As early as the Roman Empire in the 1st century AD (Roman Empire), Bath is famous for hot springs. Because of its well-preserved buildings, the entire city is listed as a World Heritage Site by the United Nations.

Bath | 1-Day Tour of the Roman Baths and Stonehenge

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

Bath is a classical city. Many people come to the Roman Bath for pilgrimage, and the perfect Georgian architecture is fascinating. This article starts from Bath Railway Station and leads you to enjoy the beautiful view of the ancient city on foot.

▍Roman Baths

After exiting Bath Spa Railway Station, walk towards St Lawrence Street diagonally opposite the station, you will enter the main shopping street, where many well-known brands gather here, and then walk north In a short time you will arrive at the famous landmark Roman Baths. In the bath, you can see the remains of the temple built by the Romans, and the well-preserved large and small hot spring pools; the museum also interprets the life scenes of the people through animations, so that the visitors can better understand that the bath was originally a very important social place . At the same time, staff who also dressed up as Romans interacted with tourists on the spot. "Now is the 1st century AD, where did you come from?" When asked in this way, it really feels like passing through ancient and modern times.

▍Bath Abbey

The Bath Abbey is located next to the Roman Baths and began in the 7th century AD. When visiting the monastery, you cannot miss the ladders of Angels, which are the two ends on the west side. It is said that this was the design inspiration that Bishop Bath had dreamed of the angel climbing the ladder at the time, and was also the focus of the building. The interior of the monastery is equally fascinating. The west window stained glass (West Window) tells the story of the first five Bibles; the east window stained glass (Great East Window) depicts 56 scenes in the story of Jesus Christ.

When the weather is good, you can often see street performers singing in Bath Abbey Square. In winter, next to the monastery is the lively Christmas market, selling many winter specialties.

▍Jane Austen Centre

Then continue north, passing the Jane Austen Centre first. The famous British writer Jane Austen has well-known works such as "rationality and sensibility" and "arrogance and prejudice". She lived in Bath from 1801 to 1806. The center has a normal exhibition, showing her time living in Bath, and also showing how this beautiful city influenced her works. For example, her last book "Persuasion" has Bath. shadow. After watching the exhibition, you can also enjoy English afternoon tea at the Regency Tea Room. The decoration and service staff of the tea house reproduce the appearance of the Regency period, which is an interesting experience.

▍The Royal Crescent

Built at the end of the 18th century, it consists of 30 houses juxtaposed with a spectacular crescent-shaped (half-moon-shaped) scene, located next to Royal Victoria Park. It is a well-known landmark in Bath, a first-class registered building, and one of the most classic Georgian buildings in Britain. It was once the residence of many important people. Some houses are still for private use and some are converted for sightseeing purposes. Five-star hotels are stationed in. The No. 1 Royal Crescent is now a museum showing the life of the Georgian period.

▍Pulteney Bridge

Then go east and come to the River Avon, where there is a special-looking Pulteney bridge. The bridge was built in 1770, when architect Robert Adam was given a mission. He wanted to get rid of the clichés and build a bridge that could spark discussion among everyone. It is said that there are only four shopping street bridges (there are shops on the bridge), and Pulteney Bridge is one of them. This is now the most popular photo spot in Bath; the 2012 movie "Es Misérables" came here to shoot, as Javert jumped off the bridge. There is a Parade Gardens (Parade Gardens) by the river, from which you can enjoy the entire bridge and river view, which is the favorite angle for many photographers.

▍Stonehenge

Many tourists like to arrange Bath and Stonehenge together, and the two places will take about an hour. Stonehenge in Salisbury is one of the most well-known prehistoric remains in the world. Its history has always been an unsolved mystery. What is the reason for the boulder group? What is the purpose? How did it move here? It's all curious. It is generally believed that the composition of Stonehenge is divided into several stages. It is estimated that it appeared 5,000 years ago and the stone circle was established 2,500 years ago. Later, the burial mounds of the Bronze Age were also found near the stone circle.

The composition of the stone circle is mainly composed of two kinds of stones, one is the megalith sarsen, and the other is bluestones. The study found that this type of bluestone comes from Wales, 250 kilometers away. Why did it cost Zhou Zhang to transport these stones from the other end? It is generally believed that it came from the power of religion. Stonehenge may be a temple in prehistoric times; and because the arrangement of these stone pillars has a wonderful combination with the sun ’s trajectory, the sun in the summer solstice and early morning can be imparted to the center of Stonehenge; During the sunrise of Lichun and Lidong, there are also different stones aligned with the position of the sun, so Stonehenge is also considered to be related to astronomical observations.

Bath and Stonehenge day trip, the time is well matched. You can savor the two classic British ruins, and have enough time to walk to the beautiful Bath, suitable for those who prefer slow travel.

Related attractions:Bath

© Figure / text copyright
Let's go JOIN ME British road trip

Recommended Articles

Related audio and video

You may like it...

British Bath

Cover 巴斯Bath

早在西元1世紀羅馬帝國時期(Roman Empire),巴斯就以溫泉聞名。其建築保存良好,整座城市獲評選為世界文化遺產(UNESCO World Heritage)。

英國巴斯旅遊|1日行程,羅馬浴場、巨石陣一起玩

巴斯是一座氣質古典的城市,許多人來朝聖的羅馬浴場(Roman Bath)、完美的喬治式建築,都讓人為之著迷。本篇文章自巴斯火車站出發,帶領大家徒步欣賞古城美景。

▍羅馬浴場 Roman Baths

自巴斯火車站( Bath Spa Railway Station)出站後,朝著車站斜對面的聖勞倫斯街(St Lawrence Street)走,即會進入主要商店街,許多知名品牌聚集在此,接著往北再步行一小段就會抵達著名的地標羅馬浴場。

羅馬浴場約在西元70年由羅馬人建立,在當時是重要的社交場所,現在為世界上保存最好的羅馬遺跡之一。浴場內結合博物館展出當時的古物及遺跡,遊客將能體驗2千年前羅馬時代的生活。在浴場中能看見羅馬人建造的神殿遺跡,以及保存良好的各式大小溫泉池,泉水依舊源源不絕,甚至能見到溫泉水在冒煙的模樣。

館方還透過動畫來演繹從前人們的生活情景,使參觀民眾更能理解浴場在當時的用途。同時,現場有裝扮成羅馬人的工作人員與遊客互動,「現在是西元1世紀,你從哪裡來的?」被這麼問的時候,是不是真有種穿越古今的感覺?在參觀動線的最後,遊客還能引用溫泉水,其內含43種礦物質,當時的人們相信此水具身體保健功能,只是它的風味評價兩極,究竟如何就有待你親自體驗了。

▍巴斯修道院 Bath Abbey

巴斯修道院位在羅馬浴場旁邊,始於西元7世紀,其最為人津津樂道的設計是位於西側兩端的「天使的階梯(the ladders of Angels)」,據傳這是來自當時巴斯主教夢到天使攀爬階梯的靈感。修道院內部同樣精彩,西邊的彩繪玻璃(West Window)述說了前5本聖經裡的故事;東邊的彩繪玻璃(Great East Window)描繪耶穌基督故事中的56個場景。冬季時,修道院旁就是熱鬧的聖誕市集,販售許多冬季限定美食。

▍珍・奧斯汀中心 Jane Austen Centre

接著繼續往北走,首先會經過珍・奧斯汀中心(Jane Austen Centre)。英國知名作家珍・奧斯汀,知名著作有「理性與感性」和「傲慢與偏見」 等,她於1801至1806年曾居住在巴斯。該中心設有常態展,呈現出她居住於巴斯的時光,也讓人看見這座美麗的城市是如何影響她的作品,如她最後一部著作「勸導(Persuasion)」就有巴斯的影子。看完了展覽還可以到攝政茶屋(Regency Tea Room)享用英式下午茶,茶屋的裝潢與服務人員皆重現攝政時期的模樣,是有趣的體驗。

▍皇家新月 The Royal Crescent

建於18世紀末,由30幢住宅並列呈現新月形(半月形)的壯觀場面,座落在皇家維多利亞公園(Royal Victoria Park)旁。它是巴斯的知名地標,一級登錄建築,也是英國最經典的喬治式建築之一,曾做為許多重要人物的居所。現在部分房屋仍為私人用,部分轉為觀光用途,有五星級飯店進駐,一號房屋(No.1 Royal Crescent)現為博物館展現喬治時期的生活。

▍普爾特尼橋 Pulteney Bridge

接著往東邊走,來到雅芳河(River Avon),河上有一座特殊造型吸睛的普爾特尼橋。這座橋建於1770年,當時建築師Robert Adam被賦予使命,希望他能擺脫俗套,打造一座會引發眾人討論的作品,結果成品至今仍驚艷世人。據說,世上僅有四座商店街橋(橋上有商店),普爾特尼橋就是其中之一。這裡現在是巴斯熱門拍照景點;2012年電影「悲慘世界(es Misérables)」來此拍攝,劇中角色 Javert 就是從這座橋一躍而下。河邊有一個帕德雷公園(Parade Gardens),從那裡可以欣賞整座橋及河景,是許多攝影師喜歡取景的角度。

▍巨石陣 Stonehenge

許多遊客喜愛將巴斯與巨石陣安排在一起,往返兩處單趟車程約1小時。巨石陣是世上最知名的史前遺跡之一,其歷史一直是未解的謎團,巨石群的成因為何?目的是什麼?如何搬遷至此?都讓人好奇。普遍認為,巨石陣的組成分為好幾個階段,推估5千年前就已經出現,2千5百年前建立起石圈;後來銅器時代的埋葬塚也被發現就建在石圈附近。

石圈主要由兩種石頭組成,巨石撒森(sarsen)與小青石(bluestones);研究發現,這種青石是來自250公里外的威爾斯(Wale)。為什麼要大費周章將這些石頭從遙遠的另一端運到此?普遍認為是來自宗教的力量,巨石陣在史前時代可能是神廟;又因為這些石柱的排列方式與太陽的運行軌跡有著奇妙的結合,夏至清晨的陽光能不偏不倚的照射至巨石陣中央;立春與立冬的日出之際,也有不同的石頭對準了陽光照射的位置,因此巨石陣也被認為與天文觀測有關。

巴斯與巨石陣依距離而言,能夠安排一日遊,一次捕獲英國兩大經典景點

相關景點導覽:巴斯

© 圖/文版權
走起英國 JOIN ME

推薦閱讀

相關影音

你可能會喜歡...

英國巴斯