City Guide

London

London is located in the south of England and is the capital of England. Its cultural contributions including literature, drama, art and education, all of which play a pivotal role in the global economy. It is also one of the most multicultural cities in the world.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Background
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

Background

In 43 AD, the Romans built bridges on the River Thames in London. They also found the water depth here, which is suitable for navigation. The geographical advantage gives it the characteristics of easy-to-attack, and the Romans Built in the city in 50 years. During the Roman period, the total population of London reached approximately 45,000, making it the town with the largest population in the UK. London is located at the port, making its trade prosperous. The main trades are cereals, metals and alcohol.

In AD 407, after the Roman army left the United Kingdom, the Anglo-Saxon started governed the place. At the time, London has already become the commercial hub of the UK. Later, William the Conqueror established the Tower of London, which accelerated the economic development of London.

Nowadays, London is a financial city and a tourist destination in Europe. More than 130 residents from all over the world make its culture rich and diverse. As of 2016, The Greater London has a total population of 8.1 million; the annual number of visitors is approximately 37 million, making it one of the most important tourist cities in Europe.

Attractions

London Eye

London Eye is located in the House of Parliament on the banks of the Thames, opposite to Big Ben. With a height of 135 meters which is the world's tallest cantilevered observation wheel. If the weather is good, you can overlook the scenery 40 kilometres away from there.

Nearby Tube Stations Waterloo Station   
Opening hours
Monday to Thursday, Sunday 10:00–21:30
(Friday, Saturday extended to 12 am)
fare Adult £26|Children £21 (about 30 minutes per week)

London London: London Eye
London, London: British Museum

British Museum

British Museum was founded in 1753, which exhibits more than 2 million years of human history, and fantastic collections from different countries can be seen here. The exhibits include the Rosetta Stone in ancient Egypt, the Elgin Marbles in ancient Greece and the Egyptian mummies. At the same time, it is also one of the largest museums in the world.

Nearby Tube Stations Tottenham Court Road Station, Holborn Station, Russell Square Station, Goodge Street Station 

Opening hours 10:00–17:30
Extended to 20:30 on Friday night 

fare Free visit (special exhibition and audio guide are subject to a fee)

Tower of London

After the conqueror William came to England, he built the Tower of London to defend his power. The Tower of London has a thousand-year history. The beautiful white tower records many cruelty stories with blood, hurt and tears. It used to be a prison, a royal mint, an armoury, and a zoo in the old days. Today, It is a landmark of London and a popular tourist attraction. It also displays weapons used by the ancient army, crowns of kings and queens.

Nearby Tube Stations Tower Hill Station
Opening hours
Tuesday to Saturday 09:00-17:30
Sunday to Monday 10:00-17:30
fare Adult £24.70|Offer fare £19.30

London, London: Tower of London
London London: Elizabeth Tower map

Big Ben

Big Ben is located in the Elizabeth Tower on the north side of the House of Parliament. There are two legends in its name. One of them is the name of Sir Benjamin Hall, who oversees the bell-bell project. It is also said that in the 19th century, people quoted the British weight boxing champion Banjer. Benjamin Caunt's nickname, Big Ben, describes the most important people in all fields. Later, the clock next to the Capitol was named Big Ben. Beginning in August 2017, Big Ben entered a four-year maintenance project, and now only one side of the clock is open, and maintenance is expected to be completed in 2021.

Nearby Tube Stations Westminster Station

London Tower Bridge

Tower Bridge was built in1894In the year, it is a high tower bridge. The structure of the bridge is divided into upper and lower layers. The upper floor is the sidewalk and the lower floor is the driveway. In order to prevent the tower bridge from affecting the water and land transportation, the tower bridge is designed to be openable. At that time, Tower Bridge was built to solve the traffic problems in London. Today it is also a well-known attraction. Visitors can visit the interior of the Tower Bridge, which includes the history of Tower Bridge and the Victorian era.Victorian Era) the engine room. Now, there are aerial glass walks on the upper level of the Tower Bridge. Visitors can take a look at the scenery under the bridge from the Tower Bridge. Tower Bridge is still in operation, opening a total of about every year850Secondly, if you want to see the opening of the tower bridge, you can check the timetable in advance on the Tower Bridge official website.

Nearby Tube Stations Tower Hill Station
Opening hours 09:30-17:00
fare adult£9.8|child£4.2

London, London: Tower Bridge (London Tower Bridge)

Activities

Fireworks Festival

Blackheath fireworks, which is one of London's biggest fireworks displays, attracts around 80,000 people a year. Free admission.

location Blackheath, London
time Every November

The Alexandra Palace Fireworks Festival is packed with exciting events, combining the German Oktoberfest and circus performances. Photo source:Event website

location Alexandra Palace
timeEvery November
fare Adult £12|11-15 years old £9.5|Children £1

Summer limited, Open Air Theatre

Regent's Park hosts an 18-week Open Air Theatre each summer, one of the oldest outdoor theatres in the UK, beginning in the 1930s.

Nearby Tube Stations Regent's Park, Great Portland Street, Baker Street, Camden Town

Address Regents Park London, NW1 4NU
Fare information Each fare is different and must beOfficial websiteInquiry and booking
Photo source Regent's Park Open Air Theatre

London Christmas Events

Christmas event

The Winter Wonderland, held every year at Hyde Park, is always very popular among locals and tourists. In addition to the market, there are a lot of performances and amusement rides. You will definitely enjoy your time there!

Hyde Park Winter Wonderland
time Every November

Leicester Square Christmas Market
time Every November

Cuisines

Indian cuisine DISHOOM

Iranian-style restaurants were popular in the 19th century and were one of Mumbai's indicators. They reached their peak in the 1950s and 1960s, but as time went by, traditional restaurants were rare, so the founders paid tribute to the old times of Mumbai cuisine. For the concept, the first Dishoom was opened in 2010 at Covent Garden. Today, it is very popular and always queue outside of the restaurant.

address 5 branches in London
Shoreditch, King's Cross, Carnaby, Covent Garden, Kensington

Opening hours (Opening time may vary between branches)
Booking restrictions No limit for breakfast and lunch | Dinner (after 17:45) Only group bookings of more than 6 people are accepted, seats are reserved for only 15 minutes

French Bistro Côte Brasserie

Côte Brasserie set up its first store in Wimbledon, London in 2007, with the concept of a French bistro. The menu is seasonally adjusted and the desserts are very popular.

address Côte Brasserie has about 60 branches across the UK. It is recommended to check and pre-book on its official website before the visit.

Opening hours (Opening time may vary between branches)
Monday to Friday 8:00-23:00
Saturday 9:00-23:00
Sunday 9:00-22: 30

Popular Begoe Shop Beigel Bake

Beigel Bake is a popular store in Brick Lane and has been unbeaten for 40 years. I recommend smoked salmon (£1.40/piece), squid (£1.10/piece) and original flavour (£0.25)./)).

address 159 Brick Ln, London E1 6SB
Opening hours Open 24 hours from Sunday to Monday (prices may change over time, please refer to the site)

London, London: Japanese cuisine Wasabi

Affordable Japanese cuisine

Walking around London, you will find more and more Asian restaurants of which the Japanese cuisine is very popular. Frome takeaway, ramen noodles to barbecues are all available in the city. For example, Wasabi, which sells rice balls, miso soup, rice bowls, sushi, etc., and it costs about 10 pounds, and there are a few seats in the store; Eat TOKYO is a restaurant from Japan, which was stationed in the UK in 2004 and now has many branches in London. The price of each meal is between 10 and 20 pounds, is a great place for dining out with friends.

Transport

Bus

Public transportation in London is very friendly to visitors. You can take a bus and tubes to anywhere you want to go. TfL (TRANSPORT FOR LONDON) has planned five leisure routes for visitors to explore the city, 9 Route (Royal Palace and Museum), 17 Route (historical heritage and traditional bar), 22 Route (antique and art), 35 Route (London Market) and 139 Route (Classic Landmark).

cost Infinity rides within 1 hour, the charge is £1.5 | The maximum charge is £4.5 per day.

Payment instructions London buses do not accept cash and must use an Oyster Card or a Contactless Payment Card. Each time you get on the bus, you will be sensing the card regardless of whether the hour or day spending reaches the upper limit. In addition to UK local credit cards, American Express (AMEX), MasterCard, Visa cards are also available.

Underground

The London Underground was built in 1863 as the world's first underground railway. Londoners called it "The Tube." The first route is the Metropolitan line, which is only 6 stops across the line. The starting (end) points are Paddington and Farringdon Station. Today, the London Underground has expanded to 11 routes and 270 stations. According to data released by TfL, the annual passenger load is 1.37 billion, of which Waterloo Station is the busiest as the station is close to the popular attractions London Eye and Big Ben.

The London Underground is the world's first subway. Photo by Serina Su

Tips & Tricks

Art in the underground

Since the beginning of the 20th century, the London Underground has started to cooperate with artists. The mosaic tile art in the picture was written by British artist Eduardo Paolozzi and completed in 1986.

Underground station (in the picture) Tottenham Court Road

London Shopping: Smart Turnout

Bring home a classic souvenir from London.

Founded in 1999, Smart Turnout started with jumpers and socks and now expands to watches and other fine products. The use of colours and stripes is its signature and has a special meaning behind each product. Customers can choose a watch strap to match a watch and their own style. It is one of the best souvenirs you should bring home with you.

Store address:169 Piccadilly

The art on the wall

The walls of London are cool with a variety of street art, graffiti art, which can be seen at Brick Lane, Camden Town and Leake Street Tunnel; in Soho, don't forget to look up the seven "nose" on the wall, created by artist Rick Buckley The installation art; it is said that there are still some unknown "ears" hidden in the vicinity of Covent Garden, and the idea is also from the same artist.

城市導覽

倫敦London

倫敦位於英格蘭的南部,為英格蘭首都,它是世界的金融中心之一,其文化貢獻包含文學、劇作、藝術與教育等,皆具舉足輕重之地位。它是個充滿故事性的城市,更是多元文化的聚集地。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
背景
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

背景

西元43年,羅馬人(Roman)在倫敦的泰唔士河(River Thames)上造橋,同時發現此處水深,適合船隻航行,地理特性的優勢賦予它易守難攻的特色,羅馬人因此於西元50年在此建城。在羅馬時期,倫敦總人口數達到約4萬5千人,為當時英國人口數最多的城鎮。倫敦位處港口,使其貿易繁榮,主要的交易物有穀物、金屬和酒類等。

西元407年,羅馬軍隊離開英國後,改由盎格魯薩克遜(Anglo-Saxon)進駐、治理英國。此時的倫敦已是英國的貿易中心,許多船隻在此進出。後來,諾曼時期(Norman)威廉一世(William the Conqueror)建立了倫敦塔(the Tower of London),更加速了倫敦的經濟發展。直到今日,倫敦都是英格蘭的首都。

現在的倫敦是歐洲的金融重鎮也是觀光勝地,有超過來自130國家的居民,使它的文化顯得多元豐富。截至2016年,大倫敦(The Greater London)的總人口數達到810萬;每年旅客人數約有3千7百萬,是歐洲最重要的觀光城市之一。

景點

倫敦眼 London Eye

倫敦眼位於泰唔士河畔國會大廈(House of Parliament ),與大笨鐘(Big Ben)相對望。它高達135公尺,是世界最高的懸臂式景觀摩天輪,俯瞰倫敦美景的熱門選擇之一,如果天氣好,還能遠眺40公里外的景色。

鄰近地鐵站 Waterloo Station   
營業時間
週一至週四、週日 10:00–21:30
(週五、六延長至凌晨12點)
票價 成人£26|兒童£21(每趟約30分鐘)

倫敦London:倫敦眼(London Eye)
倫敦London:大英博物館(British Museum)

大英博物館 British Museum

大英博物館於1753年創立,館藏展出超過2百萬年的人類歷史,在這裡可以看到來自不同文化及國家的展覽品。同時,它也是世界規模最大的博物館之一,豐富的展覽品中,包含古埃及的羅塞塔石碑(Rosetta Stone)、古希臘的埃爾金石雕(Elgin Marbles)和埃及木乃伊等。

鄰近地鐵站 Tottenham Court Road Station、Holborn Station、Russell Square Station、Goodge Street Station 

開放時間 10:00–17:30
週五晚間延長至 20:30 

票價 免費參觀(特展與語音導覽需付費)

倫敦塔 Tower of London

征服者威廉來到英格蘭後,建造了倫敦塔以保衛自己的勢力,倫敦塔距今已約有1千年的歷史。在這座英姿挺拔的白塔下,卻藏著許多殘暴與血淚的故事。它曾經是刑場、監獄,也曾作為皇家造幣廠、軍械庫,以及動物園。現在它是倫敦的地標、遊客朝聖景點,其中也有展出古代軍隊使用的兵器、歷任國王、女王價值連城的王冠等。

鄰近地鐵站 Tower Hill Station
開放時間
週二至週六 09:00-17:30
週日至週一 10:00-17:30
票價 成人£24.70|優惠票價 £19.30

倫敦London:Tower of London(倫敦塔)
倫敦London:伊莉莎白塔(Elizabeth Tower)對照圖

大笨鐘 Big Ben

大笨鐘位於國會大廈(House of Parliament)北側的伊莉莎白塔(Elizabeth Tower)。它的名字由來有兩種傳說,其中之一是以負責監督鐘鈴工程的Sir Benjamin Hall的小名來當作它的名字;還有一說,是19世紀時,人們引用英國重量拳擊冠軍班傑明考特Benjamin Caunt)的外號Big Ben來形容在各領域最重量級的人事物,後來人們也將這座位在國會大廈旁的鐘命名為Big Ben。從2017年8月開始,大笨鐘進入為期四年的維修保養工程,現在僅開放一面時鐘,預計2021年完成維修。

鄰近地鐵站 Westminster Station

倫敦塔橋 London Tower Bridge

倫敦塔橋建於1894年,為高塔橋,橋的構造分為上、下兩層,上層是人行道、下層為車道,為了不讓塔橋影響水陸交通,塔橋設計為可開啟式。當時,塔橋是為解決倫敦的交通問題而建,如今它也是知名景點,遊客可以參觀塔橋內部,展示內容包含塔橋的歷史、維多利亞時代(Victorian Era)的引擎室。現在,塔橋上層有空中玻璃步道,遊客可以從塔橋上一覽橋下風景。塔橋仍在運作,每年總計開啟約850次,想要一睹塔橋開啟的模樣,可事先上塔橋官網查詢時刻表。

鄰近地鐵站 Tower Hill Station
營業時間 09:30-17:00
票價 成人£9.8|兒童£4.2

倫敦London:倫敦塔橋(London Tower Bridge

活動

煙火節

布萊克希斯煙火(Blackheath fireworks),倫敦最大的煙火秀之一,每年吸引約8萬人共襄盛舉。免費入場。

地點 Blackheath, London
時間 每年11月

亞歷山德拉宮煙火節(Alexandra Palace Fireworks Festival),活動內容精彩豐富,結合德國啤酒節,以及馬戲表演。照片來源:活動官網

地點 Alexandra Palace
時間每年11月
票價 成人£12|11-15歲 £9.5|兒童£1

夏季限定,露天劇場

攝政公園(Regent’s Park)每年夏天舉行為期18週的露天劇場(Open Air Theatre),它是英國最古老的戶外劇場之一,始於1930年代。

鄰近地鐵站 Regent’s Park, Great Portland Street, Baker Street, Camden Town

地址 Regents Park London, NW1 4NU
票價資訊 每場票價不同,須至官網查詢和訂票
照片來源 Regent’s Park Open Air Theatre

倫敦聖誕節活動

聖誕節活動

每年聖誕節在海德公園舉辦的Winter Wonderland總是備受矚目,除了市集之外,還有表演與遊樂設施,非常熱鬧。

Hyde Park Winter Wonderland
時間 每年11月

Leicester Square Christmas Market
時間 每年11月

美食

印度料理 DISHOOM

伊朗式餐館曾在19 世紀掀起流行,是孟買的指標之一,在1950至1960年代達到巔峰,但隨著時間,這樣傳統的餐館已經不多見,因此創辦人以向舊時代的孟買美食致敬為概念,於2010 年在柯芬園(Covent Garden)開設第一家Dishoom 。如今,它是當紅的排隊名店,從早餐、咖哩、饢到米飯都深受饕客歡迎。

地址 倫敦共有5家分店
Shoreditch, King’s Cross, Carnaby, Covent Garden, Kensington

營業時間 各分店不同
訂位限制 早、午餐無人數限制|晚餐(17:45過後)僅接受6人以上團體訂位,座位僅保留15分鐘

法式小酒館 Côte Brasserie

Côte Brasserie於2007年在倫敦的溫布敦(Wimbledon)成立第一家店,以法國小酒館為概念,菜單依照季節性調整,甜點很受歡迎。

地址 Côte Brasserie在全英國約有60家分店,建議上官網查詢並預先訂位

營業時間 (每家分店時間可能不同)
週一至週五 8:00-23:00
週六9:00-23:00
週日9:00-22: 30

人氣貝果名店 Beigel Bake

Beigel Bake是紅磚巷(Brick Lane)的人氣名店,40年來始終立於不敗地位。每次在點餐時,聽到最多人點的是鹹牛肉口味(£3.7/個),另外推薦燻鮭魚(£1.40/個)、鮪魚(£1.10/個)和原味(£0.25個)。

地址 159 Brick Ln, London E1 6SB
營業時間 週日至週一,24小時營業(價格可能隨時間變動,請以現場為準)

倫敦London:日本料理Wasabi

平價日本料理

走在倫敦街頭,會發現有越來越多的亞洲料理進駐,其中日本料理就非常盛行,簡餐、定食、拉麵到燒烤通通都有。例如:Wasabi,有販售飯糰、味增湯、蓋飯、壽司等,價格約10英鎊以內,店內有少許座位;Eat TOKYO是來自日本的餐廳,2004年進駐英國,現在在倫敦已有多家分店,料理口味道地,有便當、丼飯、壽司與其他小食,每人用餐價格約在10至20英鎊之間,是適合與三五好友一同用餐、小酌的去處。

交通

巴士

在倫敦旅遊搭大眾運輸交通工具最方便,像是巴士和地鐵。倫敦交通局TfL(TRANSPORT FOR LONDON)規劃出5條休閒路線,方便遊客探索倫敦,分別是9號路線(皇室宮殿與博物館)、17號路線(歷史遺產與傳統酒吧)、22號路線(古董與藝術) 、35號路線(倫敦市集)和139號路線(經典地標)。

費用 1小時內,無限乘車次數,收費皆為£1.5|每日乘車,最高收費上限為£4.5

付費須知 倫敦巴士不接受現金,須使用交通卡(Oyster Card )或感應式信用卡(Contactless Payment Card)等。每次上車,不論該小時或當日消費金額是否達到上限,都要感應卡片。除英國本地信用卡,American Express (AMEX) 、MasterCard、Visa卡也可以使用。

地鐵

倫敦地鐵(Underground)建於1863年是全世界最早的地下鐵路,倫敦人叫它「the Tube」。第一條運行的路線是大都會線(Metropolitan line),全線僅6站,起(終)點為帕丁頓(Paddington)和法靈頓站(Farringdon Station)。如今,倫敦地鐵擴增至11條路線、270個站。根據TfL公佈的數據,每年載客量達13.7億,其中滑鐵盧車站(Waterloo Station)最繁忙,該站靠近熱門景點倫敦眼(London Eye)和大笨鐘(Big Ben),每年載客量有1億3千萬人。

倫敦地鐵是世界上最早的地鐵。Photo by Serina Su

筆記

地鐵裡的藝術

20世紀初起,倫敦地鐵開始與藝術家合作,牆面上、站內處處有驚喜,使這個陪伴眾多旅客的公共空間,充滿趣味。 圖片中的馬賽克磁磚藝術出自英國藝術家Eduardo Paolozzi之首,於1986年完成。

地鐵站 (圖片中) Tottenham Court Road

倫敦購物:質感手錶 Smart Turnout

英倫風紀念品推薦

創立於1999年的Smart Turnout以上衣、襪子起家,現在拓展至皮件、手錶等精品。線條與顏色的配搭為其最大特點,許多產品皆在英國製造,價格很親民。顧客可以自選錶帶,找到屬於自己的英倫風手錶,很具紀念意義。

店家地址:169 Piccadilly

最精彩的風景在牆上

倫敦的牆面很精彩!有多樣化的街頭藝術,在Brick Lane、Camden Town和Leake Street Tunnel等可以看見塗鴉藝術;在蘇荷區(Soho)別忘記抬頭找找牆上的七個「鼻子」,那是藝術家Rick Buckley創作的裝置藝術品;據說,至今還有不知道數量的「耳朵」隱身在柯芬園(Covent Garden)附近,也是出自同一名藝術家的創意!