City Guide

Glasgow Glasgow

Glasgow has a population of nearly 600,000 people living here, more than 480,000 people in Edinburgh, and is the largest city in Scotland. There is a lively shopping street in the city centre, Glasgow Cathedral in the east, and many restaurants and bars in the west. The city combines culture, scenery, food, art and music. It’s so wonderful, how can you not love it?

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
History
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

History

The origin of the city can be passed back to a church built by St Mungo in the 6th century. With the church and the crowd, Glasgow gradually developed into a small-scale town; in the Middle Ages, there were weekly marketplaces and many craftsmen working and living here.

The former Glasgow range was small, with only four main roads, completely different from the current prosperity. In 1451, it was allowed to set up a university, and the town became lively. At the end of the 15th century, there were salt cities, wool markets and fruit and vegetable markets in the town, indicating that there are more and more residents living here. Also more prosperous.

In the 17th century, Glasgow began importing and exporting goods, and tobacco was one of the most important imported goods. In the mid-19th century, the development of Glasgow was overwhelming. At the end of the 19th century, the population reached nearly 500,000. However, high-density residential populations also cause problems, public spaces are overcrowded, and many families can only live in small rooms.

Fortunately, the construction of the city started at a large scale at this time, and began to supply tap water, set up sewer systems, install electric street lights, etc.; the equipment at the docks and ports was also upgraded. After entering the 20th century, Glasgow's people's livelihood construction continued to progress. At the end of the 20th century, it transformed into the capital of art and attracted tourists with its cultural heritage. Since 1980, there have been many art galleries, galleries and museums opening, and there are many music performance centers.

Nowadays, Glasgow is a city rich in art and culture. Its music industry also plays an important role in Scotland. It hosts more than 100 music events every week, and the music is popular, rock and classical, and the Royal Conservatoire of Scotland. Also located here, it was voted the UNESCO City of Music by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Association.

Attractions

Glasgow Cathedral Glasgow Cathedral

Built between the 13th and 15th centuries, Glasgow Cathedral is considered to be the only preserved building in Scotland since the 1560s. The cathedral is very meticulous in interior decoration and is one of the classic representatives of Gothic architecture. The site of Glasgow Cathedral is now the place where St Mungo built its first church.

Opening hours Monday to Saturday 9:00 – 17:00

Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum

The museum is very stylish and has a Victorian architecture. It opened in 1901. The museum is divided into two main exhibition areas, one for Life and one for Expression. The former mainly includes: prehistoric, natural history and human history; Artwork, such as painting and sculpture. It is also one of the most popular museums in Scotland and the evaluation is very high!

Opening hours Monday to Saturday 10:00 – 17:00 | Sunday 11:00 – 16:00 (please take the actual situation on site and may close on certain holidays)

Glasgow University

In 1451, the University of Glasgow was founded and is now the fourth oldest university in the UK. Adam Smith was here. The Hurric Museum (THE HUNTERIAN), the oldest museum in Scotland with its history in 1807, is located in the university. There are also art galleries to visit.

For details and opening hours,Please point me 

In addition, the cloister in the main building of Glasgow University is considered to be very similar to the scene of the Hogwarts School of Magic in Harry Potter, but the film was not filmed here.

Activities

Wonderful music festival

There are many music festivals in Glasgow, such as the Glasgow Jazz Fastival, the Celtic Connections and the Piping Live! Festival. In particular, the Piping Live! event lasts a week, with more than 5,000 performers and more than 150 events, which is very exciting, similar to the annual Edinburgh Festival Fringe event held in August. Have the opportunity to go to Glasgow and experience their superb musical appeal!

Cuisines

Wen Qingfeng's Bar Street

Ashton Lane is located in the West End, with many bars, restaurants, and movie theaters hidden in it! Let this little street with cobblestones always be full of people. Come here and try to try Indian cuisine. There are many cities in the UK that are the birthplace of "Chicken Tikka Masala", and Glasgow is one of them!

Transport

train

From Glasgow Central Station to Edinburgh, the train ride takes approximately 1 hour and the London train takes approximately 5 to 6 hours.

The train is a floating fare. It is recommended to go to the official website of the British National Railway.National RailInquire.

Subway Subway

Glasgow's subway was opened in 1896 and is the third oldest in the world, second only to London and Budapest. The subway is a ring line with a total of 15 stations. Kelvinhall and Hillhead stations, close to the University of Glasgow; Buchanan Street and St. Enoch stations provide easy access to the city centre.

Check the fare,Please point me

Tips & Tricks

Mystery: Pollok Country Park, Pollock Country Park

Pollock Country Park was voted the best garden in Europe in 2008. It is also Glasgow's largest park with pastures, gardens and museums! And when I saw the hordes of highland cattle swaying and walking on the grass, it was very healing!

Next stop recommendation

選單

城市導覽

格拉斯哥Glasgow

格拉斯哥擁有近60萬的人口居住於此,比首都愛丁堡約48萬人口多,被封為蘇格蘭第一大城。其市中心有熱鬧商店街,東區有格拉斯哥大教堂,西區則有許多餐廳酒吧,城市內結合了文化、風景、美食、藝術與音樂,如此精彩,叫人怎能不愛?

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
歷史
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

歷史

城市的起源,相傳可回推至6世紀時由聖蒙哥(St Mungo)建立的一座教堂。有了教堂、有了人潮,格拉斯哥漸漸發展成一個有基礎規模的小鎮;中世紀時期,這裡每週會有市集,也有許多工匠在此工作、生活。

從前的格拉斯哥範圍不大,僅有4條主要道路,與現在繁榮的情景完全不同。在1451年時,它被允許設立大學,小鎮也變得熱鬧;15世紀末,鎮上有鹽市、羊毛市集與果菜市集等,說明了在此生活的居民越來越多,小鎮也更加繁榮。

到了17世紀,格拉斯哥開始進出口商品,菸草是最重要的進口貨物之一。19世紀中期,格拉斯哥的發展已經勢不可擋,在19世紀末時,人口達到近50萬人次。但是,高密度的居住人口也帶來問題,公共空間過於擁擠,許多家庭也只能擠在小房間裡生活。

所幸,城市的建設在此時大規模地展開,開始供應自來水、設立下水道系統、裝設電力街燈等;碼頭與港口的設備也翻新升級。邁入20世紀後,格拉斯哥的民生建設也持續進步,20世紀末,轉型為藝術之都,並以其文化遺產來吸引遊客。自1980年來,有多家美術館、藝廊與博物館相繼開幕,並有許多音樂表演中心。

現在,格拉斯哥是富含藝術文化的城市,其音樂產業在蘇格蘭亦有重要地位,每週舉辦超過場百音樂活動,曲風遍及流行、搖滾到古典等,蘇格蘭皇家音樂學院(Royal Conservatoire of Scotland)也座落於此,因而被聯合國文教科會評選為音樂之都(UNESCO City of Music)。

景點

格拉斯哥大教堂 Glasgow Cathedral

格拉斯哥大教堂建於13至15世紀間,被認為是蘇格蘭自1560年代後,唯一完整保存下來的建築。大教堂為內部裝潢十分細緻,堪稱哥德式建築的經典代表之一。如今格拉斯哥大教堂的位址,也是聖蒙哥(St Mungo)在此建立第一個教堂的地方。

開放時間 週一至週六 9:00 – 17:00

凱文葛羅夫藝術博物館 Kelvingrove Art Gallery & Museum

此博物館外觀很氣派,為維多利亞式建築,於1901年開幕,館內分為兩大展區主題,一為Life、一為Expression,前者主要展出內容包含:史前、自然歷史與人類史;後者以藝術品,如繪畫、雕塑為主。它也是蘇格蘭最熱門的博物館之一,評價非常高!

開放時間 週一至週六 10:00 – 17:00|週日 11:00 – 16:00(請以現場實際狀況為準,遇特定假日可能關閉)

格拉斯哥大學 Glasgow University

1451年,格拉斯哥大學成立,現為英國第四古老的大學。亞當·斯密(Adam Smith)曾在此就讀。蘇格蘭歷史最悠久、成立於1807年的公立博物館「亨特博物館(THE HUNTERIAN)」位在大學內。亦有美術館可以參觀。

查詢詳情與開放時間,請點我 

另外,格拉斯哥大學主樓內的迴廊,被認為非常像「哈利波特」中霍格華滋魔法學院的場景,但電影未在此拍攝。

活動

精彩音樂節

格拉斯哥有許多音樂節,像是爵士音樂節(Glasgow Jazz Fastival)、凱爾特音樂節(Celtic Connections)與國際管風琴節(Piping Live! Festival)等等。

特別一提,Piping Live! 活動為期一週,有超過5千名表演者、超過150場活動,十分精彩,與每年8月份舉行的愛丁堡藝術節(Edinburgh Festival Fringe)活動時間相近。有機會一定要到格拉斯哥走走,體驗他們超強的音樂感染力!

美食

文青風的酒吧街

阿什頓巷(Ashton Lane)位在西區,有許多酒吧、餐館,還有電影院藏身其中!讓這條鋪有鵝卵石的小小街道上總是人聲鼎沸。來到這裡,也推薦嘗試一下印度料理,英國有許多城市爭當「烤雞咖哩(Chicken Tikka Masala)」的發源地,格拉斯哥也是其中之一!

交通

火車

從格拉斯哥中央火車站(Glasgow Central Station)前往愛丁堡,火車車程約1小時;前往倫敦火車車程約5至6小時。

火車為浮動票價,建議先至英國國鐵官網National Rail查詢。

地鐵 Subway

格拉斯哥的地鐵於1896年啟用,是世上第三古老,僅次於倫敦(London)與布達佩斯(Budapest)。地鐵為環狀線,全線共15站。Kelvinhall與Hillhead站,靠近格拉斯哥大學;Buchanan Street站與St. Enoch站便於通往市中心。

查詢票價,請點我

筆記

秘境:波洛克鄉村公園 Pollok Country Park

波洛克鄉村公園在2008年時被票選為歐洲最佳花園,它也是格拉斯哥最大的公園,裡面有牧場、花園和博物館等!而當看到成群的高地牛搖搖擺擺,在草地上散步的模樣,實在很療癒!

下一站推薦