Strafford | Closer look at Shakespeare's legend

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

William Shakespeare, the most famous poet and playwright in the UK, is also a writer. His hometown is located in Stratford-upon-Avon, a small town in the south-central part of England. This simple and beautiful place is highly regarded because of him. The people of that year were curious as to why a "countryman" Can you write such a literary work? Now, his fans are all over the world, and tourists want to know, what kind of environment has produced such an extraordinary writer? Coming to Strafford, it seems as if you can get a close look at the legend of a generation of great writers.

Many documents indicate that Shakespeare should be baptized in Holy Trinity in Strafford on April 26, 1564. According to the custom at the time, newborns are usually baptized on the third day after birth, so it is concluded that Shakespeare’s birthday may be April 23. In 1611, Shakespeare’s death date coincided with April 23, and he was buried in the Holy Trinity Church.

The church is a first-class registered monument and is open to the public, but there is a charge for visiting Shakespeare's sleeping place.

Sweeping and sneak peek into Shakespeare’s life

As for Shakespeare's life, there are many arguments based on the literature, because the records about him were not complete at the time, and scholars can only piece together his possible appearance with limited records. Like the birthday mentioned above, he is supposed to have studied at Shakespeare Schoolroom & Guildhall. Even the suffix of his name has more than dozens of combinations in history, including shappere, Shakp and so on.

Coming to Strafford, there are traces of Shakespeare everywhere. Includes the former residence and school where he lives with his family.

Best-selling playwright, the people and the queen are fascinated by him

From 1589 to 1613, Shakespeare produced many popular works, including "King Richard III", "A Midsummer Night's Dream", "Hamlet", "Romeo and "Romeo and Juliet", "Julius Caesar" and "King Henry VIII". Shakespeare's work is considered to be very literary, but it is not difficult to understand. It is always loved by all walks of life and the general public. He also has a super fan, Queen Elizabeth I.

Behind me, leave a bed for the wife, and the outside world is curious about the emotional world of the two.

When Shakespeare was 18, he married 26-year-old Anne Hathaway. They had three children, Susanna, Hamnet, and Judith, but Hamnet died when he was 11 years old.

An Hai Sewei was born in an agricultural family. Her family is also located in Strafford. Many of the furniture is completely preserved and is now open to visit (Anne Hathaway's Cottage And Gardens). This is also where Shakespeare asked her to marry.

Regarding the emotional world of Shakespeare and Anheuser, there are still not many records. How do the two know each other? What is the mode of getting along? It is not known that the most well-known "fact" is that Shakespeare stated in his will to leave his second best bed to his wife. Many people speculate on this sentence and think that leaving only one bed for the pillow person shows that the couple's feelings are not good; but the truth is too little, and the meaning of this bed for the two is even more difficult for outsiders to understand.

Shakespeare’s birthday, the world cheers for him

Since 1824, on Shakespeare's birthday, Strafford has been filled with joy, because everyone is busy for Shakespeare's Birthday Celebration Parade. The parade will start at Bridge Street and head to the Holy Trinity Church where Shakespeare was born and buried. Every year, people from all walks of life and all walks of life participate, and a group of people dress up and put on traditional costumes. After the parade, the Royal Shakespeare Company and the Shakespeare Birthplace Trust will perform street performances in Strafford, which is very lively. In addition, on the weekend after Shakespeare’s birthday, there is also a temporary market, with about 150 stalls selling traditional street food and local souvenirs. The market is for two days.

2019 Shakespeare Celebration Parade:4/27, 10:35 am to 11:30 am

Reference material
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust
SHAKESPEARE'S ENGLAND
The Spelling and Pronunciation of Shakespeare's Name
Royal Shakespeare Company
Other related books

© Figure / text copyright
Join Me Ltd.

Recommended Videos

More articles

Leave a comment

選單

史特拉福|近距離窺探莎士比亞的傳奇

分享在 facebook
分享在 google
分享在 twitter
分享在 email
分享在 whatsapp

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

威廉‧莎士比亞(William Shakespeare),英國最著名的詩人、劇作家也是文學家。他的家鄉位在英格蘭中南部的小鎮雅芳河畔史特拉福(Stratford-upon-Avon),這個淳樸美麗的地方,因為他而受到高度關注,當年的人好奇,為什麼一位「鄉下人」能寫出如此具文彩的作品?現在,他的粉絲遍佈在世界各地,遊客想知道,什麼樣的環境孕育出如此不凡的作家?來到史特拉福,彷彿能近距離窺探一代大文豪的傳奇。

許多文獻指出,莎士比亞應是於1564年4月26日在史特拉福的Holy Trinity受洗,而根據當時的風俗,新生兒通常是在出生後的三日會受洗,因此推斷莎士比亞的生日可能為4月23日。1611年,莎士比亞辭世的那日正巧也是4月23日,而後他安葬於Holy Trinity教堂。

教堂為一級登錄古蹟,開放民眾參觀,但參觀莎士比亞的長眠地需收費。

抽絲剝繭,窺探莎士比亞的一生

關於莎士比亞的一生,有許多說法皆是以文獻為基底的推測,原因是當時關於他的記載並不完整,學者僅能以有限的紀錄來拼湊出他可能的模樣。像是上述的生日、推測他曾於史特拉福文法學校(Shakespeare Schoolroom & Guildhall)就讀,甚至連他的名字的字尾在史料上都有超過數十種組合,包含shappere、Shakp等。

來到史特拉福,處處都是莎士比亞的痕跡。包含他與家人同住的故居和學校等。

暢銷劇作家,百姓與女王都為他著迷

莎士比亞在1589年至1613年間,產出許多膾炙人口的作品,包含「理查三世(King Richard III)」、「仲夏夜之夢(A Midsummer Night’s Dream)」、「哈姆雷特(Hamlet)」、「羅密歐與茱麗葉(Romeo and Juliet)」、「凱薩大帝(Julius Caesar)」和「亨利八世(King Henry VIII)」等。莎士比亞的作品被認為極具文彩,卻非艱深難懂,總是能受到來自各行各業、普羅大眾的喜愛,他還擁有一位超級大粉絲伊莉莎白女王一世(Queen Elizabeth I)。

身後獨留一張床給太太,外界好奇兩人感情世界

莎士比亞18歲時與26歲的安海瑟薇(Anne Hathaway)結婚,他們共有3個小孩,Susanna、Hamnet和Judith,但Hamnet不幸於11歲時過世。

安海瑟薇出身於農業家庭,她的娘家也位在史特拉福,許多家具被完整保留下來,現在開放參觀(Anne Hathaway’s Cottage And Gardens)。這裡也是莎士比亞向她求婚的地方。

關於莎士比亞與安海瑟薇的感情世界,則依舊沒有太多紀錄,兩人如何相識?相處模式為何?都不得而知,最廣為人知的「事實」則為,莎士比亞在遺囑中載明要將自己第二好的床留給太太。許多人對這句話加以揣測,認為僅留一張床給枕邊人,顯示夫妻倆的感情恐不佳;但真相太少,且這張床對於兩人的意義更是外人不理解的。

莎翁的生日,世界為他歡騰

自1824年起,每逢莎士比亞生日,史特拉福就瀰漫著歡樂的氣氛,因為大夥正為莎士比亞慶生遊行(Shakespeare’s Birthday Celebration Parade)而忙碌著。遊行隊伍將從Bridge Street開始,一路前往莎士比亞出生及安葬處Holy Trinity 教堂。每年都有來自各地、各界的人士參加,一行人精心打扮,換上傳統服飾,共襄盛舉。遊行結束後,包含皇家莎士比亞公司(Royal Shakespeare Company)和莎士比亞出生地信託 (Shakespeare Birthplace Trust)則會在史特拉福舉行街頭表演,十分熱鬧。此外,在莎士比亞生日後的週末,這裡也設有臨時市集,約有150個攤位販售傳統街頭小吃以及當地的紀念品,市集為期兩日。

2019 莎士比亞慶生遊行:4/27,10:35 am 至 11:30 am

參考資料
Shakespeare Birthplace Trust
SHAKESPEARE’S ENGLAND
The Spelling and Pronunciation of Shakespeare’s Name
Royal Shakespeare Company
其他相關書籍

© 圖/文版權
走起 — JOIN ME 英國公路旅行

推薦影音

更多文章

Leave a comment