City Guide

© Copyright, all text and photos are not allowed to be reproduced without authorization.
If you want to cooperate, welcome to write to us.

Cardiff

Cardiff is the capital of Wales,Go shopping in the arcades of ancient buildings, admire the well-preserved castle, take a stroll in the harbour, and experience all kinds of music, movies, sports activities and food.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
History
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Trip planning

History

In 55 AD, The Romans discovered that the three river basins (River Taff, River Ely, and River Rhymney) around Cardiff benefited people's lives, trade, and military defense, so they established military camps here. In the 4th century AD, after the Romans withdrew from Britain, the Normans (The Normans) and the Vikings (The Vikings) also lived here.

In the 11th century, the Normans built Cardiff Castle from wood; in the 12th century, the Duke of Gloucester built the castle from stone. In the 15th century, Cardiff was destroyed by the Welsh army, and later in 1423 the Earl of Warwick rebuilt the city walls and castle.

During the Industrial Revolution,The Glamorganshire Canal was built so thatSteel raw materials can be delivered quickly,Later, the canal was also used to carry coal mines, so thatCardiff has become Europe's largest coal mine export port. With the booming economy, Cardiff was upgraded from town to city in 1905 and is now the capital of Wales.

Attractions

Cardiff Castle

The castle has gone through Roman Fort, Norman Keep until the modern Bute Family, with a total history of more than 2,000 years.

The castle shows the residence of the Bute family,The Roman Wall, The Norman Keep and Clock Tower; also visibleDuring World War II, the castle was used as a refuge tunnel (Wartime Shelters).

Opening hours March-October 9:00-18:00|November-February 9:00-17:00
Ticket fare Adult £13.5|5-12 year old child £9.50|Respect for old and student ticket £11.50
Check opening hours

Cardiff: Cardiff Castle (Cardiff Castle)
Cardiff: Cardiff Central Market (Cardiff Central Market).

Cardiff Market (Cardiff (Central) Market

Cardiff Market is a traditional Victorian indoor market with a history of over 100 years. Fresh vegetables and fruits, seafood, meat, various necessities and dim sum can be found in the season.

Opening hours Monday to Saturday 8:00-17:30

Cardiff Bay, Cardiff Bay

Cardiff Bay was an important port for coal mine exports in the world. Later, due to the decline of the coal industry, Cardiff Bay declined. In the past 10 years, the government has actively transformed Cardiff Bay, and now many restaurants and bars are stationed in it, which is very lively; among them, the well-known European Opera House Millennium Center (Wales Millennium Centre) Is also located here.

Cardiff Bay
Cardiff: Cardiff Arcades

Classic and fun, Arcades

The density of arcade shopping streets in the urban area is extremely high, with a total of seven, giving Cardiff the title of "City of Arcades".Royal Arcade, the first shopping street, began in 1858, and then combined with a modern shopping mall to form a large shopping mall, blending Edwardian, Victorian and modern architectural styles.There are different style shops in each arcade, such as restaurants, shops and hair salons, which is very interesting.

Look up and look at the clock on the street

There are clocks on many buildings in the city, and they often represent the age of the building. For example, before entering the Cardiff Market, there was a square clock with "Cardiff Market" written on both sides of the clock in English and local traditional languages. The bell already existed in 1910 and belonged to the old British jewellery store H.samuel; after a few years, the store moved to other locations, and the bell was retained as a new sign in the market.

Cardiff 1 day tour

The car journey from London to Cardiff is about 3 and a half hours, and the train ride is about 2 to 2.5 hours. The arcade shops in downtown Cardiff are ancient and elegant, and traditional cuisine is worth experiencing!

Activities

Gay Film Festival Iris Prize 2020

The Iris Prize LGBT+ Film Festival is one of the largest gay film festivals in the world in Cardiff. Since 2007, it has called for exhibitors from all over the world, including Hong Kong, Toronto, New York and London. Photo source:Iris Prize

location Charles Street, Churchill Way, etc.
time 2020/10/6-10/11
For details

Music Festival: Swn Festival

The Swn Festival was co-sponsored by John Rostron and DJ Huw Stephens of BBC Radio 1, with the theme of promoting the birth of new types of music, starting annually in 2007 with a three-day event. Photo source:Swn Festival

Event Location various city centre venues, The Great Hall, Tramshed Cardiff… etc.
Activity time 2020/10/16 – 10/18
Check details and fares

Experience! Rugby rugby

Every time you go to the rugby season, Cardiff becomes very lively!Because the home of the Wells team is in the city. Principality Stadium, also known asMillennium Stadium, the third largest stadium in the UK.Come to Cardiff during the season, let's see if there is a competition to experience the enthusiasm of the fans!

Cuisines

Cardiff: Welsh Cakes

Wells Muffins

Welsh Cakes are traditional local refreshments.The traditional method is to use slate baking, also commonly known as Bakestones. In Cardiff’s Central Market, there is a Welsh muffin specialty store, Cardiff Bakestones. The business is very good. Original flavors, lemons, and chocolates are all hot items.

Fresh the Baguette Bar

This popular sandwich shop is located at In the Royal Arcade, there will always be a queue in noon, not only because of itThe food is delicious, the price is close to the people, and it is loved by the local people.

Cardiff: Fresh the Baguette Bar

Transport

Cardiff: Cardiff Central Rail Station is located in the city

train

Cardiff Central Rail Station is conveniently located in the city.From londonIt takes about 2 hours and 15 minutes by train from Paddington Station.Trains are floating fares, it is recommended to use the train APP (Trainline) to inquire and book tickets.

Trip planning

Cardiff: Cardiff Central Rail Station is located in the city

Wales City Trip

Cardiff is the capital of Wales, and the main sights of the city are Cardiff Castle and the arcade shopping street. For those who like slow travel, it is recommended to arrange at least 1 to 2 days.

Tour Itinerary|Welsh, Shakespeare’s Birthplace, Fort Combe 5-Day Tour

Depart from London, enter the secret area of Wales, and take a deep tour! This itinerary includes Cardiff, the capital of Wales, Snowdonia National Park, and St Davis, the smallest city in the UK. Its cathedral is one of the most magnificent in the UK, and the beauty of Wales will definitely melt you. In addition, it will pass through Shakespeare's birthplace and the beautiful town of Fort Combe (South England).

Cotswolds, Cotswolds: Castle Combe

城市導覽

© 版權所有,所有文字、照片未經授權請勿轉載。
如欲合作,歡迎來信與我們聯繫。

卡地夫Cardiff

卡地夫為威爾斯(Wales)的首都,穿梭於古建築拱廊中購物,欣賞保存良好的城堡,在海港愜意漫步,體驗各種音樂、電影、體育活動與美食都讓人滿足。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
歷史
景點
活動
美食
交通
行程規劃

歷史

西元55年,羅馬人(The Romans)發現卡地夫周圍的三條河域(River Taff, River Ely, River Rhymney)利於人們生活、貿易及軍隊防守,因此在此建立軍營。西元4世紀,羅馬人退出不列顛後,諾曼人(The Normans)及維京人(The Vikings)也都曾在此生活。

11世紀,諾曼人以木頭為建材蓋了卡地夫城堡;12世紀,格洛斯特公爵(Duke of Gloucester)以石材修建了城堡。15世紀,卡地夫遭威爾斯軍隊摧毀,後來在1423年沃里克伯爵(Earl of Warwick)重建了城牆與城堡。

工業革命時期,建造了拉摩甘郡運河(Glamorganshire Canal),使鋼鐵原料能快速運送,後來也利用此運河載運煤礦,使卡地夫成為了歐洲第一大煤礦出口港。隨著經濟蓬勃發展,卡地夫於1905時年由城鎮升格為市,現在是威爾斯的首都。

景點

卡地夫城堡 Cardiff Castle

城堡歷經了羅馬軍營(Roman Fort)、諾曼碉堡(Norman Keep)直到近代的布特家族(Bute Family),總共超過2千年的歷史。

城堡展示布特家族的居所、羅馬城牆(The Roman Wall )、諾曼碉堡(The Norman Keep)與鐘樓(Clock Tower);亦能看見二次世界大戰時,城堡做為避難隧道(Wartime Shelters)的故事。

營業時間 3月-10月 9:00-18:00|11月-2月 9:00-17:00
門票票價 成人£13.5|5-12歲兒童£9.50|敬老與學生票 £11.50
查詢開放時間票價

卡地夫Cardiff:卡地夫城堡(Cardiff Castle)
卡地夫 Cardiff:卡地夫中央市場(Cardiff Central Market)

卡地夫市場 Cardiff (Central )Market

卡地夫市場是傳統的維多利亞式室內市場,超過百年歷史。當季新鮮蔬果、海鮮、肉類及各種生活必需品與點心美食都能找到。

開放時間 週一至週六 8:00-17:30

卡地夫灣 Cardiff Bay

卡地夫灣曾是世界煤礦出口的重要港口,後來因煤礦業的衰退,卡地夫灣跟著沒落。近10年,政府積極改造卡地夫灣,現在有許多餐廳、酒吧進駐,很熱鬧;其中歐洲著名的歌劇院威爾斯千禧中心(Wales Millennium Centre)也座落於此。

卡地夫 Cardiff:卡地夫灣(Cardiff Bay)
卡地夫Cardiff:拱廊商店街(Cardiff Arcades)

古典又好玩,拱廊商店街 Arcades

市區的拱廊商店街密度超高,總共有七座,使卡地夫擁有「拱廊商店街之都(City of Arcades)」的稱號。第ㄧ座商店街 Royal Arcade 始於1858年,而後與現代的購物商城結合形成大型的購物中心,融合愛德華式、維多利亞式和現代的建築風格。每一道拱廊中有不同風格商店,像是餐廳、小舖和髮廊等,很有意思。

抬頭看一眼,街道上的鐘

市區的許多建築物上都有鐘,它們經常能代表這個建築的年代。比如,在進入卡地夫市場前,有一個方形的鐘,鐘的兩面分別以英語和當地傳統語言寫著「卡地夫市場」。這座鐘在1910年時已經存在,屬於英國老牌珠寶店H.samuel;時隔多年,該店搬遷至其他地點,鐘則被保留下來,成為市場的新招牌。

卡地夫 Cardiff:卡地夫市場(Cardiff Market)Marchnad Caerdydd

卡地夫1日遊

從倫敦到卡地夫自駕車程約為3個半小時,搭乘火車約2至2.5小時。卡地夫市區的拱廊商店,古典雅緻,還有傳統美食值得體驗!

活動

虹膜獎電影節(Iris Prize)

同志電影節Iris Prize 2020

Iris Prize LGBT+ Film Festival是在卡地夫舉行、世界上規模最大的同志電影節之一,自2007年起,每年號召來自世界各地的夥伴參展,包含香港、多倫多、紐約和倫敦等。照片來源:Iris Prize

地點 Charles Street、Churchill Way…等
時間 2020/10/6-10/11(詳情請以官網為準

音樂節:Swn Festival

Swn音樂節是由John Rostron與BBC Radio 1的DJ Huw Stephens共同主辦,主旨為促進新類型音樂的誕生,從 2007開始每年舉行,活動為期3天。照片來源:Swn Festival

活動地點 various city centre venues、The Great Hall、Tramshed Cardiff …等
活動時間 2020/10/16 – 10/18(查詢詳情與票價

卡地夫 Cardiff:千禧球場(Principality Stadium)

體驗!英式橄欖球的瘋狂

每到英式橄欖球賽季,卡地夫就變得熱鬧無比!因為威爾斯代表隊的主場就在市區的 Principality Stadium,又稱為千禧球場(Millennium Stadium),它也是英國第三大的球場。球季時期來到卡地夫,不妨看看是否正有比賽,來體驗球迷的熱情!

美食

卡地夫 Cardiff:威爾斯鬆餅(Welsh Cakes)

威爾斯鬆餅

威爾斯鬆餅(Welsh  Cakes)是當地的傳統茶點,其傳統做法是使用石板烘烤,也被俗稱為 Bakestones。在卡地夫的中央市場中,有間威爾斯鬆餅專賣店 Cardiff Bakestones,生意很好,原味、檸檬、巧克力都是熱賣商品。

平價排隊美食 Fresh the Baguette Bar

這間人氣三明治專賣店位在 Royal Arcade 內,每到中午時間必出現排隊盛況,不只因為它料多味美,價格也親民,受當地民眾喜愛。

卡地夫 Cardiff:Fresh the Baguette Bar

交通

卡迪夫 Cardiff:中央火車站(Cardiff Central Rail Station)

火車

卡地夫中央火車站(Cardiff Central Rail Station)位在市區,交通方便。從倫敦帕丁頓車站(Paddington Station)搭乘火車前往,車程約2小時15分鐘。火車為浮動票價,推薦使用火車APP(Trainline)查詢、訂票。

行程規劃

卡迪夫 Cardiff:中央火車站(Cardiff Central Rail Station)

威爾斯城市旅行

卡地夫為威爾斯的首都,城市主要看點為卡地夫城堡與拱廊商店街。喜愛慢遊的遊客,建議至少安排1至2天的時間遊覽。

行程推薦|威爾斯、莎士比亞的出生地、科姆堡5日遊

由倫敦出發,走入威爾斯秘境,來趟深度旅遊吧!此行程包含威爾斯首都卡地夫、史諾多尼亞國家公園,以及英國最小城市聖戴維斯,其大教堂堪稱英國最雄偉之一,威爾斯美景絕對會融化你。此外,還將途經莎士比亞出生地與科茲窩美麗小鎮科姆堡(南英格蘭)。

科茲窩Cotswolds:科姆堡(Castle Combe)