Menu

City Guide

Edinburgh

Edinburgh is the capital of Scotland and the entire city is a World Heritage Site. Its fascination is that it is full of art, history and natural landscapes. Various festivals include military music festivals, art festivals and Christmas markets to add color to it. The well-preserved castles and buildings are more like a modern and medieval century. between.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Background
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

Background

From 78 to 84 AD, the Roman army arrived in Edinburgh and began a long-term struggle with the aboriginal Celtic tribe, fighting for more than a hundred years. At the time, the Celtic tribe controlled the entire Forth River valley and now the perimeter of Edinburgh Castle. Until 211 AD, the Romans returned to the south of Hadrain's Wall and left the UK in 410 AD.

Later, the Anglo-Saxon ruled Edinburgh until the battle of Battle of Carham in 1018, when the Scots defeated it and the Scottish territory expanded to the River Tweed in southern Edinburgh. Around the 15th century, Edinburgh was ordered to be the capital of Scotland.

In the 18th century Georgian era, Edinburgh continued to develop its economy and construction, and was committed to becoming a city with a "neoclassical" form. Its architecture was recognized by the United Nations World Heritage in 1995 as a culture. The high value and historical significance of preservation. For this reason, the medieval fortress is now visible in the Old Town of Edinburgh, and the neoclassical New Town has 18th-century architecture.

Now, Edinburgh is still the officially recognized capital of Scotland. It is committed to the development of finance and tourism. It is the second largest economic city in the UK.London.

Attractions

St Giles' Cathedral

Located in the heart of the Royal Mile, St. Giles Cathedral was built in 1120 and has a history of more than a thousand years. The interior window glass, the organ and the Thistle Chapel are all in sight.

Opening hours
Saturday 9:00-17:00|Sunday 13:00-17:00 (all year)
Monday to Friday | 9:00-19:00 (May to September)
Monday to Friday|9:00-17:00 (10-April)

Edinburgh, Edinburgh: Interior of Saint-Gilles Cathedral
Edinburgh, Edinburgh: Edinburgh Castle

Edinburgh Castle Edinburgh Castle

The castle stands on the old volcano. In the castle, it is equivalent to standing at the commanding heights of the city of Edinburgh. When you climb the castle, you can see the panoramic cityscape and beautiful scenery. There are many places worth visiting in the castle, such as the oldest building in Edinburgh. : St Margaret's Chapel, The National War Memorial, and The Crown Square, which houses Scottish royal jewellery.

Opening hours Monday to Sunday 9:30-18:00
Ticket fare Adult £18.5|Children £11.5|Respect for the elderly £15

Calton Hill, Calton Hill

Calton Hill is located on a small hill on the east side, overlooking Edinburgh city on the hill. If you get up early, you can see the most beautiful sunrise in Edinburgh. It takes only 5 minutes from the foot of the mountain to the mountain. The scenery on the mountain is beautiful. You can see the National Monument, the Nelson's Monument and the City Observatory.

Edinburgh, Edinburgh: Calton Hill, Calton Hill
Edinburgh, Edinburgh: Arthur's' Seat

Holyrood Park & Arthur's Seat Holyrood Park and Arthur's Seat

The Throne of Arthur is the highest point in Holyrood Park, with a panoramic view of Edinburgh from the top of the hill, about 40 minutes from the foothills to the mountains. In the park, you can visit the remains of St Anthony's Chapel and St Margaret's Loch.

Activities

Edinburgh Military Tattoo (Photo source: The Edinburgh Military Tattoo official website)

The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo 2019

The first Edinburgh Military Music Festival began in 1950 and is now a major event in Edinburgh every summer! In addition to the Scottish military music performance, each year also attracts teams from different countries to participate, each showing the strongest strength, the scene is spectacular, magnificent, the performance is really wonderful, always a ticket is hard to find!

Activity time 2019/8/2 – 8/24
Details and fares PleaseOfficial websiteInquire

International Fringe Festival Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2019

Founded in 1947, the Edinburgh International Fringe Festival is Europe's largest and oldest festival. The event lasts for three weeks and is full of art performers from all over the world. Every August, Edinburgh is full of fun. In 2017, Fringe celebrated its 70th anniversary. Nearly 3,400 shows took turns, and more than 50,000 performers gathered here.

Activity time 2019/8/6 – 8/26
Booking method Enjoy street performances without tickets, stage plays, musicals, etc. You can book tickets on the official website or using the official App (The official Fringe App).

2019 Christmas and New Year events

Edinburgh is very lively at the end of the year, with a series of Christmas and New Year celebrations, and the city is full of joy. In mid-November, the light show was unveiled for the Christmas event, and the public can enjoy it for free. The Christmas Market is the most famous in the UK, with two parts, one at East Princes St Gardens and the other at George Street.

New Year's Eve (Hogmanay)
The most embarrassing traditional ceremony! Torchlight Procession Torchlight Procession
Time: 2019/12/30, 19:00
Ticket price: £13 per person (including torch charge)

New Year event: Ceilidh Under the Castle
Experience the New Year’s Eve next to the castle!
Time: 2019/12/31, 20:30 – 01:00
Cost: £40 per person 

Cuisines

Value Room: Clarinda's Tearoom

The location is close to the Scottish Parliament. The store is very lovely and sells many traditional Scottish pastries. The service is friendly and the price is very close to the people. It is very popular among locals and tourists, and often has long queues. Its Scones are both hot and cold, fragrant!

address 69 Canongate, Edinburgh, EH8 8BS

Opening hours
Monday to Friday | 9:00-16:30
Saturday|9:00-21:00
Sunday | 10:00-16:30

Price reference
£10/person

Five Star Afternoon Tea: Prestonfield House, Prestonfield House

The Prestonfield House Hotel is a five-star hotel converted from a private residence. It is located on the outskirts of downtown Edinburgh, about 10 minutes by car, with stylish decor and chic seating, it is worth to experience its afternoon tea atmosphere!

address Priestfield Rd, Edinburgh, EH16 5UT
Price reference Afternoon tea is £30-40 per meal (recommended reservation)

Delicious food: pork wrapped with apple puree

There is a famous pork bag in downtown Edinburgh, called "OINK HOG ROAST ROLLS". Since the beginning of the small shop in the market in 2001, it has already had three stores, which is very hot. "OINK HOG" only offers pork bags, and customers can choose bread, ingredients and sauces. The sauce is the essence, with apple sauce, so that the pork bag tastes extra points, sweet and sour is not greasy; BBQ sauce is also popular.

address
(I) 34 Victoria Street Grassmarket
(II) 82 Canongate Street
(III) 38 Hanover Street

Opening hours
(I&II) Monday to Saturday | 11:00-18:00
Sunday | 11:00-17:00

(III) Monday to Sunday 11:00-17:00.
If pork is in short supply on the day, it will be sold out.

Price reference £3.6-5.8/part

Popular Pulled pork Sandwich in Edinburgh - Oink Hog

Transport

Edinburgh Waverley Station is located in the heart of Edinburgh.

train

From other cities by train to Edinburgh, it is recommended to get off at Waverley Station in the city centre. Both the Christmas Market and the Fringe Festival are held nearby.

tram

It is also convenient to travel to Edinburgh by tram (Trams); get off at Murrayfield Stadium and see Rugby; Haymarket to the Haymarket train station; get off at Prince Street. It is ideal for shopping on the downtown streets of the New Town; St Andrew Square is the gateway to the Edinburgh Waverley. At the same time, you can also take the tram to Edinburgh Airport.

Ticketing instructions Tickets must be purchased at the ticket machine before boarding. Tickets must be used within 30 minutes, excluding one-day tickets.

Reference fare (adult)
One-way ticket £1.70, one-way airport ticket £6
Round-trip ticket £3.2, airport return ticket £8.5
1 day ticket £4, airport £9, tram and bus are available.
This is the reference fare, please use the actual purchase price.

Tips & Tricks

Summer? Summer in Edinburgh?

Edinburgh's summer average temperature is 9 to 19 degrees. When the sun is not showing up, the sky sometimes shows a gray and cloudy state. It is recommended to put a windproof and rainproof jacket in the trunk before entering Edinburgh. The picture was taken in June, at the timeLondon(London) the temperature soared to 30 degrees, while Edinburgh was very cool.

Go to the Arthurian throne for a picnic!

In the UK, every time there is a good weather, many people will sit and take a sandwich and eat it. Picnic is definitely the most local way of life! Next time, take a light meal to climb the Throne of Arthur! With beautiful scenery, simple food is super delicious.

Next stop recommendation

選單

城市導覽

愛丁堡Edinburgh

愛丁堡是蘇格蘭的首都,整個城市都是世界文化遺產。它的迷人之處在於,充滿藝術、歷史和自然景觀,各種節慶活動包含軍樂節、藝術節和聖誕市集為其增添色彩,保存完善的城堡、建築,更令人彷彿穿梭現代與中古世紀之間。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
背景
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

背景

西元78年至84年,羅馬軍隊抵達愛丁堡與原住民凱爾特(Celtic)部落開始了長期的抗衡,交戰超過百年。當時,凱爾特部落控制了整個福斯河谷(Forth River valley)以及現在愛丁堡城堡(Edinburgh Castle)的周邊。直到西元211年,羅馬人退回哈德良長城(Hadrain’s Wall)以南,並在西元410年離開英國。

後來,盎格魯薩克遜人(Anglo-Saxon)統治愛丁堡,直到西元1018年的Battle of Carham戰役,蘇格蘭人將其打敗,蘇格蘭的版圖得以擴張至愛丁堡南部的特威德河(River Tweed)。約在15世紀,愛丁堡被命為蘇格蘭首都。

在18世紀喬治時期(Georgian era),愛丁堡持續發展經濟和建設,並致力成為具有「新古典主義」形式的城市,它的建築在1995年被聯合國世界文化遺產組織(UNESCO World Heritage)認定具有文化保存的高度價值和歷史意義。正因如此,現在走在愛丁堡的舊城(the Old Town)可以看見中世紀堡壘建築風格,新城(the neoclassical New Town)則具18世紀的建築特色。

現在,愛丁堡仍是官方認定的蘇格蘭首都,致力於金融以及觀光業的發展,是英國第二大經濟城,僅次倫敦

景點

聖吉爾斯大教堂 St Giles‘ Cathedral

聖吉爾斯大教堂位於皇家一英里 (Royal Mile)的中心,建於1120年,擁有超過一千年的歷史。內部的花窗玻璃、管風琴以及小禮拜堂(Thistle Chapel)都是看點。

開放時間
週六9:00-17:00|週日13:00-17:00(全年)
週一至週五|9:00-19:00(5至9月)
週一至週五|9:00-17:00(10至4月)

愛丁堡Edinburgh:聖吉爾大教堂內部
愛丁堡Edinburgh:愛丁堡城堡(Edinburgh Castle)

愛丁堡城堡 Edinburgh Castle

城堡佇立在老火山上,在城堡內,等同於站在愛丁堡市區的制高點上,登上城堡就能看到全景的市容,風景優美;城堡內有許多值得參觀的地方,如愛丁堡最古老建築:聖瑪格麗特禮拜堂(St Margaret’s Chapel)、 國家戰爭紀念館(The National War Memorial),以及收藏蘇格蘭皇室珠寶的皇冠廣場 (The Crown Square)。

營業時間 週一至週日 9:30-18:00
門票票價 成人£18.5|兒童£11.5|敬老£15

卡爾頓山 Calton Hill

卡爾頓山位於東側的一座小山丘,在山上能眺望愛丁堡市區。如果早起,在此可以看到愛丁堡最美麗的日出。從山下到山上只需要5分鐘,山上風景優美,可看到國家紀念堂(National Monument)、納爾遜紀念塔(Nelson’s Monument)及愛丁堡市天文台(the City Observatory)。

愛丁堡Edinburgh:卡爾頓山Calton Hill
愛丁堡Edinburgh:亞瑟王座(Arthur's' Seat)

荷里路德公園&亞瑟王座 Holyrood Park and Arthur’s Seat

亞瑟王座是荷里路德公園(Holyrood Park)內最高點,在山頂能一覽愛丁堡全景,從山下到山上路程約40分鐘。在公園內,可以同時拜訪聖安東尼教堂(St Anthony’s Chapel)遺跡以及聖瑪格麗特湖(St Margaret’s Loch)。

活動

2019 聖誕與新年活動

愛丁堡每年底都非常熱鬧,有一系列的聖誕與新年慶祝活動,整個城市充滿著歡樂氣氛。11月中,先以燈光秀揭開聖誕活動序幕,民眾可免費前往欣賞;聖誕市集號稱英國之最,共有兩部份,一個在East Princes St Gardens,另一個位於George Street。

聖誕市集
時間:2019/11/16 – 2020/01/04
查詢活動詳情,點此看官網

除夕活動(Hogmanay)
最夯的傳統儀式!火炬遊行 Torchlight Procession
時間:2019/12/30,19:00
票價:每人£13(含火炬費用)

新年活動:Ceilidh Under the Castle
體驗在城堡旁狂歡的新年夜吧!
時間:2019/12/31,20:30 – 01:00
費用:每人£40 

國際藝穗節 Edinburgh Festival Fringe 2020

愛丁堡國際藝穗節於1947年開創,是歐洲最盛大且歷史最悠久的藝術節。活動為期三週,網羅世界各地的藝術表演者,每到8月份整個愛丁堡都因它而熱鬧。2017年適逢Fringe70週年紀念,將近3千4百場秀輪番上陣,有高達5萬多名表演者聚集在此。

活動時間 2020/08/07 – 8/31
訂票辦法 欣賞街頭表演不須購票,舞台劇、音樂劇等表演,可於官網或使用官方App(The official Fringe App)訂票。

愛丁堡軍樂節(照片來源:The Edinburgh Military Tattoo 官網)

愛丁堡軍樂節 The Royal Edinburgh Military Tattoo 2019

第一場愛丁堡軍樂節始於1950年,如今已是愛丁堡每年夏季的一大盛事!除了蘇格蘭軍樂表演外,每年還吸引來自不同國家的隊伍參賽,各個都展現出最強實力,場面壯觀、氣勢磅礴,表演實在太精彩,總是一票難求!

活動時間 2020/08/07 – 08/29
詳情與票價 請至官網查詢

美食

超值茶室:Clarinda's Tearoom

地點靠近蘇格蘭議會(Scottish Parliament),店內裝潢很可愛,販售許多蘇格蘭傳統糕點;服務親切、價位也挺親民,深受在地人和遊客的喜愛,經常大排長龍。它的司康(Scones)冷熱皆宜,香!

地址 69 Canongate, Edinburgh, EH8 8BS

營業時間
週一至週五|9:00-16:30
週六|9:00-21:00
週日|10:00-16:30

價位參考
£10/人

五星下午茶:普利斯頓菲爾德之家酒店 Prestonfield House

普利斯頓菲爾德之家酒店是由私人住宅改建的五星級酒店。它位在愛丁堡市區的外圍,車程約10分鐘的距離,氣派的裝潢、別緻的座位,很值得來體驗它的下午茶氛圍!

地址 Priestfield Rd, Edinburgh, EH16 5UT
價位參考 下午茶每份£30-40(建議預訂座位)

道地美食:豬肉包佐蘋果泥

愛丁堡市區有一家有名的豬肉包,店名為「OINK HOG ROAST ROLLS」。2001年自市集的小舖起家,至今已經擁有3家店,十分火紅。「OINK HOG 」僅提供豬肉包,顧客可以挑選麵包、配料與醬料。醬料是精華,搭配蘋果醬,使豬肉包口感加分,酸甜不膩;BBQ醬也受歡迎。

地址
(I) 34 Victoria Street Grassmarket
(II) 82 Canongate Street
(III) 38 Hanover Street

營業時間
(I&II) 週一至週六|11:00-18:00
週日|11:00-17:00

(III) 週一至週日 11:00-17:00。
若當日豬肉供不應求,則售完為止。

價位參考 £3.6-5.8/份

在愛丁堡大排長龍的豬肉包-Oink Hog

交通

愛丁堡威瓦利站(Edinburgh Waverley Station)就在位在愛丁堡市中心。

火車

從其他城市搭火車到愛丁堡,建議在市中心的威瓦利站(Waverley Station)下車。不論是參加聖誕市集、藝穗節活動都在此附近舉行。

電車

搭乘電車(Trams)遊愛丁堡也很方便;在默萊菲體育場(Murrayfield Stadium)下車,看英式橄欖球Rugby;乾草市場站(Haymarket)通往乾草市場火車站;在王子街(Prince Street)下車,就抵達新城區的市區大街,適合購物;St Andrew Square站則通往威瓦利火車站(Edinburgh Waverley)。同時,搭乘電車亦可前往愛丁堡機場(Edinburgh Airport) 。

購票須知 須於乘車前至購票機買票,票券須在30分鐘內使用,不包含1日票。

參考票價(成人)
單程票 £1.70、單程機場票 £6
來回票 £3.2、機場來回票£8.5
1日票券 £4、機場£9,電車、公車皆可使用。
此為參考票價,請以實際購買價格為主。

筆記

夏天呢?Summer in Edinburgh?

愛丁堡的夏天均溫為9到19度,太陽沒有露臉時,天空有時會呈現灰矇矇的陰天狀態。建議到愛丁堡前,在行李箱裡放一件防風、防雨外套。圖片的拍攝時間為6月份,當時的倫敦(London)氣溫飆升至30度,同時間的愛丁堡則非常涼爽。

到亞瑟王座野餐吧!

在英國,每逢好天氣時,會看許多人席地而坐拿出三明治就吃了起來。野餐,絕對算是最在地的一種生活方式!下回,帶份輕便的餐點去爬亞瑟王座吧!有美景陪伴,簡單的食物也超級美味。

下一站推薦