City Guide

© Copyright, all text and photos are not allowed to be reproduced without authorization.
If you want to cooperate, welcome to write to us.

Cambridge

Come to Cambridge and recommend to experience the pier boat. On the Cambridge Bridge, enjoy the scenery of the University of Cambridge with the waves. You will see the majesty of King's College, as well as the classic Mathematics Bridge and the Bridge of Sighs.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
History
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Trip planning

History

As early as the Bronze Age, Cambridge had a human footprint. In the 1st century, the Romans camped in Cambridge; in the 5th century, as the Romans left, the Roman camp faced the fate of being abandoned.

Until 1066, King William I ordered the castle to be built here. Cambridge's economy and population gradually prospered. Because of the convenience of the River Cam, the river extended to Kings Lynn in the north. The seaside has made the waterway transport developed, and Cambridge has become an economic center in the region.

In 1209, Cambridge University was established in the town. With the increasing number of students, Cambridge became a student-oriented university city. In the 16th century, Cambridge University established more colleges, including the prestigious Christs College and Trinity College founded by Henry VIII.

After the 20th century, Cambridge's status became more and more unshakable. In 1951, the town was upgraded to the city. Today, in addition to the education industry, Cambridge is also actively developing the technology, science and tourism industries.

Attractions

King's College

King ’s College was founded in 1441 by King Henry VI of England. Among them, the King ’s College Chapel is considered to be one of the most beautiful and majestic chapels among the colleges of Cambridge University. Glass decorations, stone walls, and wood carvings are all amazing; at the same time, the chapel is also an important late gothic. Architectural example. In addition, King's College has many famous alumni, British economist John Maynard Keynes and Chinese poet Xu Zhimo have studied at King's College.

Chapel opening hours(Semester) Monday to Friday 9: 30-15: 30 | Sat 9: 30-15: 15 | Sun 13: 15-14: 30 | (outside semester) Monday to Sunday 9: 30-16: 30
Fare required
Opening hours and fares, please refer to the scene

Cambridge, Cambridge: King's College, Cambridge.
Cambridge: Trinity College (Trinity College)

Trinity College Trinity College

Trinity College, founded in the later years of Henry VIII, is among the colleges of Cambridge University and is one of the most powerful and famous.

One of the most famous alumni in the academy is Newton who discovers the law of universal gravitation (Newton), at the entrance of the college, there is from Lincolnshire, Newton’s hometown (Lincolnshire) The transplanted apple tree, this tree was not the "deity" of the apple tree that hit Newton at that time, but its "descendant".

 

Punting in Cambridge!

A boat trip on the River Cam is a signature activity of Cambridge. There are many boat rental services on site, the journey time is about 40 minutes, passing through many famous attractions on the way, such as: Trinity College, King's College, Bridge of Sighs, Mathematical Bridge, etc... It is a great experience to have a clear guided commentary and to explore the beauty of the campus.

cost Tourists share a car (12 seats) for about £20/person | private charter (6 seats) for about £90/boat. The fee is for reference only, please refer to the on-site price

Cambridge: Bridge of Sighs

Bridge of Sighs

The Bridge of Sighs was built in 1831 and is a famous landmark. There are two explanations for the origin of the name, one is that the bridge leads to the examination room, and every time during the exam, students will hear the sighs of one after another; the other is that it was built in the 16th century in Venice (Venice) The first sigh bridge salutes. The Bridge of Sighs in Cambridge is not open to the public, but tourists can see its beautiful figure when traveling by boat on the River Cam.

Cors Clock

The Eucharist was unveiled in 2008 by physicist Stephen Hawking; the clock was inspired by the inventor of John Taylor, alumnus of the University of Cambridge, Christopher, Cambridge. He thinks the ordinary clock design makes people Feeling boring, so he designed a grasshopper with a grasshopper. When the pointer reaches the 59th second, the grasshopper will open his mouth and swallow the time, in order to remind the world of time. Once the time goes byIt can no longer be recovered.

Cambridge: Mathematical Bridge

Mathematical Bridge

Built in 1749, the bridge connects the two campuses of Queens' College. According to legend, when the bridge was built at that time, the designer used the principle of mathematical geometry without using any nail, but after being removed by other scholars, he did not know how to restore the bridge. If you want to admire the bridge, in addition to taking a boat, you can also see the style of the math bridge on Silver St.

Activities

Cambridge Comedy Festival, photo source http://www.cambridgecomedyfestival.com/

Comedy Festival Cambridge Comedy Festival

The Cambridge Comedy Festival began in 2007, and many great comedians will perform here. Although the scale is not the biggest, the performance is still exciting.is calledEdinburghA smaller version of the International Fringe Festival.
Photo source:
Cambridge Comedy Festival official website

Activity time
July each year
For more event information

Folk Folk Festival Cambridge Folk Festival

Founded in 1965, it is an annual folk art (music) festival, one of the important events in Cambridge, attracting thousands of people every year. The event is rich in content, with performances from outstanding musicians from the UK, Ireland and other places. It also combines contemporary art. In recent years, young singers have been invited to join the lineup to provide a stage for the new generation of musicians.
Photo source:Cambridge Folk FestivalOfficial website

Event Location Cherry Hinton Hall Park
Activity time 2020/07/30-08/02
Check details and fares

Fireworks & Bonfire Night

Every year in November, many cities in the UK host fireworks and bonfire nights, including Cambridge. The beginning of Bonfire is to commemorate a gunpowder plot that took place in 1605. Today, it is more like a large-scale event, firing fireworks in many places, lighting up the UK's November night sky.
Photo source:Cambridge Live official website

location Midsummer Common, Cambridge
time November
Free admission

Cuisines

Centennial Cafe Fitzbillies

There are a variety of restaurants on Bridge Street, such as French, Italian and American cuisine. The Fitzbillies Café specializes in light food, cakes and afternoon tea and is popular in Cambridge. Fitzbillies has two stores, the founding store opened in 1920 at Trumpington Street in the city center, and the branch is on Bridge Street. The picture is a Mexican roll, fresh and delicious; in addition, its star product is the traditional bread roll "Chelsea Buns".

address"Foundation Store" 52 Trumpington St, Cambridge, CB2 1RG|"Bridge Street Branch" 36 Bridge St, Cambridge CB2 1UW
Opening hours Monday to Friday 8:00-18:00|Saturday 9:00-18:30|Sunday 10:00-18:30 (time may change, please refer to the official website)

Cambridge Centennial Cafe - tomato and red sauce wrap at Fitzbillies. Photo by Serina
Cambridge: Bar The Eagle

The birthplace of DNA, The Eagle Bar

The Eagle Bar is located near King's College and opened in 1667. It was named "Eagle and Child" and later renamed "The Eagle". It is full of stories, documenting the bit of World War II; on a Saturday afternoon in 1956, British biologist Francis Crick and American molecular biologist James Watson cracked DNA together.

address 8 Benet Street, Cambridge CB2 3QN
Opening hours Sunday to Wednesday 11:00-23:00|Thursday to Saturday 11:00-00:00

Transport

Cambridge

train

By train from London, you can leave from London King & #8217; s Cross and get off at Cambridge Station. The train ride is about 50 minutes. It takes about 20 minutes to walk from Cambridge Railway Station to the city centre.Trains are floating fares, it is recommended to use the train APP (Trainline) to inquire and book tickets.

AV: Cambridge Travel

Every time I go to Cambridge, I feel very relaxed, even in the case of work; it is always very lively, because there are endless crowds, but when you take a boat trip to Kanghe, you can enjoy the peace, it’s good!

Trip planning

Historical University Town, Romantic River Cam

Cambridge is an ancient historical capital. Many people come here to take a boat trip on the River Kang, visit Trinity College, King's College along the main streets of the city, etc.; and the outdoor market open every day sells delicious local snacks. Suitable for the whole family to play together. If you want to roam, it is recommended to stay for a day.

Recommended itinerary|【Oxford, Cambridge】1 day tour|Optional Chinese tour guide

1A daily shuttle bus travels through the two classic university cities in the UK. The itinerary includes tickets to Christ Church College and King's College Chapel at Oxford University. It is suitable for tourists who have limited time and want to explore two famous universities at once.

Cambridge: King & #039; s College, Cambridge Xu Zhimo Memorial Stele

Next stop recommendation

城市導覽

© 版權所有,所有文字、照片未經授權請勿轉載。
如欲合作,歡迎來信與我們聯繫。

劍橋Cambridge

來到劍橋推薦體驗撐篙船,在康橋上隨著水波欣賞劍橋大學(University of Cambridge)的風光,你將看見國王學院的雄偉,還有經典的數學橋與嘆息橋。

分享在 facebook
分享在 twitter
分享在 pinterest
分享在 whatsapp
分享在 email
歷史
景點
活動
美食
交通
行程規劃

歷史

早在青銅器時代,劍橋就有人類的足跡。在1世紀時,羅馬人(the Romans)於劍橋扎軍營;5世紀,隨著羅馬人離開,羅馬軍營面臨被遺棄的命運。

直到西元1066年,國王威廉一世(William I)下令在此蓋城堡,劍橋的經濟、人口逐漸地繁榮興盛;也因為康河(River Cam)的便利,河川一直延伸到北方的金斯林(Kings Lynn)海邊,使之水路運輸發達,劍橋因此成為此區域的經濟重鎮。

西元1209年,劍橋大學在小鎮成立,隨著學生的數量愈來愈多,劍橋成為以學生為主的大學城。16世紀,劍橋大學設立了更多學院,包含知名的基督學院(Christs College)、亨利八世成立的三一學院(Trinity College)等。

20世紀後,劍橋的地位越來越不可動搖,於1951年由鎮升格為市。現今,除教育產業外,劍橋也積極發展科技、科學及觀光產業。

景點

國王學院 King’s College

國王學院建於1441年,由英格蘭國王亨利六世(Henry VI)設立。其中,國王學院禮拜堂在劍橋大學眾學院中被認為是最漂亮、雄偉的禮拜堂之一,玻璃裝飾、石牆、木雕,都讓人驚艷;同時,禮拜堂也是重要的後哥德式(late gothic)建築範例。此外,國王學院有許多著名校友,英國經濟學家凱因斯(John Maynard Keynes)以及中國詩人徐志摩都曾在國王學院就讀。

禮拜堂開放時間(學期間)週一至週五 9:30-15:30|週六9:30-15:15|週日13:15-14:30 |(學期外)週一至週日 9:30-16:30
須票價
開放時間與票價,請以現場為準

劍橋Cambridge:劍橋大學國王學院(King's College)。
劍橋 Cambridge:三一學院(Trinity College)​

三一學院 Trinity College

亨利八世晚年成立的三一學院,是劍橋大學的各學院中,號稱財力最雄厚、名聲最響亮之一。

在學院中,最有名的校友之一是發現萬有引力定律的牛頓(Newton),學院門口,有從牛頓家鄉林肯郡(Lincolnshire)移植來的蘋果樹,這顆樹不是當時砸中牛頓的蘋果樹「本尊」,而是它的「後代」。

 

Punting in Cambridge! 搭撐篙船遊康河

乘船遊康河,是劍橋的招牌活動。現場有許多船隻出租服務,搭乘一趟的時間約40分鐘,途中經過許多知名景點,如:三一學院、國王學院、嘆息橋、數學橋……等。有清楚的導覽解說,又能一探校園美景,是很棒的體驗。

費用 遊客共乘(12人座)約£20/人|私人包船(6人座)約£90鎊/船。費用僅供參考,請以現場售價為準

劍橋Cambridge:撐篙船 Punting
劍橋 Cambridge:嘆息橋(Bridge of Sighs)

嘆息橋 Bridge of Sighs

嘆息橋建於1831年,是著名的地標。名字由來有兩個說法,一說是這座橋通往考場,每到考試期間,橋上就會聽見學生此起彼落的嘆息;另一說,是為了向16世紀在威尼斯(Venice)建造的第一座嘆息橋致敬。劍橋的嘆息橋不對外開放,但遊客在乘船遊康河時,可以看見它的美麗身影。

聖體鐘 Corpus Clock

聖體鐘於2008年由物理學家史蒂芬霍金揭幕;此時鐘是由劍橋大學基督聖體學院(Corpus Christi College, Cambridge)校友約翰泰勒(John Taylor)發明家的創意,他覺得普通時鐘設計令人感到枯燥,因此他設計的聖體鍾上面有隻螞蚱(grasshopper),當指針走到第59秒時,螞蚱就會把嘴巴張開,並吞下時間,想藉此提醒世人時光的可貴,時間一旦流逝就無法再追回。

劍橋 Cambridge:Corpus Clock
劍橋 Cambridge:數學橋(Mathematical Bridge)

數學橋 Mathematical Bridge

於1749年建造,橋主要連接了王后學院(Queens’ College)的兩個校區。相傳當時蓋橋的時候,設計師利用數學幾何原理而未使用任何一根釘子,但後來被其他學者拆掉後,就不知道如何再把橋復原了。如要欣賞橋除了可以搭船,也可以在Silver St上看到數學橋的風采。

活動

劍橋喜劇節 Cambridge Comedy Festival,照片來源 http://www.cambridgecomedyfestival.com/

喜劇節 Cambridge Comedy Festival

劍橋喜劇節始於2007年,許多厲害的喜劇演員會在此演出,雖然規模不算最大,但表演依舊精彩可期,被稱為愛丁堡國際藝穗節的縮小版。
照片來源:
劍橋喜劇節官網

活動時間
每年7月
查詢更多活動資訊

民俗藝術節 Cambridge Folk Festival

創立於1965年,為每年舉辦的民俗藝術(音樂)節,是劍橋重要活動之一,每年吸引成千上萬民眾參加。活動內容豐富,有來自英國、愛爾蘭等各地優秀音樂人的演出,亦結合當代藝術,近年更廣邀年輕歌手加入陣容,提供新生代音樂人表演舞台。
照片來源:Cambridge Folk Festival官網

活動地點 Cherry Hinton Hall Park
活動時間 2020/07/30-08/02
查詢詳情與票價

煙火節 Fireworks&Bonfire Night

每年11月份,英國許多城市會舉辦煙火節/營火之夜(fireworks and bonfire night),也包含劍橋,Bonfire的開始是為紀念發生在1605年一起火藥陰謀。時至今日,它更像是一場大型活動,在許多地方施放煙火,點亮英國11月的夜空。
照片來源:Cambridge Live官網

地點 Midsummer Common, Cambridge
時間 11月
免費入場

美食

百年咖啡廳 Fitzbillies

在橋街(Bridge Street)上有許多樣化的餐廳,如:法式、義式和美式料理。Fitzbillies咖啡廳的餐點以輕食、蛋糕和下午茶為主,在劍橋頗受歡迎。Fitzbillies有兩家店,創始店於1920年開幕位在市中心的Trumpington Street,分店在橋街。圖片中是墨西哥捲,清爽好吃;另外,它的明星商品為傳統麵包捲「Chelsea Buns」。

地址「創始店」52 Trumpington St, Cambridge, CB2 1RG|「橋街分店」36 Bridge St, Cambridge CB2 1UW
營業時間 週一至週五8:00-18:00|週六 9:00-18:30|週日10:00-18:30(時間可能變動,請以官網為準)

劍橋 Cambridge:百年咖啡廳 Fitzbillies
劍橋 Cambridge:酒吧 The Eagle

DNA的「發源地」,The Eagle酒吧

The Eagle酒吧位在國王學院附近, 1667年就已經開始營業,當時的名字叫做「Eagle and Child」,後來才改名為「The Eagle」。這裡充滿故事,記載著二戰的點滴;在1956年的某個週六下午,英國生物學家Francis Crick和美國分子生物學家James Watson在這裡共同破解了DNA。

地址 8 Benet Street, Cambridge CB2 3QN
營業時間 週日至週三 11:00-23:00|週四至週六11:00-00:00

交通

劍橋 Cambridge

火車

從倫敦搭火車前往,可以自國王十字車站(London King’s Cross)出發,至劍橋站(Cambridge Station)下車,火車車程約50分鐘。從劍橋火車站到市中心,步行時間約20分鐘。火車為浮動票價,推薦使用火車APP(Trainline)查詢、訂票。

影音:劍橋旅行

每次到劍橋都覺得很放鬆,即便是在工作的情況下;它永遠都很熱鬧,因為有絡繹不絕的人潮,但搭撐篙船游康河時,又能享受那片寧靜,真好!

行程規劃

劍橋Cambridge:撐篙船 Punting

歷史大學城、浪漫康河

劍橋是歷史古都,許多人來此多會乘船遊康河、沿著市區主要街道探訪三一學院、國王學院……等;而每天開放的戶外市集販賣著美味的當地的小吃。適合全家大小一同遊玩。如要漫遊,建議停留一天的時間。

推薦行程|【 牛津、劍橋 】1日遊|可選中文導遊

1日專車接送暢遊英國兩個經典大學城,行程附牛津大學基督堂學院、國王學院禮拜堂門票。很適合時間有限又希望可以一次探索兩所知名大學的遊客。

劍橋 Cambridge:國王學院(King's College, Cambridge)徐志摩紀念石碑

下一站推薦

上一篇
下一篇