In Newcastle, you can reach the beach by subway, with delicious seafood platters, beautiful castle ruins, and a marketplace for holidays. A perfect day trip to the northeast coast of England!

Newcastle Subway | Northeast England Coast Tour

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

inNewcastle/Newcastle(Newcastle), you can take the subway to visit the coastal town! In places where there is a subway in the UKLondon(London), Tyne & Wear and Glasgow, among which Tyne-Will is the second largest subway system in the UK.Newcastle Upon Tyne(Newcastle upon Tyne), Gateshead, South Tyneside, North Tyneside and Sunderland.

Tyne-Will Metro Road Map

There are two lines of yellow and green, a total of 60 stations, the green line leads to the airport, and there are many attractions on the yellow line. This article recommends the beautiful coastal town of Whitley Bay Beach and Tynemouth on the Yellow Line. At the end of the article, there is a brief introduction to other stations.

Fare reference Zone1: £1.5|Zone2: £2.40|All Zone: £3.10 (For details, please Tyne & Wear MetroOfficial website Inquire)

Beer, sea view, holiday holiday in England

Whitley Bay Beach can be played with Tynemouth. It is not uncommon to come to the beach to have the most landmark landmark lighthouse. St. Mary's Lighthouse, now a visitor centre with small museums and cafes. Whitley Bay is also famous for its nightlife. Many people like to spend time with their families and friends on the beach. Very British holiday style.

Whitley Bay Station – Tynemouth Station:The walking distance between the two stations is about 50 minutes, and the subway is only 2 stops, with sea views along the way. The climate in spring and summer is comfortable and suitable for this holiday; if entering the autumn and winter, the cold wind is getting stronger and stronger, so keep warm.

The perfect combination of beaches, castles and flea markets

Tynemouth is a popular tourist attraction in the north east of England. It is a lively weekend market from the MRT/Metro station and about 20 minutes walk to beautiful castles and golden beaches.

Located in the northern part of the River Tyne, Tynemouth is the mouth of the Tyne, where you can clearly overlook the River Tyne and the North Sea, so it has an important strategic position in history. After the Roman period, the Anglo-Saxons came to England to establish a monastery here in 633 AD. Looking back at the history of Tynemouth Castle and Priory, it is a story of two thousand years. There is a large meadow outside the castle with a vast landscape, and many tourists will sit here and have lunch.Recommended reading:England | 9 classic castles, from South to North

Opening hours See youEnglish HeritageOfficial website
Reference fare Adult £5.90|Child £3.50

In particular, the Tynemouth Market, which is located in the secondary registration site, was a railway station in 1882. After reconstruction, it was Victorian-style and connected to the subway station. There are handicrafts, second-hand good things and all kinds of food in the market. More than 150 stalls are located on both sides of the subway platform, which is a special scene. What's great is that it's a semi-open and roofed building that won't be disappointing here, whether it's windy or rainy!

Opening hours Every Saturday and Sunday, 9:00-15:30

Recommended food: Marshalls Fish and Chips

The decor of Marshall's is very simple. The foods sold are also very common at first glance, but they are the favorite of the locals! The French fries are soft and crisp, and the size of the fried fish is large, and the price is about 5 pounds. After finishing the beach, strolling through the market, and then eating a delicious fish and chips here, perfect!Recommended reading: National cuisine | 100 years of undefeated fish and chips

address 33 Front St, Tynemouth, North Shields NE30 4DZ

Food recommendation: Longsands Fish Kitchen

The menu changes according to the daily catch and catches. Once you enter the restaurant, you can smell the sea and the ingredients are fresh! The seafood platter is £24 per serving, and the oysters, mussels, and fish and chips are also delicious.

address 27 Front St, Tynemouth, North Shields NE30 4DZ

Tyne-Well MRT/Metro Raiders

© Figure / text copyright
Join Me Ltd.

Recommended Videos

More articles

Latest trip

Tynemouth, United Kingdom

在紐卡斯爾搭乘地鐵就能抵達海邊,有好吃超值的海鮮拼盤,以及美麗的城堡遺跡,假日則有市集。完美的英格蘭東北部海岸一日遊!

紐卡斯爾周邊|金黃色沙灘、城堡,海鮮拼盤千元有找

By JOIN ME

在紐卡斯爾(又譯新堡,Newcastle upon Tyne)搭地鐵去周邊的濱海小鎮十分便利,還能享受到超值(約千元台幣)的新鮮海鮮拼盤喔!

▍泰恩—威爾地鐵路線圖

英國有地鐵的地方包含倫敦(London)、泰恩威爾(Tyne&Wear)和格拉斯哥(Glasgow),泰恩威爾是英國第二大的地鐵系統,貫穿紐卡斯爾、蓋茨黑德(Gateshead)、南泰恩賽德(South Tyneside )、北泰恩賽德(North  Tyneside )和桑德蘭(Sunderland)等區域。

包含黃、綠兩條線、共有60個站,綠線通往機場,黃線上有許多景點。本篇文章要推薦黃線上的美麗濱海小鎮惠特利灣海灘(Whitley Bay Beach)與泰恩茅斯。文末有其他站的簡易介紹。

參考票價 Zone1: £1.5|Zone2: £2.40|All Zone: £3.10

▍啤酒、海景,英格蘭度假風

惠特利灣海灘與泰恩茅斯可以一起玩。不免俗的,來到海邊就有最具指標性的地標燈塔。聖瑪莉燈塔(St. Mary’s Lighthouse)現在是遊客中心,有小型博物館和咖啡廳。惠特利灣也以夜生活聞名,許多人喜愛與家人、三五好友在海邊小酌度過假期!

Whitley Bay站 – Tynemouth 站:兩站之間步行距離約50分鐘,搭地鐵僅2站,沿途都是海景。春夏的氣候舒適,適合到此度假;如進入秋冬,冷風越來越強,要注意保暖。

特別一提泰恩茅斯市集(Tynemouth Market),它位在二級登錄古蹟內,在1882年時是火車站,經重建後,呈現維多利雅式的建築風情,與地鐵站相連。市集內有手工藝品、二手好物和各式美食,超過150個攤位,分別座落在地鐵月台的兩邊,是一種特殊的景象。特別棒的是,它是半開放式並具有屋頂的建築,不論颳風或下雨天,來這裡都不會失望喔!

營業時間 每週六、日,9:00-15:30

▍海灘、城堡、跳蚤市集的完美結合

泰恩茅斯是英格蘭東北部很受歡迎的觀光景點,自地鐵站出來,就是熱鬧的週末市集,步行約20分鐘距離則能抵達美麗的城堡與金黃色的海灘。

泰恩茅斯位在泰恩河的北方,為泰恩河口,在此可以清楚俯瞰泰恩河與北海(North Sea),因此在歷史上具有重要的戰略性地位。羅馬時期之後,安格魯薩克遜人來到英格蘭,於西元633年在這裡建立修道院。回顧泰恩茅斯城堡與修道院(Tynemouth Castle and Priory)的歷史,那是長達2千年的故事。城堡外頭有一大片草地伴隨著遼闊風景,許多遊客會在這裡席地而坐、享用午餐。

參考票價 成人£5.90|兒童£3.50

▍炸魚薯條 Marshalls Fish and Chips

來到英國的濱海小鎮必吃炸魚薯條。Marshall’s的裝潢樸實,販售的食物乍看之下也很一般,但卻是當地人的最愛!薯條內軟外脆,炸魚份量大,價格大約在5英鎊左右。走完海灘、逛完市集,再到這裡吃一份道地的炸魚薯條,完美!

地址 33 Front St, Tynemouth, North Shields NE30 4DZ

▍海鮮拼盤 Longsands Fish Kitchen

菜單依照每日現捕漁獲而更改,一進餐廳彷彿就能聞到大海的味道,食材很新鮮!海鮮拼盤每份為24英鎊,生蠔、淡菜、炸魚薯條也都很美味。

地址 27 Front St, Tynemouth, North Shields NE30 4DZ

相關景點導覽:紐卡斯爾諾森伯蘭郡

© 圖/文版權
走起英國 JOIN ME

推薦閱讀

相關影音

你可能會喜歡...

英國泰恩茅斯