶屋(Earl Grey Tea House)享用下午茶。茶屋現由霍維克堂前員工的二代經營,裝潢華麗,呈現出伯爵家舊時宴會廳的模樣,牆上掛著多幅畫作,分別是聖經中的兩章節與霍維克的景色。

格雷伯爵茶究竟怎麼誕生的?市面上流傳多種說法。根據霍維克堂官方資料指出,一名中國官員前來拜訪伯爵時,帶了紅茶作為伴手禮,該官員發現霍維克的水源質地含有硬水物質,擔心會影響茶的口感,他靈機一動,添加了香檸檬精油泡製,讓茶更有風味,其風味獨特,受到格雷伯爵的喜愛。

還有人說,一名中國官員寄了一批茶和佛手柑給伯爵作為禮物,海運過程中,茶葉染上了佛手柑的味道;另一說是英國外交官訪華時,救了一名中國官員的小孩,官員為報答其救命之恩,便將這款獨特茶葉的配方送給了英國外交官,外交官又將此配方交給了格雷伯爵。

雖然以上說法,皆未獲得強而有力的史料證實,但可以肯定的是,格雷伯爵是伯爵茶的愛好者,也很可能是將伯爵茶推廣至世界的源頭。

▍誰才是伯爵茶普及的推手?

不過,若以上說法為真,那麼一開始只有格雷伯爵家才知道的伯爵茶,是如何普及至民間呢?據說,伯爵於倫敦擔任首相時,其夫人(Lady Grey)用同樣的配方招待其他政治人物的妻子,漸漸地越來越多人喜歡上這個配方,也詢問是否能販售這款茶給他們喝。當時,唐寧公司(Twinnings)嗅到商機,開始販售「伯爵茶」。不過,根據霍維克堂的說法,格雷伯爵並沒有註冊商標,因此沒有分到絲毫好處。

隨著時代變遷,現在伯爵茶在世界享有盛譽,也成為英國茶的指標之一。自1960年代起,格雷家族已經搬離霍維克。其宅邸對外開放後,使民眾對深愛的伯爵茶,有了更進一步的認識,美麗的花園也受歡迎,在Tripadvisor上有著4.5顆星的不錯評價,卻鮮少有外國遊客知道此秘境。

下回來英國玩,不妨到此走走,享受這片佔地達65英畝之廣的花園美景,品嚐伯爵最愛的伯爵茶喝法。

景點資訊
霍維克堂花園
開放季節 2月至11月
須購票 成人 £8.80|敬老 £7.70
詳情請至官網查詢

鄰近景點導覽:紐卡斯爾

© 圖/文版權
走起英國 JOIN ME

推薦閱讀

相關影音

你可能會喜歡...