Around London | 5 classic city towns, Cambridge, Oxford, Cotswolds, Bath and Rye

Share on facebook
Share on google
Share on twitter
Share on email
Share on whatsapp

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

In the spring and summer, the streets of Britain are getting more and more lively, and it is the season of tourism! If you start playing in London, don't miss out on nearby cities like Oxford, Cambridge, Bath and Cotswolds. Each has its own character and is not too far from London by car.

Cambridge

When you come here, the first one you might think of first is Cambridge University. The popularity of the university does not need to be repeated. Historical figures such as: physicists Isaac Newton, Charles Darwin, Steven Hocken and Xu Zhimo are alumni. Cambridge is a university town with a long history. The whole city has a strong sense of book, but there is no sense of distance. Walking along the River Cam, the scenery along the way, especially when a boat rafts across the river, the picture looks like a filter, leisurely.

King's Colledge and Trinity Colledge are two highlights of many manpower recommendations. King's College was founded in 1441 by the King Henry VI of England. Among them, the King's College Chapel is considered to be one of the most beautiful and majestic chapels in the Cambridge University School. Its delicate glass decoration, stone walls and wood carvings are amazing. In his later years, Henry VIII founded Trinity College, which is regarded as one of the most financially renowned and reputable colleges in Cambridge. There is an apple tree at the entrance of Trinity College, which symbolizes the spirit of the school alumnus Newton. The tree was transplanted from Newton's hometown of Lincolnshire, not the apple tree "Deity" of Newton at the time.

Oxford

Oxford is the oldest university in the English system and the world's top university. According to its official website information, the history of the school can be traced back to 1096, when some people began to teach here; and in 1167, Henry II banned English students from studying at the University of Paris, so many English students returned to England to study here. This is also considered to be the predecessor of the establishment of Oxford University.

Looking back, Oxford was a highly regarded area as early as the Anglo-Saxon period. It is located in the heart of the Saxon kingdom at the time between the Kingdom of Mercia and the Kingdom of Wessex. It is also the gateway to the River Thames and the River Cherwell. Its strategic location makes it It was already a small town. In the 11th century, The Normans built a castle in Oxford to make its strategic position even more important.

There are many impressive buildings, such as the Radcliffe Camera, which is one of the representatives of the Palladian architecture.This beautiful building is located in the city center. The passing people will not be able to bear to see it. The proportion is perfect and harmonious, and the pier is decorated with arch vouchers. For the library, the shape is extraordinarily gorgeous.During the Renaissance, the dome-shaped buildings were once popular, paying attention to the spirit of decoration and symmetry, and also influenced the later architectural style.The Radcliffe Library is one of them.. This library is open only to students and scholars. If you want to visit, you need to sign up for a guided tour.

Another focus is The Bridge of the Sighs. Officially known as the Hertford Bridge, it was built in 1914 and is located opposite the entrance to the Bodley Library. It is connected to both sides of the University of Hertford College in Oxford. Famous for its sigh bridge in Venice.

Cotswolds

The Coswo area covers a wide range of approximately 800 square miles and includes Gloucestershire, Oxfordshire, Warwickshire, Wiltshire and Worcestershire. (Worcestershire). The biggest attraction here is the lovely towns, the rolling hills and the beautiful countryside. In addition, the country's bar will always be the focus of the visit, to the relaxed Cozy Wowo, if you are tired, remember to go to the bar to fill your stomach, drink a cup, so comfortable!

In recent years, the beauty of Kozwo has attracted many overseas tourists. Even the Telegraph has reported this phenomenon, and quoted the poet Lin Yutang as saying "the ideal life of the world Datong" when talking about the ideal life in mind. It is living in the English countryside. The house is equipped with American water and gas pipes, a Chinese cook, a Japanese wife, and a French lover. To describe the embarrassing and desirable side of the English countryside.

Bibury is hailed as the most beautiful English town by artist William Morris. The most famous building here is the Arlington Row, built in 1380. The townhouses used to be wool stores. After the 17th century, they were weaving huts. They are now private houses, and some houses also provide accommodation for tourists. Burton-on-the-water is also known as the Venice of Cozwo. The small stone bridge sets off a beautiful river view, and people will take a walk, picnic and enjoy leisure time.[Extended reading]Cozwo | The most beautiful town in England, Bibury, the waters of Burton, such as Little Venice

Bath

Located in the southwest of England, Bath has been a popular spa town since the George era and is now a world-famous tourist city. Bath has a long history and its Georgian architecture is well preserved and was listed as a World Heritage Site by the UNESCO World Heritage in 1987. Every year, the Jane Austen Festival and the Christmas Market attract a large number of tourists.

When you come to Bath, you must not miss the Roman Baths, which were founded by the Romans around 70 AD and are one of the best preserved Roman remains in the world. The museum combines museums to showcase the antiquities and ruins of the time. Visitors can experience the Roman life of 2,000 years ago. After the visit, there is hot spring water near the exit for visitors to drink, which contains 43 kinds of minerals. At that time, people believed that the water had health care functions for the human body. As for the flavor of the water, it’s a matter of opinion!

Bath Abbey, built next to the Roman Baths, was built in the seventh century and is another highlight of Bath. Its most intriguing design is the "ladders of Angels" at the two ends of the west side, which is said to have been inspired by the bishop's dream of angel climbing stairs. In addition, the Jane Austen Memorial Hall is also located in Bath, and fans should not miss it!

By the way, many people like to visit Stonehenge, which is not far away before visiting Bath. The mysterious mystery of Stonehenge has been 5,000 years old and remains the focus of geological and archaeologist research. At the end of February 2019, British scholars published a report that the stone was from Wales, but how was the boulder carried 180 miles away at the time, what the purpose of this move is still unanswered .

Rye Rye

Perhaps it is because the surrounding city attracts too many tourists, and the beautiful town of Ley has become a "hidden" attraction. Ley is an ancient city in the Middle Ages. It has a small range. However, it has a unique charm. You are absolutely reluctant to glimpse its style, antique mermaid, traditional bar, and independent small shops. The beauty of Ley was fascinated by Queen Elizabeth I. According to the official website of the Rye Castle Museum, the Queen gave the title of "Rye Royale" after visiting Ley in 1572.

In the past, Ley was an important port in England. The fishing, shipbuilding, forestry, and textile industries all depended on it. They also shouldered the heavy responsibility of building ships for the Navy, and their status cannot be ignored. Because of this, Ley was repeatedly attacked by enemies. The most serious one was the French invasion in 1377. A ruthless fire burned many wooden houses, and St Mary's Church suffered even. The oldest clock in England and in England was also stolen. Later, the locals formed an alliance with the nearby Winchelsea, went to France to revenge in Normandy, and finally regained the church bell!

From the ancient city of Rome to the highest school, from the most beautiful villages to the once prosperous port, these beautiful and wonderful places are like the old stories of South England. If time is enough, it is better to arrange it one by one!

© Figure / text copyright
Walking up JOIN ME British road trip

Recommended Videos

More articles

Leave a comment

倫敦周邊|5經典城市小鎮,劍橋、牛津、科茲窩、巴斯與萊伊

分享在 facebook
分享在 google
分享在 twitter
分享在 email
分享在 whatsapp

By Dan Chen, Serina Su

春夏時分,英國的街頭越來越熱鬧,又是旅遊的季節呀!如果從倫敦開始玩,千萬別錯過其鄰近的城市,像是牛津(Oxford)、劍橋(Cambridge)、巴斯(Bath)與科茲窩地區(Costwolds)等。每一個都各有特色,且距離倫敦的車程不太遠,亦可以一日遊。

劍橋 Cambridge

來到這裡,第一個會先聯想到的可能是劍橋大學。大學的知名度不用再贅述,歷史上各界名人,如:物理學家艾薩克∙牛頓、查爾斯∙達爾文、史蒂芬∙霍金與徐志摩都是校友。劍橋是歷史悠久的大學城,整個城市都有濃濃的書卷味,卻不覺有距離感。沿著康河(River Cam)走,沿途景色如畫,尤其當撐篙船一艘艘划過河面時,畫面更彷彿像套上了濾鏡般,悠然。

國王學院(King’s Colledge)與三一學院(Trinity Colledge)是許多人力薦的兩大看點。國王學院建於1441年,由英格蘭國王亨利六世(Henry VI)設立。其中,國王學院禮拜堂在劍橋大學眾學院中,被認為是最漂亮、雄偉的禮拜堂之一,其細膩的玻璃裝飾、石牆和木雕,都讓人驚艷。亨利八世晚年於此成立三一學院,它被視為是劍橋各學院中,財力最雄厚、名聲最響亮的學院之一。三一學院門口有棵蘋果樹,象徵著學院校友牛頓的精神。這棵樹是自牛頓的家鄉林肯郡(Lincolnshire)移植而來,而非當時砸中牛頓的蘋果樹「本尊」。

牛津 Oxford

牛津大學為英語體系中最古老的大學,也是世界頂尖的學府。根據其官網資訊指出,學校的歷史可回溯至1096年,當時已經開始有人在此授課;而1167年,亨利二世禁止英格蘭的學生在巴黎大學就讀,使許多英格蘭學生回到英格蘭、在此求學,這也被認為是牛津大學成立的前身。

回顧過去,牛津早在盎格魯薩克遜(Anglo-Saxon)時期就是備受重視的地帶。它位處當時薩克遜王國的中心地帶,位於Mercia王國與Wessex王國之間,也是泰晤士河(River Thames)與謝韋爾河(River Cherwell)的流經處,關鍵的地理位置,使之在當時已是規模不小的城鎮。而11世紀時,諾曼人(The Normans)在牛津建造城堡,使其戰略地位更加重要。

這裡有許多讓人印象深刻的建築,像是拉德克利夫圖書館(Radcliffe Camera),它是帕拉第奧式建築(Palladian architecture)的代表之一。這座美麗的建築座落在市中心,經過的人一定會忍不住多看它幾眼,它的比例完美和諧、橋墩上還以拱券裝飾,就圖書館來說,造型格外華麗。文藝復興時期,穹頂造型的建築曾掀起流行,重視裝飾與對稱的精神,也影響了後來的建築風格,拉德克利夫圖書館就是其中之一。此圖書館只開放學生及學者入內,遊客如欲參觀,需報名導覽行程。

另一個焦點是嘆息橋(The Bridge of the Sighs)。其正式名稱為赫特福德橋(Hertford Bridge),於1914年建成,位於博德利圖書館入口處的對面,主要連接牛津大學赫特福德學院(Hertford College)兩側,因設計類似義大利威尼斯的嘆息橋而聞名。

科茲窩 Cotswolds

科茲窩地區涵蓋的範圍非常廣,約有8百平方英里,包含格洛斯特郡(Gloucestershire)、 牛津郡(Oxfordshire)、華威郡(Warwickshire)、威爾特郡(Wiltshire)與伍斯特郡(Worcestershire)。這裡的最大看點就是可愛小鎮們,還有綿延起伏的丘陵和美麗的鄉村風情。另外,鄉村的酒吧永遠是必訪重點,來到讓人備感放鬆的科茲窩,如果逛累了,記得要去酒吧填飽肚子、喝一杯,好愜意!

近年,科茲窩的美景吸引許多海外遊客前來,就連每日電訊報(Telegraph)都曾報導此現象,並引用詩人林語堂在談及心目中的理想生活時,以「世界大同的理想生活就是住在英國的鄉村,屋子裡安裝有美國的水電煤氣管子,有個中國廚子,有個日本太太,再有個法國的情人」為描述,點出英國鄉村令人憧憬又嚮往的一面。

拜伯里(Bibury)被藝術家威廉·莫里斯(William Morris)譽為最美的英格蘭小鎮。此處最有名的建築為建於1380年的阿靈頓路排屋(Arlington Row)。排屋從前為羊毛商店,17世紀後為織布小屋,現是民宅,部分房屋亦有提供旅客住宿。水上伯頓(Burton-on-the-water)又被稱為科茲窩的威尼斯,小石橋襯托出美麗河景,人們則會在河畔散步、野餐,享受悠閒時光。【延伸閱讀】科茲窩|英格蘭最美小鎮拜伯里、水上伯頓景色如小威尼斯

巴斯 Bath

巴斯位於英格蘭西南部,自喬治時期起就是熱門的溫泉小鎮,如今為世界知名的觀光城市。巴斯的歷史悠久,其喬治式建築保存良好,在1987年被聯合國世界文化遺產組織(UNESCO World Heritage)列為世界文化遺產。每年的珍•奧斯汀節與聖誕市集,都會吸引大批遊客前來同樂。

來到巴斯,一定不能錯過羅馬浴場(Roman Baths),羅馬浴場約在西元70年由羅馬人建立,是全世界保存最好的羅馬遺跡之一。浴場內結合博物館展出當時的古物及遺跡,遊客在此可以體驗2千年前羅馬時代生活。參觀結束後,在靠近出口處有溫泉水供遊客自取飲用,其內含43種礦物質,當時的人們相信,此水對人體具保健功能。至於水的風味如何,就見仁見智啦!

羅馬浴場旁的巴斯修道院(Bath Abbey)建於西元七世紀,也是巴斯的另一重頭戲。其最為人津津樂道的設計是位於西側兩端的「天使的階梯(the ladders of Angels)」,據傳這是當時受到巴斯主教夢到天使攀爬階梯的靈感而來的設計。此外,珍•奧斯汀紀念館也位於巴斯,書迷不要錯過囉!

順帶一提,許多人喜歡在遊覽巴斯前,先到不遠的巨石陣(Stonehenge)參觀。巨石陣的神秘疑團至今已經5千年,仍是地質學與考古學家研究的重點。2019年2月底,英國學者發表了一篇報告,表示這裡的石頭是來自威爾士(Wales),但究竟當時是如何將這群巨石搬運到180英里之外,究竟此舉目的為何,仍未有解答。

萊伊 Rye

或許是因為周遭的城市吸引太多遊客目光,美麗的萊伊小鎮反而變了「隱藏」景點。萊伊是中世紀的古城,範圍不大,但,它就是有獨特的魅力,你絕對捨不得就這樣匆匆一撇它的風采,古色古香的美人魚、特色傳統酒吧,特色獨立小店鋪。萊伊的美,連伊麗莎白女王一世也著迷。根據萊伊城堡博物館官網資料指出,女王曾在1572年造訪萊伊後,賜封它「Rye Royale」的頭銜。

在過去,萊伊是英格蘭重要的港口,漁業、造船業、林木業、紡織業全仰賴它,其也肩負為海軍造船的重任,地位不容忽視。卻因為如此,萊伊一再遭受敵人攻擊,最嚴重的一次,是法國人於1377年的入侵,一把無情的火,將許多木造房子全燒毀,聖瑪麗教堂(St Mary’s Church)也遭殃,甚至教堂內、英格蘭最古老的鐘也被偷走。後來,當地人與鄰近的溫奇爾西(Winchelsea)結盟,前往法國諾曼第(Normandy)復仇成功,並終於奪回教堂的鐘!

從羅馬古城到最高學府,從最美的鄉村科,到曾繁榮一時的港口,走完這些美麗又精彩的地方,就好像一覽了南英格蘭的老故事般精彩。如果時間足夠,不如一一地安排至行程裡吧!

© 圖/文版權
走起  JOIN ME 英國公路旅行

推薦影音

更多文章

Leave a comment