Menu

City Guide

Newcastle Upon Tyne

Newcastle is also translated as Newcastle and Newcastle. It is located in the northeast of England and is the seventh largest city in the UK. It was the center of wool trade and coal mining in the early days, and the shipbuilding industry flourished. There are many well-preserved George and Victorian buildings in the city centre of Grainger Town. Newcastle’s nightlife is famous in Europe, and many tourists choose to spend their weekends here.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Background
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Tips & Tricks

Background

In 112 AD, Newcastle, which was at the border of England and Scotland, played an important role during the Roman Empire's rule in England. The then monarch, Hadrian, built the Hadrian's Wall for 73 miles, mainly for defending the enemies of the North, the most important barracks of the time. Then, from 410 AD to 1485, when Britain passed through Anglo-Saxon and Norman, Newcastle always shouldered the task of resisting the North. 

In 1080, the Normans built a wooden castle on the foundation of the original Roman military camp. Then, in 1722, the Normans built a new castle with stone. The Normans called it "New Castle." The name of the city of New Castle was born. Now you can see the "New Castle", and Castle Keep next to St Nicholas Cathedral is the remains of New Castle at the time. 

In the 18th and 19th centuries, the industrial revolution, Newcastle was famous for its shipbuilding and steam trains due to its geographical advantages and port transportation, which contributed greatly to the British economy at that time. Today, Newcastle becomes the commercial center of the North East of England, and is committed to building technology, innovative cities, and actively promoting environmental programs, with the goal of becoming the UK's first carbon-free city.

Attractions

Traditional Market Grainger Market

The 180-year-old Granger Market, located in the heart of Newcastle, sells a variety of fresh fruits and vegetables, seafood, meat, and many small restaurants and takeaways. It is a must-see traditional market for locals.

address Grainger St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5QQ
Opening hours Monday to Saturday 9:00-17:30

Newcastle, Newcastle: Central Arcade

Central Arcade Shopping Street Central Arcade

The Central Arcade Shop Street is located in the heart of Newcastle. It was built in Edwardian style and was built in 1837. It used to be a commercial exchange, newspaper and art gallery, and is classically decorated. Existing music equipment store, souvenir shop and Newcastle Tourist Information Center. The location is just across the Grainger Market and about a minute's walk.

Opening hours 9:00-17: 00

Theatre Royal

Located on Grey Street, it is one of the few remaining traditional theatres in England; the theatre is also an important base for the Shakespeare Company and The National Theatre in the north of England; more than 300 performances per year The stage stage musical, where you can experience the authentic British theatre culture.

address 100 Grey St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6BR

Newcastle, Newcastle: Theatre Royal in Newcastle

Riverside Quayside

The riverside pier was originally a port trading area, located on the banks of the River Tyne. On this side, Newcastle and Gateshead are on both sides.

On the Newcastle side, there are many restaurants, pubs and afternoon tea restaurants. There is also the Sunday Market on Sundays. There are a lot of handmade products to dig treasures, as well as authentic food, which is expected every Sunday. One of the activities! Opposite Newcastle is Gateshead, the famous art gallery BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art. and the exhibition hall Sage.

Let's go! Quiet and healing mini-group tour

Activities

Europe's largest open-air playground! The Hoppings

The Hoppings is Europe's largest open-air playground, held every year in Newcastle in June. It has been over 135 years old and attracts tens of thousands of visitors every year, as there are as many as 60 rides and types of food. Street vendors, singers, and temporary beer houses make adults and children happy.

location  Town moor
time Every June

Aviation Show: Sunderland Airshow 2019

Sunderland, near Newcastle, hosts the Sunderland Air Show every July and is one of Europe's largest aviation shows, dating back 30 years. The highlight of the aviation show is Red Arrows, which, when flying handsomely, is also full of color in the sky, which is amazing.

Nearby subway station Seaburn Metro Station
time 2020/7/24-26

Marathon: Great North Run

One of the largest half marathons in the world, held every September in Newcastle. Its predecessor was the Gateshead Fun Run, and the first Great North Run officially debuted in 1981, with an influx of 12,000 runners. Today, the Great North Run is not only a glory in the northeast of England, but also a spiritual symbol.

location  Newcastle – South Shields
time September each year

Cuisines

Bar Food: Ship Inn

Ship The Inn is located next to Ouseburn Farm. As far as pub food is concerned, the food is delicious and the price is reasonable. The most recommended Mexican cornflakes, the cornflakes themselves are fried, delicious and crispy, with avocado, cheese and many spices, delicious but not greasy!

address  Stepney Bank, Newcastle, NE1 2PW
Price reference  Mexican Corn Flakes £6 | Light Beer: About £3 (1 pint)

Tea House: Quilliam Brothers

Quilliam Brothers – Teahouse Located near Newcastle University, the store offers more than 60 loose leaf teas, including English breakfast tea, spiced Indian tea, and even Taiwanese oolong tea. The meal is refreshing and well-suited for a breakfast date.

address 1, Eldon Place, Claremont Buildings, Newcastle, NE1 7RD
Price reference About £10/person (with student discount)

Afternoon Tea Recommended: Olive & Bean

Located in the city center, it has been 11 years old and has a very rich meal with breakfast, lunch and afternoon tea. The restaurant is elegantly decorated and is located in a traditional building in Grainger Town, on two floors. There are a lot of seats, but they are often full. Self-produced pastries are very popular, there is also English afternoon tea, cakes, scotts, sandwiches, etc., a lot of weight.

address 17-19 Clayton St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5PN
Price reference About £10/person

Olive & Bean has a good atmosphere and a moderate price. Afternoon tea is rich in content and has lots of desserts, scones, cakes and sandwiches.

Transport

train

From other cities to Newcastle, it is most convenient to take the train. From EnglandLondonThe King's Cross station is located at Newcastle Central Station for approximately 3.5 hours. From ScotlandEdinburghAt the Waverley station, take the Newcastle Central Station for about 1.5 hours.

Underground

The name of the subway in northeast England is Tyne and Wear Metro, the second largest metro system in the UK, second only toLondon. It runs through Newcastle, Gainehead, South Tyneside, North Tyneside and Sunderland. The subway is also connected to the airport, with a total of about 60 stations.

Reference article:Tynemouth Station | One-day town, push! Value seafood platter

Tips & Tricks

Geordie

Geordie refers to the local people in the northeast of England. They have their own dialects and speak a unique taste. They are called Geordie accent. Today, Geordie is still in use, like Aye refers to Yes, Hopping means Fair, and Toon is Town. The picture is a brochure introducing the culture of Geordie.

Football: Newcastle United

Many people in England are talking about football, especially when the British Premier League kicks off! When the football team Newcastle United is playing in Newcastle, the fans of the whole city will fall into madness and scream. If you are traveling here, you must not miss it.

Next stop recommendation

選單

城市導覽

紐卡斯爾/新堡Newcastle

紐卡斯爾又譯作紐卡素、新堡,位在英格蘭東北部,是英國第七大城市,早期為羊毛貿易和煤礦業的重鎮,而後造船業興盛。市中心的格蘭傑城(Grainger Town)中有許多保存良好的喬治和維多利亞式建築。紐卡斯爾的夜生活聞名歐洲,許多遊客選擇在此度過週末假期。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
背景
景點
活動
美食
交通
筆記

背景

西元112年,在羅馬帝國統治英國的時期,位在英格蘭、蘇格蘭交界的紐卡斯爾扮演著重要的角色。當時的君主哈德良(Hadrian)在此建造哈德良長城(Hadrian’s Wall)長達73英里,主要為防禦北方的敵人,是當時最重要的軍營。而後,西元410年至西元1485年,英國分別歷經盎格魯薩克遜(Anglo-Saxon)和諾曼(Norman)時期,紐卡斯爾始終肩負著抵禦北方的任務。 

西元1080 年,諾曼人在原來的羅馬軍營地基,搭建了木造的城堡;而後,西元1172 年諾曼人又以石材建造了一座新城堡,諾曼人稱之為「新城堡(New Castle)」,New Castle的城市名稱因而誕生。現在,還可以看見「新城堡」的身影,在St Nicholas大教堂旁的Castle Keep就是當時New Castle的遺跡。 

18至19世紀正值工業革命,紐卡斯爾因地理位置優勢以及港口運輸發達,使其以船隻製造業和蒸汽火車聞名,對當時英國的經濟有極大貢獻。如今,紐卡斯爾成為英格蘭東北部的商業中心,並致力打造科技、創新城市,也積極推動環保計畫,目標成為英國第一個無碳城市。

景點

傳統市場 Grainger Market

超過180年歷史的格蘭傑市場,位於紐卡斯爾市中心,內有販售各種新鮮蔬果、海鮮、肉類,還有許多小餐廳及外賣,是當地人必去的傳統市場。這裡還有間 比薩專賣舖叫做「Slice Pizza」,Google評價高達4.8顆星,很美味!

地址 Grainger St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5QQ
開放時間 週一至週六 9:00-17:30

紐卡斯爾Newcastle:Central Arcade

中央拱廊商店街 Central Arcade

中央拱廊商店街位於紐卡斯爾市中心,建築為愛德華式,在1837年建造,曾經是商業交換所、報社及藝廊,裝潢古典華麗。現有音樂器材店、紀念品店和紐卡斯爾旅遊資訊中心。地點就在Grainger Market斜對面,步行約1分鐘距離。

開放時間 9:00-17: 00

皇家劇院 Theatre Royal

位在格雷街(Grey Street),屬於英格蘭少數僅存的一級古蹟傳統劇院;劇院同時是莎士比亞劇團(The Shakespeare Company)及國家劇院(The National Theatre)在英格蘭北方的重要基地;每年演出超過3百場舞台音樂劇。

地址 100 Grey St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 6BR

紐卡斯爾Newcastle:紐卡斯爾皇家劇院(Theatre Royal in Newcastle)

河畔碼頭 Quayside

河畔碼頭早期為港口貿易區,位於泰恩河畔(River Tyne)。以此為界,兩側分別是紐卡斯爾和蓋茨黑德(Gateshead)。

在紐卡斯爾這一側,有許多餐廳,酒館及下午茶餐廳,每週日還有週日市集(Sunday Market),有很多手工製品可以挖寶,還有道地美食,是每週日都令人期待的活動之一!而紐卡斯爾的對面是蓋茨黑德,有著名的美術館BALTIC Centre for Contemporary Art 以及音樂廳Sage。

走吧!寧靜又療癒的迷你小團遊

活動

歐洲最大露天遊樂場!The Hoppings

The Hoppings是歐洲最大的露天遊樂場,每年6月在紐卡斯爾舉行,至今已超過135年歷史,有號稱多達60種遊樂設施、各類型的食物攤販、歌手演唱,以及臨時搭建的啤酒屋等,大人、小孩都能玩得開心,每年吸引數以萬計的遊客湧入

地點  Town Moor
時間 每年6月

航空秀:Sunderland Airshow 2020

鄰近紐卡斯爾的桑德蘭市,每年7月舉辦桑德蘭航空秀,是歐洲最大的航空秀之一,距今已有30年歷史。航空秀的重頭戲是Red Arrows,它們在帥氣飛行時,又神乎其技地將天空灑滿了色彩,實在讓人歎為觀止。

鄰近的地鐵站 Seaburn Metro Station
時間 2020/7/24-26

馬拉松:Great North Run

世界上規模最大的半馬馬拉松之一,每年9月在紐卡斯爾舉行。它的前身為Gateshead Fun Run,而首屆Great North Run在1981年正式登場,湧入1萬2千名跑者加入。如今,Great North Run不僅是英格蘭東北部的榮耀,也是精神象徵。

地點  Newcastle – South Shields
時間 每年9月

美食

酒吧美食:Ship Inn

Ship Inn位於Ouseburn Farm旁,食物美味,價格合理。最推薦它的墨西哥玉米片,酪梨、起司和許多香料,搭配詐得酥脆的玉米片,吃起來香又脆,卻不油膩!

地址  Stepney Bank, Newcastle, NE1 2PW
價位參考  墨西哥玉米片£6|淡啤酒:約£3 (1pint)

茶屋:Quilliam Brothers

Quilliam Brothers – Teahouse 位於紐卡斯爾大學(Newcastle University)附近,店內提供60多種散葉茶,包含英式早餐茶,香料印度茶,還有台灣的烏龍茶喔!餐點口味偏清爽,很適合當作早餐約會的地點。

地址 1, Eldon Place, Claremont Buildings, Newcastle, NE1 7RD
價位參考 約£ 10/人

下午茶推薦:Olive & Bean

位在市中心,已經有12年的歷史,餐點內容豐富,包含早餐、午餐和下午茶。餐廳裝潢優雅,就位在格蘭傑城的傳統建築物裡,共有兩層樓。座位不少,卻是經常客滿。自產的糕點很受歡迎,這裡還有供應英式下午茶,有蛋糕、司康、三明治等,份量不少。

地址 17-19 Clayton St, Newcastle upon Tyne NE1 5PN
價位參考 約 £10/人

Olive & Bean氣氛好、價位中等,下午茶內容豐富、份量多,有甜點、司康、蛋糕和三明治。

交通

火車

從其他城市到紐卡斯爾,搭火車最方便。自英格蘭倫敦的國王十字車站(London King’s Cross)搭到紐卡斯爾/新堡中央車站(Newcastle Central Station),時程約為3.5小時。從蘇格蘭愛丁堡威瓦利車站(Edinburgh Waverley),搭到紐卡斯爾/新堡中央車站(Newcastle Central Station),時程約為1.5小時。

地鐵

英格蘭東北地區的地鐵名稱是泰恩—威爾(Tyne and Wear Metro) ,為英國第二大的地鐵系統,僅次於倫敦。它的路線貫穿紐卡斯爾、蓋恩黑德,南泰恩賽德(South Tyneside ),北泰恩賽德(North  Tyneside )和桑德蘭(Sunderland)。地鐵也與機場相連,共約60個站。

參考文章:Tynemouth站|濱海小鎮一日,推!超值海鮮拼盤

筆記

泰恩賽德語 Geordie

Geordie泛指英格蘭東北部的在地人,他們有自己的方言,說起話來有種獨特味道,大家稱之為Geordie accent。如今,Geordie仍被使用中,像是Aye指的是Yes、Hopping意指Fair,而Toon就是Town。圖片是介紹Geordie文化的小冊子。

足球:Newcastle United

在英格蘭許多人都在討論足球,尤其是英國超級聯賽開踢時!每當足球隊Newcastle United在紐卡斯爾比賽,整個城市的球迷就會陷入瘋狂、搖旗吶喊。如果你正好在這裡旅行,絕對不能錯過。

下一站推薦

上一篇
下一篇