City Guide

© Copyright, all text and photos are not allowed to be reproduced without authorization.
If you want to cooperate, welcome to write to us.

Oxford oxford

The University of Oxford is the oldest among English-speaking universities. It has trained 28 British prime ministers and is also hailed as the cradle of British politicians. Now it is also a pilgrimage site for many "Harry Potter" fans.

Share on facebook
Share on twitter
Share on pinterest
Share on whatsapp
Share on email
Background
Attractions
Activities
Cuisines
Transport
Trip planning

Background

Oxford was named after the Anglo-Saxon period from 410 to 1066, because it was in the heart of the Saxon kingdom, between the Kingdom of Mercia and the Kingdom of Wessex, and also the River Thames. With the flow of the River Cherwell, the key location made Oxford a small town at the time.

In 1167, Oxford University was formally established as the oldest university in the English system. At that time, Oxford residents were mainly engaged in the leather and textile industries; but after the 14th century, Oxford's leather and textile industries began to decline, and residents turned to people's livelihood-related products. The largest customers were Oxford students.

In the 18th century, Oxford was an important commercial town, and most residents relied mainly on education and student-related industries. After the 20th century, the British Morris Automobile was founded here and became one of the important local industries. The current Oxford Automobile Plant (Plant Oxford) mainly produces BMW's MINI cars and other auto parts.

Attractions

Oxford, Oxford: Balliol College

Belliol College

Founded in 1263, Belliol College is one of Oxford’s oldest colleges. Famous alumni are in various fields of society, for example: John Wycliffe, who was the first to translate the Bible from Latin to English in the 14th century, Adam Smith, who published "The Wealth of Nations" in the 18th century, and There is the current Prime Minister Boris Johnson (Boris Johnson). The college is open for visits, and the elegant chapel and cafeteria are wonderful.

Opening hours 10:00-17:00
Reference ticket fare Adult £3|Student, respect for the elderly £1 (relevant documents must be presented for ticket purchase, fees and opening hours, please refer to the scene)
Check opening hours

Radcliffe Library Radcliffe Camera

Built in 1749, by the hands of well-known architect James Gibbs,It is one of the representatives of Palladian architecture.This type of design was popular in Europe at that time, mainly referring to the concept of Greek and Roman traditional symmetrical architecture.

The Radcliffe Library is a branch of the Bodleian Library at Oxford University. It houses many books on English literature, history and theology. Visitors who want to visit need to sign up for a fixed guided tour of the local library.

Check itiner

Oxford, Oxford: Radcliffe Camera
Oxford: Bodleian Library

Bodley Library

The main library of Oxford University is the second largest library in the UK, with a collection of more than 13 million books, second only to the British Library (Britsh Library). According to British book publishing regulations, any publisher publishing books in the UK must legally deposit a copy to a designated library, and the Bodley Library is one of them. The library is only open for a few hours for tourists to visit, and each person is limited to a 30-minute visit. It is recommended to book tickets in advance on the official website, or purchase tickets at the Great Gate Ticket Office.

Ticket fare £6
Check opening hours

Bridge of Sighs

The Bridge of Sighs was built in 1914 and is located opposite the entrance to the Bodley Library, which is connected to both sides of the University of Oxford's Hertford College. Its official name is Hertford Bridge, which is famous for its design of a bridge of sighs like Venice in Italy. The Bridge of Sighs is a common name.

Oxford: The Bridge of Sighs
Christ Church College, Oxford University

Christ Church College, Oxford University

In the movie version of "Harry Potter", the cafeteria at Hogwarts College is the inspiration for the cafeteria of The Hall of Christ Church College in Oxford. After the crew went to Christ Church College to survey the scene, the scene in London replicated the highly similar scenes. After the movie was broadcast, more and more Harry Potter came to visit in fascination.

Opening hours Monday to Saturday 10:00-17:00|Sunday 14:00-17:00 (may vary due to school private events)
fare Adult £15|Children, students, respect for the elderly £14
Check opening hours

Different post

British postboxes are mostly red. This wooden postbox is particularly eye-catching on the lively streets, and its structure is very special. There is a big hole under the post, which used to distribute mail directly to the basement, but this is no longer the case. In 2003, the post office building of St Aldate's Post Office was bought by Merton College, and the mailbox may be relocated in the future.

address 102-104 St Aldate's, Oxford OX1 1ZZ

Oxford Oxford: Wooden postbox outside Oxford Post Office St Aldate's Post Office.
Oxford, Oxford: Oxford Castle

Oxford Castle & Prison

The castle was built in 1071, mainly for the use of King William I. During the English Civil War in the 17th century, the castle was used as a prison by the royalists. Because of the civil war, the castle was severely damaged. The castle that we see now was repaired after the civil war. Later, the castle was used as a prison for prisoners. By 1996, the prison was closed and opened to the public. A guide is provided in the museum, and the instructor will put on the clothing of the time and take you through time and space to savor the Oxford castle and prison at the time.

Opening hours 
Weekly to Sunday|10:00-17:30 (last admission time is 16:20)
Ticket fare Adult £12.5|Children (5-15 years old) £8.75|Student, respect for the elderly £11.95

Check opening hours 

Activities

Oxford

Oxford Literary Festival

The Oxford Literature Festival is held every March and April and has a history of 23 years. There are many exciting events at the Oxford Literature Festival every year, do n’t miss out on those who love literature!

Check ticket information 

Christmas event

Every November, there will be large and small celebrations around the UK to warm up Christmas. Oxford's event is called Oxford's Christmas Light Festival, which combines culture, sound and light art, dance and market to present Oxford's story. Photo source:Oxford's Christmas Light Festival

location Oxford city centre

Cuisines

Market cuisine

The Covered Market in Oxford is delicious, good to eat, and has desserts, pies, and Chinese dishes. Many tourists love to find food here! There are also many cute and chic handicraft shops.

address Market St, Oxford OX1 3DZ
time Monday to Saturday 8:00-17:30|Sunday 10:00-16:00 (some stores are closed on Sundays)

Covered Market

The first coffee shop in England

The first coffee shop in England was in Oxford. According to its official website, a Jewish entrepreneur named Jacob founded the coffee shop in 1650. The shop was named "The Angel" and had changed owners more than 300 years ago The cafe at the same location is now called "The Grand Cafe '", which attracts many tourists to the pilgrimage "the ancestor of the English Cafe". Photo source:The Grand Cafe’ official website

address 84 High St, Oxford OX1 4BG

Transport

train

Go toOxfordTravelling by train is time-saving and convenient. For example, from London, you can take the train from Marylebone Station or Paddington Station, and get off at Oxford Station. The total journey time is about 1 hour.Trains are floating fares, it is recommended to use the train APP (Trainline) to inquire and book tickets.

Trip planning

Deep travel in Oxfordshire

If you depart from London to Oxford, you can arrange a day trip. However, there are many places worth visiting in and around Oxfordshire, such as:Bicester Village and Blenheim Palace (commonly known as Churchill Estate), andBritain's most beautiful countryCotswolds. It is recommended to arrange at least three days for the in-depth tour itinerary.

Bicester Village, Bicester Village

Bicester Village, Bicester Village

By train between Oxford and London, you will pass Bicester Town Station, where the famous Bicester Village is located.

Transport If departing from London, take Marylebone Station to Bicester Station(Bicester Town Station), About 1 hour.

From Oxford, from Oxford Railway Station(Oxford Station)Drive to Bicester Station(Bicester Town Station), About 30 minutes.

 

Next stop recommendation

城市導覽

© 版權所有,所有文字、照片未經授權請勿轉載。
如欲合作,歡迎來信與我們聯繫。

牛津 OXFORD

牛津大學(University of Oxford)為英語系大學中歷史最悠久,它培養出28名英國首相,也被喻為是英國政治家的搖籃,現在它還是許多「哈利波特」迷的朝聖地。

背景
景點
活動
美食
交通
推薦行程

背景

牛津於西元410年至1066年間的盎格魯薩克遜(Anglo-Saxon)時期得名,因為位處當時薩克遜王國的中心地帶,介於Mercia王國與Wessex王國之間,也是泰晤士河(River Thames)與謝韋爾河(River Cherwell)的流經處,關鍵的地理位置,使牛津在當時已是規模不小的城鎮。

西元1167年,牛津大學正式成立,為英語體系中最古老的大學。 那時候,牛津居民主要從事皮革、紡織業;但14世紀後,牛津的皮革、紡織業開始沒落,居民轉而經營民生相關商品,最大的客戶就是牛津大學的學生。

18世紀,牛津是重要的商業城鎮,大部分居民主要仰賴教育、學生相關產業。20世紀後,英國Morris 汽車在此創立,成為當地重要產業之一,目前的牛津汽車工廠(Plant Oxford)主要生產 BMW 旗下的 MINI 車系及其他汽車零件。

景點

牛津Oxford:貝利奧爾學院(Balliol College)

貝利奧爾學院 Balliol College

成立於西元1263年,是牛津大學最古老的學院之一。著名的校友遍及社會各領域,例如:14世紀首位將聖經由拉丁文翻譯成英文的約翰・威克里夫(John Wycliffe)、18世紀發表「國富論」的亞當斯密(Adam Smith),還有現任首相鮑里斯・強森(Boris Johnson)。學院開放參觀,典雅的小教堂與食堂都精彩。

開放時間 10:00-17:00
參考門票票價 成人£3|學生、敬老£1(優惠票須於售票口出示相關證件)
查詢開放時間與票價

拉德克利夫圖書館 Radcliffe Camera

建於1749年,出於知名建築師詹姆斯·傑布斯(James Gibbs)之手,為帕拉第奧式建築(Palladian architecture)的代表之一。這類型的設計當時風靡歐洲,主要參照希臘及羅馬式傳統對稱式建築的概念。

拉德克利夫圖書館是牛津大學博德利圖書館(Bodleian Library)的分部,收藏許多英國文學、歷史及神學書籍,遊客如欲參觀需報名當地圖書館固定導覽行程。(行程詳情請以官網為準

牛津 Oxford:拉德克利夫圖書館(Radcliffe Camera)
牛津 Oxford:博德利圖書館(Bodleian Library)

博德利圖書館 Bodleian Library

英國第二大的圖書館,館藏超過1千3百萬冊書籍,僅次於大英圖書館(Britsh Library)。根據英國書籍出版規定,任何出版商在英國出版書籍都需要法定送存一份複本給指定的圖書館,博德利圖書館就是其中之一。圖書館僅開放幾個時段供遊客參觀,每人限時參觀30分鐘,建議提前至官網訂票,亦可在 Great Gate Ticket Office 現場購票。

門票票價 £6(開放時間與票價請以官網為準

嘆息橋 The Bridge of Sighs

嘆息橋於1914年建成,位於博德利圖書館入口處對面,主要連接牛津大學赫特福德學院(Hertford College)兩側。其正式名稱為赫特福德橋(Hertford Bridge),因設計類似義大利威尼斯的嘆息橋而聞名,嘆息橋為它的俗稱。

牛津 Oxford:嘆息橋(The Bridge of Sighs)
牛津大學基督堂學院(Christ Church College)

牛津大學基督堂學院 Christ Church College

電影「哈利波特」中,霍格華滋學院中的食堂以牛津大學基督堂學院(The Hall of Christ Church College)食堂為靈感來源。劇組在倫敦的片場複製了高相似度的場景,吸引許多哈利波特迷慕名而來。

開放時間 週一至週六 10:00-17:00|週日14:00-17:00(時間可能因私人活動而異動)
票價 成人 £15|兒童、學生、敬老 £14(開放時間與票價請以官網為準

不一樣的郵筒

這個木製郵筒在熱鬧的大街上格外搶眼,郵筒下方有個大洞,過去能直接將郵件分派至地下室,但現在已經不再這麼做。2003年,St Aldate’s Post Office的郵局大樓被默頓學院(Merton College)買下,郵箱未來可能會被遷移位置。

地點 102-104 St Aldate’s, Oxford OX1 1ZZ

牛津 Oxford:牛津郵局 St Aldate's Post Office 外的木製郵筒。
牛津 Oxford:牛津城堡(Oxford Castle)

牛津城堡和監獄 Oxford Castle&Prison

城堡建於1071年,主要是為了給當時國王威廉一世使用。17世紀時的英國內戰,城堡被保皇黨用作監獄。也因為內戰,城堡遭到嚴重損壞,現在看到的城堡是在內戰後維修的。後來城堡一直被作為關押犯人的監獄用途,到1996年監獄關閉並開放給民眾參觀。館內提供導覽,導覽員會穿上當時的服裝,帶您穿越時空,細細品味當時的牛津城堡和監獄。

開放時間 
週ㄧ至週日|10:00-17:30(最後入場時間為16:20)
門票票價 成人£12.5|兒童(5—15歲)£8.75|學生、敬老 £11.95(開放時間與票價請以官網為準

活動

牛津Oxford

牛津文學節 Oxford Literary Festival

牛津文學節每年3、4月份舉行,至今已有23年的歷史。每年的牛津文學節有許多精彩活動,喜愛文學的你不要錯過!(購票資訊請以官網為準

聖誕節活動

每年11月,英國各地會有大小慶典為聖誕節暖身,牛津的活動名為 Oxford’s Christmas Light Festival,結合文化、聲光藝術、舞蹈以及市集等方式,來呈現牛津的故事。照片來源:Oxford’s Christmas Light Festival

地點 Oxford city centre

牛津聖誕節活動(Oxford's Christmas Light Festival)。照片來源:Oxford's Christmas Light Festival官網

美食

市集美食

牛津的市集 Covered Market 好吃、好逛,有甜品、派也有中菜,許多遊客喜愛在這裡覓食!還有很多可愛別緻的手工藝品店。

地址 Market St, Oxford OX1 3DZ
時間 週一至週六 8:00-17:30|週日10:00-16:00(部分店家週日不營業)

牛津市集 Covered Market

英格蘭第一家咖啡廳

英格蘭的第一家咖啡館在牛津。據傳,1650年一位猶太企業家 在此 Jacob 創立了 The Angel 咖啡館,3百多年來多次易主,現在在同樣位址上的咖啡廳是「The Grand Cafe’」,被認為是英格蘭咖啡廳始祖的傳承。照片來源:The Grand Cafe’ 官網

地址 84 High St, Oxford OX1 4BG

交通

火車

自倫敦出發,可以分別自馬里波恩站(Marylebone Station)或帕丁頓車站(Paddington Station)乘車,至牛津站(Oxford Station)下車。總車程約為1小時。火車為浮動票價,推薦使用火車APP(Trainline)查詢、訂票。

從倫敦搭火車到牛津(Oxford)大約1小時。

推薦行程

比斯特購物村 Bicester Village​

比斯特購物村 Bicester Village

比斯特購物村是英國最熱門的精品暢貨中心,有包含BURBERRY、Chloe、Coach、D&G、Molton Brown、TOD’S、TORY BURCH 和 Vivienne Westwood 等上百個品牌。每逢打折季1月份、3月份、夏季、11月份的黑色星期五與聖誕節,總人潮滿滿!

搭乘火車於比斯特車站(Bicester Town Station)下車即抵達購物村。使用接駁巴士,可以省去拿著滿滿戰利品搶座位的煩惱。

牛津、科茲窩1日遊

科茲窩有英國最美鄉村的美稱!蜂蜜色的石頭屋與古色古香的獨立小店鋪,讓人看了很難忘。從牛津的學院風,到科茲窩的鄉村風景,這個行程能讓你體驗兩種截然不同的英式風情。

科茲窩 Cotswolds:拜伯里(Bibury)