City introduction

© Copyright, all text and photos are not allowed to be reproduced without authorization.
If you want to cooperate, welcome to write to us.

York

York is an important city in Northern England. Centennial tea houses, gorgeous buildings of York Minster, and story-filled but child-friendly butchery streets are all must-visit points.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Background
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

Background

York's historical origins go back to the Roman Empire. During the Roman Empire, York was the largest and most important Roman town and barracks in northern England. At that time, the Romans called York Eboracum, which may mean Yew. In the 3rd century AD, the Romans built stone walls and built bathhouses, showing their important status.

York's geographical position was conducive to trade. The Vikings established York as the capital of the new Viking kingdom. At that time, it was mainly made of iron, ceramics and wool. In 1066 AD, during the Normans' administration, trade and the textile industry prospered, and York became more and more prosperous.

In recent years, the government has actively promoted sightseeing in York. The well-preserved ancient city walls, medieval butcher streets and York Minster are all precious cultural heritages of York.

Attractions

York City Walls

From York Railway Station, you can see the York City Wall, which is surrounded by the city center. It has a total length of about 3.4 kilometers and has four main gates. It is one of the longest and most preserved walls in the UK. It takes about 2 hours to complete the journey.

The wall was first built by The Romans, and the Vikings invaded and added wooden fences to the walls. In the 13th and 14th centuries, the Normans changed the fence from wooden to stone, which is ours. Now see the wall.

York: York City Walls
York York: York Minster

York Minster

York Minster is considered one of the finest churches in Europe. The history dates back to the time of The Saxon in 627 AD; the current church is a Gothic building built by The Normans. The project lasted from 1220 to 1472 and lasted for more than 250 years. The largest church in the UK at the time. The medieval stained glass in the church is striking; if you climb the tower, you will have a view of the city at the highest point in the centre of York, and you will have to walk through 275 steps.

Opening hours
Monday to Saturday | 9:00-16:30
Sunday | 12:45-17:30

Ticket fare
Adult £11.50|Student £9
The price of the tower is £5 per person (limited to 8 years old)

Clifford's Tower

Clifford Tower is part of the remains of York Castle. It was first built by King William I to suppress the rebels in the north, and after two fires, it was finally rebuilt under the reign of King Henry III. If you can overlook the panoramic view of York from the top of the tower, you can see the importance of strategy.

Opening hours
November to March 10:00-16:00

Ticket fare
Adult £5.7|Student, Seniors £5.1|Children £3.4

Detailed opening hours and ticket fees, click here toOfficial websiteInquire

York: Clifford's Tower

Activities

Christmas event

After entering November, the whole Britain is filled with the atmosphere of the festival. There are also many related activities in York. What is different is that York continues the beauty of the Middle Ages. When the Christmas lights and food and wine vendors gather on the streets, the atmosphere Warm and retro. York is also known as the best city to experience the Christmas atmosphere.

York York Christmas

York Viking Festival

The history of York is closely related to the Virgin. York’s Viking Festival attracts tens of thousands of visitors each year to the York Grand Prix. The event is held every February and is the largest “pirate festival” in Europe. It is also a commemoration of the "JOLOBLOT" ceremony that the Vikings used to hold in February, sending away the traditional celebrations of winter and spring.

Cuisines

Yorkshire Pudding

Traditional cuisine with historical records since the 1700s. The outer layer of the Yorkshire pudding is crispy and soft inside, and is served in the Sunday Roast with gravy and grilled meat. The Yorkshire pudding was originally from North England, but there is no historical evidence to prove its relationship with Yorkshire.

Traditional cuisine Yorkshire pudding
York: Betty & #039; s Cafe Tea Rooms

Betty's Tea Room

Bettys Cafe Tea Room has been around for nearly a century. The founder is from Switzerland. He has a superb bread-making skills and came to Britain to start another chapter of his life. In 1919, he came to Harrogate, Yorkshire, and opened the first Betty Tea House. Betty's Tea House now has multiple branches.

Harrogate shop
1 Parliament Street, Harrogate, HG1 2QU
York City Store
6-8 St. Helen's Square, York YO1 8QP

Transport

York: York Station

train

From London King's Cross Station (King & #8217; s Cross Station) to York Railway Station, about 2 hours drive. From Edinburgh Waverley Station to York Railway Station, about 2.5 hours drive. Walk to Yorktown from York Railway Station, about 10 minutes away.

Tips & Tricks

Hey Harry Potter fans! Super like a street in a diagonal lane

The Shambles, named after the many meat shops on both sides of the street, is one of the most preserved Middle Century streets in the UK; it is also considered to be the corner of the movie "Harry Potter" ( Diagon Alley) is the source of inspiration. Is it like a place where magicians buy magic books and props? .

York: The Shambles

Next stop recommendation

選單

城市介紹

約克york

保存完好的城牆、街道與建築,使人彷彿漫步在中古世紀。來到約克,別錯過經典始的下午茶、華麗的約克大教堂,以及充滿故事又具童趣的肉鋪街!

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
背景
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

背景

約克的歷史起源可追溯回羅馬帝國時代(Roman Empire)。在羅馬帝國時期,約克為英格蘭北部最大、最重要的羅馬城鎮及軍營,當時羅馬人稱約克為Eboracum,此名稱可能意指紫杉。羅馬人於西元3世紀時,在此建石牆、蓋澡堂,顯示其繁榮與重要地位。

後來的撒克遜人(The Saxons)改稱約克為Eoforwick,被認為可能是指「野豬居住地(Wild boar settlement)」;西元866年,維京人(The Vikings)侵略北英格蘭及約克,改稱約克為Jorvik,意指是野豬小港灣(Wild boar creek)。約克的地理位置利於貿易,維京人立約克為新維京王國(new Viking kingdom)的首都。當時的人們主要從事製鐵、陶瓷及羊毛生產。

到了西元1066年,諾曼人(The Normans)統治英國,約克才擁有現在的名字York。此時的約克貿易發達,許多酒從歐洲進口到此,紡織業也同樣興盛。18世紀後,鄰近城市快速興起,使約克的經濟實力相形失色。

但,約克的人口仍不斷成長,加上近年政府積極推動觀光,使之仍保有其重要地位。保存完好的古城牆、中古世紀的肉鋪街以及約克大教堂,都是約克珍貴的文化遺產。

景點

約克城牆 York City Walls

從約克火車站出來就可以看到約克城牆,城牆包圍了市中心,總長約3.4公里,有4個主要城門,是全英國最長、保存最完整的城牆之一,走完全程約需2小時。

城牆最早由羅馬人(The Romans)興建,後來維京人(The Vikings)入侵,在城牆上加裝了木製柵欄;13、14世紀時,諾曼人將柵欄由木製改為石材,也就是我們現在看到的城牆。

約克York:約克大教堂(York Minster​)

約克大教堂 York Minster

約克大教堂被認為是歐洲最精緻的教堂之一。歷史可回溯至西元627年的撒克遜(The Saxon)時期;現在的教堂為哥德式建築,由諾曼人(The Normans)所建,工程自西元1220起至1472年止,歷經250多年,是當時英國最大的教堂。教堂內中世紀的彩繪玻璃之細緻,令人驚艷;如登上塔樓,你將在約克市中心的最高點一覽城市景色,登塔需走完275個階梯。

營業時間
週一至週六|9:00-16:30
週日|12:45-17:30

門票票價
成人 £11.50|學生 £9
登塔票價 每人£5(限8歲以上)

克里福特塔 Clifford’s Tower

克里福特塔是約克城堡(York Castle)遺跡的一部分。最早是由國王威廉一世(William I)為壓制北方反叛者而建造的,後來經歷了兩次大火,最後由國王亨利四世(Henry III)重建。如到塔頂可俯瞰約克全景,可見具戰略的重要性。

開放時間
11月至3月 10:00-16:00

門票票價
成人£5.7|學生、敬老£5.1|兒童£3.4

詳細開放時間與門票費用,點此至官網查詢

活動

2019 聖誕節活動

邁入11月後,整個英國都瀰漫著過節氣氛,在約克同樣有許多相關活動,不一樣的是,約克延續著中古世紀之美,當點亮聖誕燈飾、美食美酒攤販齊聚街頭時,那氣氛溫馨又復古。約克也被譽為是最適合體驗聖誕氛圍的城市。

活動時間 2019/11/14 – 12/22

約克York聖誕節

2020 約克維京節

約克的歷史與維京息息相關。約克的維京節,每年吸引上數萬名遊客前往約克共襄盛舉,活動在每年2月份舉行,是歐洲最盛大的「海盜節」。亦為紀念過去維京人習慣在2月舉行的「JOLOBLOT」儀式,送走寒冬、迎來春天的傳統慶祝活動。

活動時間 2020/02/15 – 02/23

美食

約克郡布丁

自1700年代開始有歷史記載的傳統美食。約克郡布丁的外層表皮薄脆、內部鬆軟,在英式料理週日烤肉(the Sunday Roast)中,與肉汁和烤肉搭配食用。約克郡布丁最早來自北英格蘭,但尚無史料證明其與約克郡的關係。

傳統美食約克郡布丁(Yorkshire pudding)。Photo by Serina Su

貝蒂茶屋

貝蒂茶屋(Bettys Cafe Tea Room)已經有將近百年歷史。創辦人來自瑞士,他擁有一手精湛的做麵包的手藝,來到英國打算開啓人生的另一篇章,於是在1919年於位在約克郡的哈羅蓋特(Harrogate)開了第一間貝蒂茶屋。現在貝蒂茶屋有多家分店。

哈羅蓋特店
1 Parliament Street, Harrogate, HG1 2QU
約克市區店
6-8 St. Helen’s Square, York YO1 8QP

交通

火車

從倫敦國王十字車站(King’s Cross  Station)出發至約克火車站,約2小時車程。從愛丁堡威瓦利車站(Edinburgh Waverley Station)出發至約克火車站,約2.5小時車程。自約克火車站步行至約克市區,約10 分鐘路程。

筆記

Hey 哈利波特迷!超像斜角巷的街道

肉鋪街(The Shambles),因街道兩旁有許多肉鋪店得名,為英國保存最完整的中古世紀街道之一;同時,它也被認為是電影「哈利波特」中斜角巷(Diagon Alley)的靈感來源。是不是很像片中魔法師們買魔法書和道具的地方呢?。

約克知名的肉舖街為電影版「哈利波特(Harry Potter)」的場景之一。

下一站推薦