Liverpool LIVERPOOL

Liverpool used to be a maritime trade city, but it was once devastated by war. It was desolate; the birth of the great band of the world, the Beatles, made the city a face-lift, and now it is a city that is popular among tourists. Liverpool, like a superstar, behind the scenery, handsome, still hides the endless moving story.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Background
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

Background

Liverpool in the 11th century is called Liuerpul, which means a pool or creek with muddy water. After a few centuries, it gradually became the current name Liverpool.

In 1207, the then King John announced the establishment of a new new political district in Liverpool and the construction of Liverpool Castle. Before the 18th century, Liverpool was still a fairly simple town. It was not until 1715, when the construction of the first commercial port was completed, and the maritime trade expansion of the Atlantic Ocean, Liverpool at the mouth of the River Mersey in England, grew rapidly. In the 19th century, the Albert Dock was opened and the Port of Liverpool became more prosperous. At that time, 40% of the world's containers were docked here.

In 1940, the art of the Second World War ruthlessly and violently attacked this beautiful city and pier, and many buildings in Liverpool were destroyed. Fortunately, after the war, Liverpool's economy slowly recovered; at this time, The Beatles was born! The whole city is renewed and energetic because of their music!

Liverpool witnessed the development history of world maritime trade in the 18th and 19th centuries, and its dock was also the main trading port of the British Empire at that time. It has historical significance. In 2004, Liverpool Maritime Mall was certified and became the UN World Cultural Heritage (UNESCO). ).

Attractions

Albert Dock, Albert Dock

The Albert Dock was built in 1839, when Liverpool was the world's largest maritime trade city. Many goods from all over the country were shipped by sea and stored in warehouses at the dock. However, during the Second World War, the dock was severely damaged by the Germans. The pier that I saw now was rebuilt in 1988. It is a new tourist attraction and a tourist attraction. Many restaurants, museums, taverns and hotels are here. Because of its historical significance in the world maritime trade, it is worthy of preservation. For the World Cultural Heritage (UNESCO).

The Beatles Story

Located at Albert Dock, the Beatles Museum is the world's largest permanent exhibition of the Beatles' four stories, including the stories of their early years in the tavern, the instruments used, and clothing.

Opening hours
Monday to Wednesday | 09:00-19:00
Thursday to Sunday | 09:00-20:00
Ticket fare
Adult £15.95|Student/Respect for £12|Children £9.5 Fares include audio guides (12 languages, including Chinese)

Maritime Museum Maritime Museum Maritime Museum

The Merseyside Maritime Museum and the International Slavery Museum are located in the same building at Albert Dock, with the Maritime Museum on the 1st and 2nd floors and the Slavery Museum on the 3rd floor. The Maritime Museum exhibited many stories of the Atlantic trade at the time.

Slavery Museum International Slavery Museum

The Slavery Museum exhibits the history of the slave trade at the time, as well as the story of many people being treated unfairly. It is the first museum in history to talk about human rights with the theme of slavery.

Ticket fare free
Opening hours 10:00 – 17:00

Liverpool Liverpool: Walker Art Gallery

Walker Art Gallery Walker Art Gallery

The Walker Art Gallery opened in 1877 and is known as the national gallery of the North. The collection is mainly known for its medieval oil paintings, including the 16th century King Henry VIII and Queen Yi. A portrait of Queen Elizabeth I; it also houses many of Liverpool's local art.

Ticket fare free
Opening hours 10:00 – 17:00

Forever classic. Beatles

Activities

John. Blue Dragonfly and Yoko Ono Double Fantasy: John&Yoko

Liverpool, the hometown of the famous orchestra Beatles, from May 2018, exhibited members of the Liverpool Museum. The story of John Lennon and his second wife, Yoko Ono, was named after the album "Double Fantasy" jointly released by the two in 1980. Many of the personal items were also made public for the first time in the exhibition. For this exhibition, Yoko Ono paid great attention to it. At the age of 85, she flew to Liverpool to watch the exhibition before the exhibition.

Exhibition location Liverpool Museum
Exhibition period 2018/5/18-2019/11/03 

Liverpool International Music Festival 2019

Liverpool International Music Festival Liverpool International Music Festival 2019

Liverpool was named "City of Music" by the United Nations Educational, Scientific and Cultural Organization (UNESCO), the second British city to receive this honor after Glasgow. Liverpool has an extraordinary musical tradition and is the birthplace of the Beatles, a diverse modern music style that continues to evolve. Liverpool hosts several music festivals each year, including the Liverpool International Music Festival. Photo source:LIMF official website

time 2019/7/21-22

Cuisines

The Italian Club Fish

The Italian Club Fish is an Italian seafood restaurant. It is well received in popular local restaurants, whether it is fried, Italian noodles or desserts. It is often difficult to find a weekend holiday.

address 128 Bold St, Liverpool L1 4JA
proposed price £20/person

The Italian Club Fish is very popular in Liverpool. Photo by Dan Chen
Liverpool Liverpool: The Cavern Club

The Cavern Club

There are two bars on Matthew Street, one is the Cavern Pub and the other is the Cavern Club (Chinese translation for the cave bar). The latter was the original site of the performance of the Beatles. The original Carvern was built, but the structure is still the same as that of the year, so many fans are attracted to the pilgrimage. Pubs and Clubs are free to enter most of the time, but they have to pay for the show during the performance period. Drinking and listening to music here, everyone is very happy!

address 10 Mathew St, Liverpool L2 6RE

Transport

train

Liverpool Lime Street Station is Liverpool's largest and oldest station. It is located in the city centre and has many round trips.London(London), Manchester (Manchester) and other cities. In the middle of 2018, the Lime Street Railway Station was just renovated. FromLondonDepart from Euston railway station and travel to Liverpool Lime Street Station for approximately two and a half hours to three hours.

Liverpool Liverpool: Liverpool Lime Street Station

Self-driving family notice: toll road

From Chester and Birkenhead to Liverpool, you will pass the Queensway Tunnel or the Kingsway Tunnel.

cost General passenger car, every 趟 £1.8 yuan

Ferry: Travel to Belfast

Take a ferry to and from Liverpool and the capital of Northern IrelandBelfastspecialBetween (Belfast), you can enjoy the view of the Irish Sea, which takes about 8 hours. There are many facilities on board, including small cinemas, games rooms and computer rooms. Departure from LiverpoolBelfastIt is necessary to take a boat to the Birkenhead pier for 2 shifts a day.

cost
10:30-18:30, £20/single
22:30-6:30, £30/single

Tips & Tricks

Follow the stars! The hometown of Beatles

I have never thought about it before and will become a fan of Beatles. When I came to the city, I was fascinated by them. From the debut of the bar, all the way to the story hall and exhibition, the story of their scenery seems to be vivid.

Europe's first Chinatown

In the 19th century, because of the developed maritime trade, Chinese merchant ships were in close proximity to the port of Liverpool, and thus the first Tang community in Europe was established here. The gorgeous archway now seen is built in 2000. In recent years, the descendants of many immigrants have moved to neighboring cities.LondonOr Manchester is looking for new jobs, and now the crowds here are no longer the same.

Liverpool Liverpool: The Beatles statues

Reproduce the legend: the Beatles

From the 1960s to the present, the Beatles Four Orchestra has been popular all over the world, and many tourists follow the footsteps of the orchestra and come to their hometown. In 2015, the Cavern Club, which was sung by the Beatles at the time, donated a bronze statue of four people to Liverpool. At that time, it attracted world attention, and John L.'s 姊姊Julia also attended the opening ceremony.

location Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1BY

Next stop recommendation

More trips

"Game of Thrones" Filming locations | 1 Day Tour | Departing from Belfast

Loading... Northern Ireland Giants Causeway & "Song of Ice and Fire: Game of Thrones" Shooting Scene 1 Day Tour [Watch] Dark Hedges The boulevards on either side of the beech tree are full of mystery The magical beauty is also the scene of the King's Road in the HBO album "Song of Ice and Fire: Power Game". Giant's Causeway The Giant's Causeway is famous for its stone pillar wonders. It was formed after the volcanic eruption of ancient times. It is one of the must-see sights of the United Nations as a world cultural heritage. Ballintoy Harbour The most beautiful fishing village in Ireland, because it still retains the look of the old times, the "Power Game" crew was attracted by this unique scene, set as the shooting scene of the Iron Islands. The traditional style of the crew has not been added to the traditional style, so the fans come here, there will be a familiar familiar feeling! [Guide language] English [trip] One day shooting scenes and world wonders, but also docked in a mysterious cave, it is also one of the "power game" shooting scene! Whether you have seen the album or not, these unique natural beauty and fishing village scenery will make you feel good about Ireland. * From now until September 1st, 2019, the Game of ThronesTM Touring Exhibition in Belfast will be presented. The tour guide will reserve 1.5 hours in the afternoon to Belfast. But will not visit the port of Ballinto.

選單

利物浦 LIVERPOOL

利物浦曾經是風光的海上貿易大城,卻一度受戰爭摧殘,顯得落寞;世上偉大的樂團披頭四(the Beatles)的誕生,使這個城市改頭換面,現在是深受觀光客喜愛的城市。利物浦,彷彿一個巨星,風光、帥氣的背後,還隱藏著說不盡的動人故事。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
背景
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

背景

11世紀的利物浦名為Liuerpul,意指帶有泥水的小港灣(a pool or creek with muddy water)。幾個世紀過後,才漸漸變成現在的名字Liverpool。

西元1207年,當時的國王約翰(King John)宣布在利物浦建立新的新政區,並建造了利物浦城堡(Liverpool Castle)。在18世紀前,利物浦仍然是個相當純樸的小鎮。直到西元1715年,第一個商用港口建設完成,大西洋的海上貿易擴張,位處英格蘭梅西河(River Mersey)出海口的利物浦,因此快速成長。19世紀,阿爾伯特碼頭(Albert Dock)啟用,利物浦港口因此更加繁榮,當時,全世界有百分之四十的貨櫃都會在此停靠。

西元1940年,二次世界大戰的砲火無情地、猛烈地攻擊了這個美麗的城市和碼頭,利物浦許多建築遭毀壞。幸好,戰爭過後,利物浦的經濟又緩慢復甦;就在此時,披頭四樂團(The Beatles)誕生了!整個城市因為他們的音樂,煥然一新、更有朝氣!

利物浦見證了18、19世紀世界海上貿易的發展史,且其碼頭也是當時大英帝國對外的主要貿易港口,具歷史保存意義,在西元2004年,利物浦海上商城獲得認證,成為聯合國世界文化遺產(UNESCO)。

景點

阿爾伯特碼頭 The Albert Dock

阿爾伯特碼頭建於西元1839年,當時的利物浦是世界上的海洋貿易大城,許多來自各地的貨物,經海運運送並儲存於碼頭的倉庫中。但二戰期間,碼頭遭受德軍嚴重破壞。現在看見的碼頭是在1988年重建完成,融合了新舊建築,也是旅遊勝地,許多餐廳、博物館、小酒館、旅館都在這裡;因其在世界海上貿易的歷史意義重大值得保存,這裡被列為世界文化遺產(UNESCO)。

披頭四博物館 The Beatles Story

披頭四博物館位在阿爾伯特碼頭,是世界上最大講述披頭四故事的永久展覽館,展出內容包含他們早年在小酒館駐唱的故事、使用的樂器以及服裝等。

營業時間
週一至週三|09:00-19:00
週四至週日|09:00-20:00
門票票價
成人£15.95|學生/敬老£12|兒童£9.5 票價包含語音導覽(共12種語言,含中文)

海事博物館 Merseyside Maritime Museum

「默西塞德郡海事博物館」及「國際奴隸制博物館」位於阿爾伯特碼頭的同一棟建築內,1、2樓為海事博物館;3樓以上為奴隸制博物館。海事博物館展出許多當時大西洋海上貿易的故事。

奴隸制博物館 International Slavery Museum

而奴隸制博物館展出當時奴隸貿易的歷史,以及許多人們遭受不平等待遇的故事,是史上第一個以奴隸制度為主題,講述人權的博物館。

門票票價 免費
開放時間 10:00 – 17:00

利物浦Liverpool:沃克美術館(Walker Art Gallery )

沃克美術館 Walker Art Gallery

沃克美術館於西元1877年開幕,有北方國家美術館(the national gallery of the North)之稱,館藏主要以中世紀的油畫聞名,其中知名的有16世紀的國王亨利八世(Henry VIII)及女王伊莉莎白一世(Queen Elizabeth I)的畫像;這裡同時也收藏許多利物浦當地的藝術品。

門票票價 免費
開放時間 10:00 – 17:00

永遠的經典。披頭四樂團

活動

約翰.藍儂與小野洋子 Double Fantasy: John&Yoko​

利物浦,著名樂團披頭四的家鄉, 2018年5月起,在利物浦博物館展出其中成員約翰.藍儂(John Lennon)與他第二任妻子小野洋子(Yoko Ono)的故事,並以兩人於1980年共同發行的專輯「Double Fantasy」命名。許多私人物品也首次在展覽公開,對於這次展出,小野洋子非常重視,高齡85歲的她,在展出前特地飛到利物浦事先觀看了展覽。

展出地點 利物浦博物館
展出期間 2018/5/18-2019/11/03 

利物浦國際音樂節2019

利物浦國際音樂節 Liverpool International Music Festival 2019​

利物浦被聯合國教育、科學與文化組織(UNESCO)評為「音樂之都(City of Music)」,它是繼格拉斯哥(Glasgow)  之後,第二個獲此殊榮的英國城市。利物浦擁有非凡的音樂傳統文化,是披頭四樂團的誕生地,多樣化的現代音樂風格,且持續發展中。利物浦每年舉辦多場音樂節,其中又以利物浦國際音樂節(Liverpool International Music Festival)最受矚目。照片來源:LIMF官網

時間 2019/7/21-22

美食

義式海鮮料理 The Italian Club Fish

The Italian Club Fish是義式海鮮料理,在當地的人氣名店,不管是炸物、義大利麵還是甜點,都頗受好評,每逢週末假期經常一位難求。

地址 128 Bold St, Liverpool L1 4JA
參考價格 £20/人

義式海鮮料理The Italian Club Fish在利物浦很受歡迎。Photo by Dan Chen
利物浦Liverpool:洞穴俱樂部(The Cavern Club)

披頭四駐唱酒吧 The Cavern Club

在馬修街(Matthew Street)上有兩間酒吧遙遙相望,一家是the Cavern Pub,一家是the Cavern Club(中文譯為洞穴酒吧)。後者是披頭四樂團出道時表演的原址,原本的Carvern曾歷經修建,但結構仍與當年相同,因此吸引許多歌迷前來朝聖。Pub和Club多數時間免費入場,但遇表演時段須收入場費。在這裡喝酒、聽音樂,大家都玩很盡興!

地址 10 Mathew St, Liverpool L2 6RE

交通

火車

利物浦萊姆街站(Liverpool Lime Street Station)是利物浦最大、歷史最悠久的車站,它位於市中心,有許多往返倫敦(London)、曼徹斯特(Manchester)等城市的班次。2018年中,萊姆街火車站才剛翻修完成。從倫敦尤斯頓站Euston railway station出發,前往利物浦萊姆街站,車程約2個半小時至3小時。

利物浦Liverpool:利物浦萊姆街站(Liverpool Lime Street Station)

自駕族須知:收費道路

從切斯特(Chester)和伯肯希德(Birkenhead)往返利物浦,會經過收費道路 Queensway Tunnel 或是 Kingsway Tunnel 。

費用 一般小客車,每趟 £1.8

渡輪:前往貝爾法斯特

搭乘渡輪往返利物浦與北愛爾蘭的首都貝爾法斯(Belfast)之間,可以欣賞愛爾蘭海(Irish Sea)的景色,時程約8小時。船上有許多設施,包含小型電影院、遊戲間和電腦室等。從利物浦出發前往貝爾法斯特,須至伯肯希(Birkenhead)碼頭乘船,每日共2班。

費用
10:30-18:30,£20/單趟
22:30-6:30,£30/單趟

筆記

追星去!披頭四的家鄉

以前沒想過,會成為披頭四的粉絲。來到這個城市,意外的為他們著迷。從初登場的酒吧,一路到故事館與展覽,他們風光的故事彷彿歷歷在目般。

歐洲第一個唐人街

19世紀,因為海上貿易發達,中國商船在利物浦港口往返密切,也因此歐洲第一個唐人社區就在此設立。現在看到的華麗牌坊建於2000年。近年來,許多移民的後代轉而至鄰近城市倫敦或曼徹斯特尋找新的工作機會,現在這裡的人潮已不可同日而語。

利物浦Liverpool:披頭四銅像(the Beatles statues)

重現傳奇:披頭四樂團

從1960年代至今,披頭四樂團一直風靡著全世界,許多遊客追隨著樂團的足跡,來到他們的家鄉。2015年,披頭四當時駐唱的俱樂部 the Cavern Club捐贈四人的紀念銅像給利物浦,當時引起世界關注,約翰藍儂的姊姊Julia也特地出席揭幕典禮。

地點 Pier Head, Liverpool L3 1BY

下一站推薦