Travel guide

Cardiff

Cardiff is the capital of Wales, one of the most popular tourist cities in the UK, attracting around 20 million visitors every year. Here, canEnjoy shopping in the arcades of ancient buildings, enjoy the well-preserved castles, stroll around the harbour, enjoy food, and enjoy a variety of music, movies, sports and food.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
History
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

History

In 55 AD, The Romans discovered three rivers around Cardiff, River Taff, River Ely, and River Rhymney, which benefited people's lives, trade, and military defense. About 350 years after the Romans withdrew from Britain, the Normans and The Vikings left their footprints here.

In the 11th century, the Normans built the Cardiff Castle with wood as the building material; in the 12th century, the Duke of Gloucester rebuilt the castle with stone. In the 15th century, Cardiff was destroyed by the Welsh army, and in 1423 the Earl of Warwick rebuilt the walls and castles.

During the industrial revolution, the Glamorganshire Canal was built to facilitate the rapid transportation of steel materials at the time. Later, the canal was used to carry coal mines. Cardiff became the largest export port of coal mines in Europe at that time. The economy flourished and was upgraded from town to city in 1905. Today Cardiff is also the capital of Wales.

Cardiff's naming has two kinds of sayings, one of which is derived from the ancient Wells Caerdydd, the "Caer" of the Welsh refers to the military camp or the castle, and the "Dydd" refers to the Day in modern Wells. However, some people think that "Dydd" is a variant of Taff (Taff is the name of the river next to Cardiff Castle). The two words are combined to refer to the military camp on the River Taff.

Attractions

Cardiff Castle

Cardiff Castle is a famous landmark in Wales. The castle has gone through the Roman Fort, Norman Keep until the modern Bute Family, with a total of more than 2,000 years of history.

The castle displays the residence of the Bout family, the refuge tunnel during World War I (Wartime Shelters, Cardiff Castle became a refuge during World War II), The Roman Wall, The Norman Keep ) Clock Tower.

Opening hours March-October 9:00-18:00|November-February 9:00-17:00
Ticket fare Adult £13|Children £9.25|Respect for the old £11.30 (If you need to visit the clock tower, you need to buy another ticket, the bell tower price is £4.5)

Cardiff Cardiff: Cardiff Castle

Cardiff Market (Cardiff (Central) Market

The Cardiff Market is a traditional Victorian indoor market with over a hundred years of history. Internal sales of fresh fruits and vegetables, seafood, meat and all kinds of necessities, as well as the sale of snacks.

Opening hours Monday to Saturday 8:00-17:30

Cardiff Bay, Cardiff Bay

Cardiff Bay was once an important port for the export of coal mines in the world. Later, due to the decline of the coal industry, Cardiff Bay followed. In the past ten years, the government has actively transformed Cardiff Bay. Now there are many restaurants and bars; among them, the famous European opera house. - Wells Millennium Centre (Wales Millennium Centre) is also located here. Today, Cardiff Bay is a must-visit for visitors from all over the world.

Cardiff Bay © Walking JOIN ME UK Road Trip

Cardiff, have a good time to eat and drink.

The journey from London to Cardiff is about three and a half hours by car and about 2 to 2.5 hours by train. The arcade shop in the city of Cardiff, the ancient elegance makes people unforgettable, traditional food you must experience!

Activities

Gay Film Festival Iris Prize 2019

Iris Prize LGBT+ Film FestivalIt is one of the largest gay film festivals in the world in Cardiff. Since 2007, it has called for exhibitors from all over the world, including Hong Kong, Toronto, New York and London.Photo source:Iris Prize official website

location Charles Street, Churchill Way, etc.
time
2019/10/8-10/13
Tickets, program schedules and detailed locations, etc.For more information, please go toIris Prize official websiteInquire

music Festival:Swn Festival

Swn Music Festival is made up ofJohn Rostron andCo-hosted by DJ Huw Stephens of BBC Radio 1To promote the birth of new types of music, from The year 2007 begins and the event lasts for 4 days.Photo source:Swn FestivalOfficial website 

location 
Various city centre venues,The Great Hall, Tramshed Cardiff, etc.
time 2019/10/18 – 10/20
Ticket Tickets must be purchased, please check the fare to Swn FestivaOfficial website

Experience! Rugby rugby

Every time you go to the rugby season, Cardiff becomes very lively!Because the home of the Wells team is in the city.Principality Stadium, also known asMillennium Stadium, the third largest stadium in the UK.Come to Cardiff during the season, let's see if there is a competition to experience the enthusiasm of the fans!

Cuisines

Glamorgan Sausage

Glamorgan Sausage is a traditional food of Wells. It is a vegetarian sausage with cream, cheese and cheese.Leek (also known as scallion or scallion Leeks). Green onions are also a famous product of Wells.Glamorgan sausageThe appearance, taste and taste are similar to Taiwan's local snacks "Dragon and Phoenix Legs".

Welsh Cakes is a traditional refreshment. Photo by Serina © Walking up the JOIN ME UK road trip

Wells Muffins

Welsh Cakes are local traditional refreshments with a variety of flavors. In the central market of Cardiff, there is a Wells Muffin store.Cardiff Bakestones, business is good,Lemon, chocolate and other flavors are hot items, and the original taste is also delicious. "Bakestones is the nickname for this dessert because the traditional practice is to use slate baking.

Wells cheese bread

Walsh Welsh Rarebit/Welsh rabbit is a salty point, and the rich cheese melts over the toast, making it easy to see the appetite. Many literatures have pointed out that this food has been recorded since 1725 and is a long-established British cuisine. Although commonly known as Welsh Rabbit, the content has nothing to do with rabbits.

Welsh Rarebit

Transport

Cardiff: Cardiff Central Rail Station is located in the city

train

Cardiff Central Rail Station is conveniently located in the city.FromLondonIt takes about 2 hours and 15 minutes by train from Paddington Station.

Tips & Tricks

Look up and look at the clock on the street

In the urban area of Cardiff, there are clocks on many buildings that represent the age of the building, and there are also small stories.For example, before entering the Cardiff market, there is a square clock, written on both sides in English and local traditional languages.Cardiff market."This clock existed in 1910, when it belonged to the British old jewelry store H.samuel, the store has been relocated to other locations, and the clock has been retained to become a new sign in the market.

Arcade shopping street. Cardiff is also known as the City of Arcades. Photo by Serina

Classical and funofArcade shopping street

There are many arcade shopping streets in the city, because of its super-high density, Cardiff has the title of "City of Arcades".The first indoor arcade shopping street began in 1858 and was later combined with a modern shopping mall to form a large shopping mall that blends Edwardian, Victorian and modern architecture.The entrance to the arcade shopping street is sandwiched in the shops of the shopping street. There are different styles of shops in each arcade, such as restaurants, small shops and hair salons. It is very interesting.

Recommended trip

旅遊導覽

卡地夫Cardiff

卡地夫為威爾斯(Wales)的首都,英國最受歡迎的觀光城市之一,每年吸引約2千萬名遊客造訪。在這裡,能夠享受穿梭於古建築拱廊中購物的樂趣、欣賞保存良好的城堡,並在海港愜意漫步、享受美食,還有各種音樂、電影、運動與美食的活動。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
歷史
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

歷史

西元55年,羅馬人(The Romans)發現卡地夫周圍的三條河域,River Taff、River Ely、River Rhymney ,有利於人們生活、貿易及軍隊防守,而在此建立軍營。約於西元350年,羅馬人退出不列顛後,諾曼人(The Normans)及維京人(The Vikings)都曾在此留下足跡。

11世紀時,諾曼人以木頭為建材在此蓋了卡地夫城堡;12世紀時,格洛斯特公爵(Duke of Gloucester)又以石材重新修建了城堡。15世紀,卡地夫被威爾斯軍隊摧毀,後來在1423年沃里克伯爵(Earl of Warwick)重建了城牆以及城堡。

工業革命時期,為便於當時的鋼鐵原料快速運送,建造了拉摩甘郡運河(Glamorganshire Canal)。後來也利用此運河載運煤礦,卡地夫更成為當時在歐洲的第一大煤礦出口港,經濟蓬勃發展,於1905年由城鎮升格為市。現今卡地夫也是威爾斯的首都。

卡地夫的命名有兩種說法,其中一種是源自古威爾斯語Caerdydd,威爾斯語的「Caer」指的是軍營或城堡,「Dydd」在現代威爾斯語指的是Day,但有些人認為「Dydd」為Taff變體(Taff是在卡地夫城堡旁的河流名),兩個字綜合起來指的就是在River Taff上的軍營。

景點

卡地夫城堡 Cardiff Castle

卡地夫城堡是威爾斯著名地標。城堡歷經了羅馬軍營(Roman Fort)、諾曼碉堡(Norman Keep)直到近代的布特家族(Bute Family),總共超過2千年的歷史。

城堡內展示布特家族的居所、世界大戰時的避難隧道(Wartime Shelters,二次世界大戰時,卡地夫城堡成了避難所)、羅馬城牆(The Roman Wall )、諾曼碉堡(The Norman Keep)鐘樓(Clock Tower)。

營業時間 3月-10月 9:00-18:00|11月-2月 9:00-17:00
門票票價 成人£13|兒童£9.25|敬老£11.30(如需參觀鐘樓需另外買票,鐘樓票價£4.5)

卡迪夫Cardiff:卡迪夫城堡(Cardiff Castle)

卡地夫市場 Cardiff (Central )Market

卡地夫市場是傳統的維多利亞式室內市場,超過百年歷史。內部販賣當令新鮮蔬果、海鮮、肉及各種生活必需品,也有販售點心美食。

開放時間 週一至週六 8:00-17:30

卡地夫灣 Cardiff Bay

卡地夫灣從前是世界煤礦出口的重要港口,後來因煤礦業的衰退,卡地夫灣跟著沒落。近十年,政府積極改造卡地夫灣,現在這裡有許多餐廳、酒吧;其中歐洲著名的歌劇院威爾斯千禧中心(Wales Millennium Centre)也座落於此。如今,卡地夫灣是各國旅客到此的必訪之地。

卡迪夫灣 © 走起 JOIN ME 英國公路旅行

卡地夫,吃飽喝足逛得超開心

從倫敦到卡地夫自駕車程約為3個半小時,搭乘火車約2至2.5小時。卡地夫市區的拱廊商店,古典雅緻讓人難忘,傳統美食你一定要體驗!

活動

同志電影節Iris Prize 2019

Iris Prize LGBT+ Film Festival是在卡地夫舉行、世界上規模最大的同志電影節之一,自2007年起,每年號召來自世界各地的夥伴參展,包含香港、多倫多、紐約和倫敦等。照片來源:Iris Prize官網

地點 Charles Street、Churchill Way…等
時間
2019/10/8-10/13
票價、節目表與詳細地點等,更多資訊請至Iris Prize官網查詢

音樂節:Swn Festival

Swn音樂節是由John Rostron與BBC Radio 1的DJ Huw Stephens共同主辦,主旨為促進新類型音樂的誕生,從 2007開始每年舉行,活動為期4天。照片來源:Swn Festival官網 

地點 
various city centre venues、The Great Hall、Tramshed Cardiff …等
時間 2019/10/18 – 10/20
門票 須購票,查詢票價請至 Swn Festiva官網

體驗!英式橄欖球的瘋狂

每到英式橄欖球賽季,卡地夫就變得熱鬧無比!因為威爾斯代表隊的主場就在市區的Principality Stadium,又稱為千禧球場(Millennium Stadium),它也是英國第三大的球場。球季時期來到卡地夫,不妨看看是否正有比賽,來體驗球迷的熱情!

美食

格拉摩根香腸(素)

格拉摩根香腸(Glamorgan Sausage)是威爾斯的傳統食物,是一種素香腸,配方中含奶油、起司和韭蔥(又稱大蔥或京蔥Leeks)。大蔥也是威爾斯的名產。格拉摩根香腸的外型、口感和味道,都有些類似臺灣的地方小吃「龍鳳腿」。

威爾斯鬆餅(Welsh Cakes)是一種傳統茶點。 Photo by Serina © 走起 JOIN ME 英國公路旅行

威爾斯鬆餅

威爾斯鬆餅(Welsh  Cakes)是當地的傳統茶點,有多種口味。在卡地夫的中央市場中,有家威爾斯鬆餅專賣店舖Cardiff Bakestones,生意很好,檸檬、巧克力等口味都是熱賣商品,原味也好吃。「Bakestones」是這款甜點的暱稱,因為傳統做法是使用石板烘烤。

威爾斯乾酪麵包

威爾斯乾酪麵包(Walsh Welsh Rarebit/Welsh rabbit)是一種鹹點,濃郁的起司融化在吐司上頭,讓人光用看的就食慾大開。許多文獻指出,這款美食早在西元1725年就已有記載,是歷史悠久的英式料理。雖然俗稱為Welsh rabbit,但內容物與兔子(rabbit)無關。

威爾士乾略麵包(Welsh Rarebit)

交通

卡迪夫Cardiff:中央火車站(Cardiff Central Rail Station)位在市區

火車

卡地夫中央火車站(Cardiff Central Rail Station)位在市區,交通方便。倫敦帕丁頓車站(Paddington Station)搭乘火車前往,車程約2小時15分鐘。

筆記

抬頭看一眼,街道上的鐘

在卡地夫的市區,許多建築物上都有鐘,它們能代表這個建築的年代,其中也有小故事。比如,在進入卡地夫市場前,有一個方形的鐘,鐘的兩面分別以英語和當地傳統語言寫著「卡地夫市場」。這座鐘在1910年時就已經存在,當時屬於英國老牌珠寶店H.samuel,該店已經搬遷至其他地點,鐘則被保留下來,成為市場的新招牌。

拱廊商店街。卡迪夫又被稱為City of Arcades。Photo by Serina

古典又好玩拱廊商店街

在市區有許多拱廊商店街,因為它的超高度密度,使卡地夫擁有「City of Arcades」的稱號。第一個室內拱廊商店街始於1858年,而後與現代的購物商城結合,形成一個大型的購物中心,融合愛德華式、維多利亞式和現代的建築風格,十分特別。拱廊商店街的入口,就夾在購物大街的商店中,每一道拱廊中有不同風格商店,像是餐廳、小舖和髮廊等,挺有意思。

推薦行程