Scottish Highlands, Scottish Highlands: seafood, mussels, fresh and delicious

The Scottish Highlands are blessed with good mountains and water. The climate and terrain create unique landscapes, and at the same time make them a holy place for food, seafood such as mussels, scallops, salmon, meat such as lamb and Angus cattle, drinks such as whiskey and beer . In this article, I will recommend you what are the must-eat good flavors.

Scottish Highlands | Michelin-level mountain and seafood

By Let's go JOIN ME

Thousands of years ago, the highland people were mainly hunting and semi-nomadic, and wild boar, deer, cattle and mutton were important ingredients. Today, meat still occupies an important position. In addition, its location is close to the North Sea and the Atlantic Ocean, and the catch is abundant, while crabs, lobsters, scallops and mussels are also common. The Gulf Stream along the western coast allows the warmth of the Highlands to be warmer than that of the same latitudes. The highest average temperature in winter is about 5 degrees Celsius and 17 degrees in summer, with salmon, trout and squid. In the highlands, the first thing to experience is seafood.

▍Popular famous shop

On the menus of many restaurants, you will see traces of mussels. In the small town of Portree, there is a popular restaurant, Cuchullin Restaurant. As long as it is a meal, you will see a crowd full of people. Because of its fair price and excellent service, many people will come here to taste seafood and fish cakes. Mussels and seafood platters are popular dishes! The fleshy Q of the fresh mussels is fat and delicious, and it tastes fresh and sweet. It is a good idea to come to Portree, but it is recommended to book in advance to avoid squatting.

address Wentworth St, Portree, IV51 9EJ

▍Fish and chips: Caledonian Cafe

Also located in the small town of Portree, next to the Cuchullin Restaurant, the Scottish breakfast and traditional scones of potato scones are available, and the fish and chips are affordable. Fish and chips in Scotland are usually eaten from the North Sea, haddock, which is more dry and more chewy.

address  Wentworth St, Portree, IV51 9EJ

▍Michelin certification: Kinloch Lodge

Under the leadership of Chef Marcello Tully, this restaurant has been awarded a Michelin star for 7 consecutive years. The same is the main ingredient in the local food, the menu is changed daily. The surrounding environment is very quiet, like a paradise. In the 19th century, the Kinloch Lodge was originally the residence of a duke in the northern Scottish Highlands and later changed to a restaurant. Dining here is a special experience, the staff will take you to an exclusive room, enjoy a snack and wait for a meal before heading to the restaurant for a main meal. The lunch price is between £40 and £45 and the dinner is £85. The service is friendly and professional.

address A851, Sleat, Isle of Skye IV43 8QY

▍Scottish country pub: Hotel Eilean Larmain

This is a bar attached to the restaurant, and the meals are wonderful from the appetizer to the main meal! The grilled scallops have a distinct layered texture and a sweet taste; Cullen Skink is rich in ingredients, such as salmon, potatoes, onions, and cheese. It is sweet and rich, eaten with bread, so satisfying . Bread is included with any order, and the caramel cream with the bread is classic. At the entrance, the caramel aroma erupts with the melted cream, and the lips and teeth remain fragrant after eating. It is a pleasant surprise. The price of each appetizer is around £ 10, and the main meal is between £ 20 and £ 30. Decorated with a rural atmosphere in Scotland, the staff are very enthusiastic, the overall atmosphere is comfortable and lively, as if it includes all kinds of reasons why we like Scotland.

address Sleat, Isleornsay, Isle of Skye IV43 8QR

▍National cuisine! When whiskey meets chocolate and haggis

Scotland's water quality is good, and the world of whisky that is bred is known as the “Water of Life”. It has a long history and can be traced back to the 15th century. Old Scottish people have a saying: Today’s rain is tomorrow’s whisky (today's rain is tomorrow's whisky). Not only reveals the important position of whisky in Scotland, but also makes people feel their Lotte character, look at the changing weather, and be super optimistic.

Whisky is also often used to enter the dish. The Scottish national cuisine haggis is often used with whisky sauce. It is very good! Although the whisky made in Taiwan is not inferior, but to come to this treasured place of whisky, it is not uncommon to taste it, a bite of wine, a bite of chocolate, and warm and warm, worth the experience.

The Scottish Highlands have been hailed as a gourmet destination in recent years. Many restaurants and bars use fresh ingredients and emphasize seasonal menus, making them more and more popular. The Tree Chimneys, which opened in 1985, is a very local restaurant. Not only does Michelin give high praise, but the British local star standard AA (British Automobile Association) also gives Samsung affirmation.

Eating is definitely the essence of the journey. It has the finishing touch and is an important element of the cultural experience, because many old stories are hidden in food. What is the origin of haggis for Scottish breakfast? I heard that the Vikings brought the concept of smoke to Scotland? Why is peat and whisky combined? Take a trip to the highlands with a feeling of relaxation and enjoyment. Not only is the beauty of the scenery, but your taste buds will also be more satisfying than ever.

Related attractions:Scottish Highlands

© Figure / text copyright
Let's go JOIN ME British road trip

Recommended Articles

Related audio and video

You may like it...

蘇格蘭高地 Scottish Highlands:海鮮如淡菜新鮮好吃

蘇格蘭高地的海鮮如淡菜、扇貝、鮭魚,肉類如羊肉與安格斯牛,飲品如威士忌和啤酒皆赫赫有名。本篇文章要推薦你必吃的好味道。

蘇格蘭高地旅遊|美食推薦,米其林級的山珍海味

By JOIN ME

幾千年以前,高地的民族以狩獵與半遊牧為主,野豬、鹿、牛與羊肉等皆為重要食材。此外,其地理位置緊鄰北海與大西洋,漁獲豐沛,而蟹、龍蝦、扇貝與淡菜也十分常見。沿著西部海岸而來的墨西哥灣流,讓高地的氣溫比同緯度的地區來得溫暖,冬季最高均溫約攝氏5度,夏季為17度左右,同時帶來了鮭魚、鱒魚和鱈魚等。在高地,首先推薦遊客體驗海鮮。

▍人氣名店​ Cuchullin Restaurant

波特里(Portree)小鎮上,有間人氣餐廳Cuchullin Restaurant,人潮總是滿滿,它的價格公道、服務優質,許多人會特地到此品嚐海鮮,魚餅、淡菜與海鮮拼盤都是熱門料理!新鮮淡菜的肉質Q彈肥美,味道鮮甜,來到波特里不妨一試,但是建議事先訂位,以免向隅。

地址 Wentworth St, Portree, IV51 9EJ

▍炸魚薯條​:Caledonian Cafe

同樣位在波特里鎮上的小餐館,地點就在 Cuchullin Restaurant 旁邊,供應蘇格蘭早餐與傳統點心馬鈴薯司康(potato scones),炸魚薯條則是經濟實惠。在蘇格蘭點炸魚薯條,通常會吃到來自北海的黑線鱈魚(haddock),這種魚的肉質通常滿有嚼勁。

地址  Wentworth St, Portree, IV51 9EJ

▍米其林認證:Kinloch Lodge

在主廚 Marcello Tully 的帶領下,這間餐廳連續7年獲得米其林一星肯定。主打在地食材,菜單每日更換。周邊環境很寧靜,彷彿世外桃源。19世紀時,Kinloch Lodge 原是蘇格蘭高地北部一名公爵的住所,而後改為飯店。在此用餐是個特別的體驗,服務人員會將你先帶到專屬的房間內享用點心並等候點餐,接著才前往餐廳享用主餐。午餐價格約在40至45英鎊之間,晚餐為85英鎊。

地址 A851, Sleat, Isle of Skye IV43 8QY

▍蘇格蘭鄉村酒吧:Hotel Eilean Larmain

這是間飯店附設的酒吧,餐點自前菜至主餐都很精彩!烤扇貝的口感層次分明,還有回甘的鮮味;蘇格蘭濃湯(Cullen Skink)的用料豐富,有鮭魚、馬鈴薯、洋蔥和起司等,鮮甜濃郁,沾著麵包一起吃很美味。麵包配搭的焦糖奶油是經典,焦糖的香氣在口腔內隨著奶油化開而噴發,吃完後仍唇齒留香。

前菜每道價格約在10英鎊以內,主餐在20至30英鎊之間。裝潢有蘇格蘭鄉村氛圍,店員都很熱情,整體氛圍舒適,彷彿囊括了我們喜歡蘇格蘭的各種原因。

地址 Sleat, Isleornsay, Isle of Skye IV43 8QR

▍國民美食!當威士忌遇上巧克力和haggis​

蘇格蘭的水質佳,孕育出的威士忌世界知名,被譽為「生命之水」,其歷史淵遠流長,可以回溯至15世紀。老蘇格蘭人們流傳著一句話:Today’s rain is tomorrow’s whisky(今天的雨水是明日的威士忌)。透露出威士忌在蘇格蘭的重要地位,同時也讓人感受到他們樂天的性格。

威士忌也會入菜,蘇格蘭國民美食 haggis 就常會搭配威士忌醬汁,很是對味!雖然臺灣製造的威士忌毫不遜色,但來到這個盛產威士忌的寶地,不免俗地還是要品嘗一下,一口酒、一口巧克力,順口又暖身,值得體驗。

蘇格蘭高地近年被譽為美食之境,許多餐廳與酒吧都使用在地新鮮食材,強調季節性菜單,使越來越多饕客趨之若鶩。1985年開業的The Tree Chimneys 就是很具指標性,不僅米其林給予高評價,也獲得英國當地的星級標準AA(British Automobile Association)三星肯定。

吃,絕對是旅程中的精髓,同時是體驗在地文化的橋樑,許多老故事都藏在食物裡。蘇格蘭早餐的haggis的緣起為何?聽說是維京人將煙燻的概念帶至蘇格蘭?泥煤與威士忌又為什麼結合呢?帶著放鬆、享受的心情走一趟高地,你的視覺與味蕾都將獲得前所未有的滿足。

© 圖/文版權
走起英國 JOIN ME

推薦閱讀

相關影音

你可能會喜歡...