Newcastle, Newcastle: Newcastle Castle

Explore Newcastle (Newcastle), the largest city in northeast England.

Newcastle | From the castle to the pier, the city is hiking

By Let's go JOIN ME

Newcastle also translated Newcastle as a major city in northeast England. During the Roman period, it played a defensive role; during the Industrial Revolution, its shipbuilding industry prospered and became one of Britain's major economic towns. Today, it gradually walks out of its new look. In 2018, Newcastle hosted England's largest, 80-day event "Great Exhibition of the North", which combined technology, art and innovation, and attracted many people from all over the world to participate.

码头 Tyne Marina

Newcastle's most famous landmark is the dock area. Along the pier is the River Tyne. There are many restaurants and bars on both sides of the river, and traditional markets are on Sunday. There are a total of 7 bridges on the river. The most famous are the High Level Bridge, the Swing Bridge, the Tyne Bridge, and the Gateshead Millennium Bridge.

Takahashi High Level Bridge:Built in 1849, it links Newcastle and Gateshead's highlands. The upper level of the bridge allows the train to pass, while the lower level is the passage between people and cars. There is a whole face of Love Locks on the bridge.

Swing Bridge:
Built in 1876, between the Tyne Bridge and Takahashi, the bright red coat is very eye-catching. The bridge can be swiveled to make it easier for ships to pass through.

Tyne Bridge:
The largest single-span bridge in Englandsingle-spanThere are no piers between the ends), it's the sameConnectedNewcastle Upon TyneGateshead. Tyne Bridge and Sydney Harbour Bridge in Australia are from the same designer and the same company, so they are often compared.

Gateshead Millennium Bridge, Gateshead:The Gateshead Millennium Bridge, completed in 2001, has a unique shape, consisting of two large arch bridges. When the bridge is tilted at 45 degrees, it means that a boat only needs to pass. At this time, it looks like it is blinking, so it is also called "Blink Bridge(Blinking Eye Millennium)". Cross the Millennium Bridge to reach the Museum of Modern Art (Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art)With the International Concert Hall (Sage Gateshead).

The starting point of the city: Newcastle Castle

1thousand8A hundred years ago, the location of the castle is now the Roman fortress. The first castle was not built here until the Normans conquered England.1080year. In the early days, the castle used wood as a building material.1After the century, King Henry II ordered the stone to be rebuilt, and the bunker still exists today.

In the medieval period, Newcastle Castle was a border castle between England and Scotland, and an important fortress in Northern England. With the new city walls in the city (Newcastle's Town Walls) Appears, the castle status declines. However, it cannot be replaced in spirit. This castle is the origin of Newcastle's name and the beginning of the rise of the city.

▍City walking routes

Newcastle Central Station (Newcastle Central Station) to Newcastle Castle, about 7 minutes walk; from the castle to the quayside, about 15 minutes. Then recommend a walk to Granger City in the heart of the city, to visit the early British news movie theaters, the well-preserved Georgian architecture streets, and vintage M & S sundries. Continue to the next article:

Related attractions:Newcastle Upon Tyne

© Figure / text copyright
Let's go JOIN ME British road trip

Recommended Articles

Related audio and video

You may like it...

Newcastle upon Tyne, Newcastle, UK

選單

紐卡斯爾|從城堡到碼頭,城市徒步旅行

分享在 facebook
分享在 google
分享在 twitter
分享在 email
分享在 whatsapp

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

紐卡斯爾又譯新堡(Newcastle)為英格蘭東北部的主要城市,在羅馬時期,它扮演著防禦性的角色;在工業革命時期,它的造船業興盛,成為英國主要的經濟重鎮之一。如今,它逐步走出自己的新樣貌,2018年,紐卡斯爾舉辦英格蘭最大、為期80天的活動「Great Exhibition of the North」結合科技、藝術與創新,吸引世界各地許多人前來參與。

碼頭區 Quayside

這裡最有名的地標之一則是碼頭區,沿著碼頭的為泰恩河(River Tyne),河的兩岸有許多餐廳、酒吧,週日有傳統市集。河上共有7座橋是其特色,最靠近河畔中心的有4座橋,分別是高橋(High Level Bridge)、旋轉橋(Swing Bridge)、泰恩橋(Tyne bridge)和蓋茨黑德千禧橋(Gateshead Millennium Bridge)。

高橋 High Level Bridge:建於1849年,連結紐卡斯爾與蓋茨黑德(Gateshead)的兩岸高地。橋的上層讓火車通行,下層則為人與汽車的通道。橋上有一整面的愛情鎖(Love Locks)。

旋轉橋 Swing Bridge:
建於1876年,位在泰恩橋與高橋的中間,鮮紅色的外衣使之很醒目。為方便航海運,橋身可以旋轉,便於開道使船隻通行。

泰恩橋 Tyne Bridge:
英格蘭最大的單跨橋(single-span),這種橋的兩端之間沒有橋墩。泰恩橋連結紐卡斯爾和蓋茨黑德(Gateshead)。它和澳洲雪梨港橋(Sydney Harbour Bridge)出自同一個設計師和同一家公司,因此兩橋經常被拿來相提並論。

蓋茨黑德千禧橋 Gateshead Millennium Bridge:2001年落成的蓋茨黑德千禧橋是一座造型獨特的大橋,由兩座大拱橋組成,當橋身傾斜45度時,就表示有船隻要經過,而在此時,它的模樣就像一隻大眼睛在眨眼,因此又被稱為「眨眼橋」(Blinking Eye Millennium)。穿過千禧橋,就能到達現代美術館(Baltic Centre for Contemporary Art)與國際音樂廳(Sage Gateshead)。

城市的起點:紐卡斯爾城堡Newcastle Castle

18百年前,城堡的位置就是羅馬人的要塞,直到諾曼人征服英格蘭後,才在此建造第一座城堡,那已經是西元1080年。初期,以木材為建材,歷經1世紀後,國王亨利二世下令以石頭改建城堡,如今碉堡仍存於原址。

中世紀時期,紐卡斯爾城堡是很重要的堡壘,為英格蘭與蘇格蘭的邊界城堡。隨著在市區中新的城牆(Newcastle’s Town Walls)出現,城堡漸漸式微。不過在精神上,它始終無法被取代,這座城堡是紐卡斯爾命名的由來,也是城市興起的開端。

城市徒步路線
紐卡斯爾中央火車站(Newcastle Central Station)至紐卡斯爾城堡,步行路程約7分鐘;從城堡至碼頭區,路程約15分鐘。接續看下一篇紐卡斯爾市中心,藏著英國僅存的新聞短片電影院。

© 圖/文版權
走起 — JOIN ME 英國公路旅行

推薦影音

更多文章

Leave a comment

英國新堡泰恩河畔紐卡素